We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hometown Inn and Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hometown Inn and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hometown Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 July 2014

There is nothing good to say about this hotel except for the great girls at the front desk. It is run down and obviously has had no maintenance since it was built in the 70's. The room was 125.00 a night and it wasn't worth any more than 39.00 a night. The bed was hard and bottom sheet didn't stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 179Carol
Comfort4404, Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel. Please be aware that the property is under new management as of the first of June and renovations are being scheduled for this fall. We are very sorry that your stay was less than perfect and we welcome the chance to show you the changes we've made.

Orland Park, Illinois
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed here many times in the past and this will be our last visit. Some construction in the hallways gave it an urban warfare look. Elevator out of order, ice machine out of order. Many items out at breakfast and nobody at the front desk at checkout. Discomfort Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamina-hamina75
Comfort4404, General Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding the property. Please be aware that the hotel is under new management and I am working to correct many of the issues that have been neglected. We are scheduled to begin renovations this fall which will address a wide range of concerns. We hope to have our property at or above Choice Standards by...

Neenah, Wisconsin
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As of spring, 2014, this property is no longer part of the Choice Hotel chain. That's why they do not show up on the Choice.com website. They answer the phone "Sault Saint Marie Comfort Inn", as compared to "Comfort Inn" in the past, but are not part of that chain any more. I stay here 10-12 times per year and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
Comfort4404, General Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review

I do apologize for the less than perfect representation of our property. I would like to verify that, due to a clerical error, our property was not listed through Choice Hotels for a short period of time. Please feel free to verify that this situation has been rectified. The hotel will also be undergoing renovations this fall to improve the...

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stated at this hotel several times on business over the last year I have noticed ever increase decline in service including the front desk. Staff and poor breakfast . They are no longer part of the choice program so I can book on line nor do I receive any reward points. I could not cancel my current reservation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel B
Comfort4404, General Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review

I would like to verify that, for a brief time, we were not on the Choice Hotels website for online bookings. Due to a clerical error which has been rectified we slipped from the Choice line. All reservations in our system were still honored and all points were still given for the stay during this brief interruption. As for the...

Orlando
Reviewed 29 May 2014

the hotel is next a shopping plaza and food courts. Good for short stay. Heater works fine and its quiet inside. The staff are friendly. The breakfast is fine and coffee always available. and of course there us an indoor clean swimming pool

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Navid K
Zeeland, Michigan
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Not a good experiance at all! Room was decent and clean but the front staff, other than when I checked in, were not very helpful. I booked a room for 2 nights while attending my Aunt's funeral. While at the funeral there were 6 differant charges for a total of $710 on my debit card. Ryan the manager never returned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John D
Comfort4404, General Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review

I would like to first of all apologize for your previous stay. The individual mentioned in your review is no longer the General Manager of this property. In order to make some much needed changes to the service and quality of stay for our guests, the owner has opted to bring in new management. Our staff is currently undergoing a...

Mesick, Michigan
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights 3/21 and 3/22/2014. My debit card was charged 3 times for an amount that wasnt even reflected on my receipt. When asking the front desk about this issue they had NO answers. I called 3 times to speak to the manager "Ryan" who NEVER once called me back. I had to dispute these charges with my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cari K
Comfort4404, General Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review

First of all I would like to apologize for the nature of your stay with us back in March. In order to facilitate some much needed changes, the owner has opted to bring in new management. Problems such as what you encountered are being addressed and the individuals responsible for such mistakes are being re-trained or replaced. Also we are...

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel itself is fine, they are currently doing upgrades so some hallways are construction zones (which is not a problem). Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, especially Melissa! Will definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristen E
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 16 March 2014

There was nobody at the front desk when we were checking in - had to wait 10 minutes. Elevator/Ice machine were broken. Our non-smoking room reeked of smoke. TV had 1 channel. Hallways were freezing and had exposed wires hanging from the ceiling. The set up is a giant maze. Ran out of milk at breakfast. Water pressure in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kyle G
Comfort4404, General Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the less than perfect nature of your previous stay with us. In order to avoid further issues such as the ones you encountered, the owner has opted to bring in new management to correct these and other issues. To address some of your concerns, the missing celling tiles were removed to facilitate the installation...

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The outside of the building looked very nice and well kept and then everything went downhill from there. Front desk staff was rude,very short, and seemed uninterested in the guests. I was travelling with friends and we had to wait over 20 minutes for everyone to check in and there was nobody in the lobby ? Front desk forgot to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenner K
Comfort4404, General Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review

I would like to first humbly apologize for the nature of your previous stay. In order to correct the issues you noted and others as well, the owner has opted to bring in new management. The staff is being re-trained or replaced, the "renovations" that were begun some time back have been stopped due to inactivity on the part of...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#12 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
96 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
658 reviews
3.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hometown Inn and Suites

Address: 4404 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3600
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £62 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hometown Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hometown Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Comfort Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hometown Inn and Suites staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hometown Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not the first floor if you want quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Tansy2015, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor was fine”
 of 5 bubbles orrs1999, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Find a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles larryd475, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do NOt stay at this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles nikkisuds, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask regarding construction if you require a quieter room.”
 of 5 bubbles rn526, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5