We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coleman's Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tawas City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Coleman\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Coleman's Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 26: English reviews
Cass City, Michigan
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Well where to begin. We booked cabin #10 back in May. My family had went to Coleman's every summer for about 8-9 years back when I was a boy and I thought it would be great to start off my honeymoon by renting out the old cabin that held such cherished memories of my childhood. Dale assured me that cabin...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Matthew G
Dennis T, Manager at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

This is very unfair. First, we were booked solid every week from the last week of June to the end of August and the NO VACANCY sign has been up all summer due to the fact that we have about an 80% customer return due to our fine upkeep and maintenance. We have NO BROKEN furniture. If, in fact this...

Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewed 6 August 2014

So many things wrong with this place. -Light was broke in living room (Dark all night) -Managers said they would come back to fix and never showed -Pillows had no plastic cover and were filthy -No mattress cover -Sheets were filthy -Main bedroom door was falling off and could not shut it -Found a razor blade in the wall over...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Alicia S
Dennis T, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

Sadly there are some people you can never make happy. We went out of our way to try to solve the problems that this guest posed but nothing we did would make them happy. Al our beds have bed covers and the sheets are cleaned each week. We have no broken furniture in any cabin and everything we cleaned to...

Brighton, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We planned a last minute trip up to Tawas for the 4th and Coleman's had 2 nights available for Thursday and Friday night. We were so impressed with how accomidating the managers were. The cabin did not have AC but he was accomidating to all the guests with fans and stand alone AC units when asked. There was live music...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine L
Elaine M, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

As New Owners in April 2015 we're working hard to Improve the Overall Experience of all of our Guests. We believe you will enjoy the Cleanliness of the Units, the various upgrades we're making and our Focus on Customer Service. We Guarantee you'll enjoy your next Experience at Coleman's Beach Resort on the Shore of Tawas Bay.. Elaine & Brian...

Grand Blanc, Michigan
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My parents took me here one week every summer for most of my childhood. I decided to take my husband away for the weekend. You can't beat the location. Its beautiful! That said, I found housekeeping to be at best subpar. The bathroom especially, there was "grime" on the shower and it didn't smell great. The manager made a comment...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Austen W
Elaine M, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

As New Owners in April 2015 we're working hard to Improve the Overall Experience of all of our Guests. We believe you will enjoy the Cleanliness of the Units, the various upgrades we're making and our Focus on Customer Service. We Guarantee you'll enjoy your next Experience at Coleman's Beach Resort on the Shore of Tawas Bay.. Elaine & Brian...

South Lyon, Michigan
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Went up on saturday morning to stay the weekend and kayak the Ausable river and sight see the area. We had a hotel for sat night but nothing sunday, after sight seeing till around 4 oclock we decided to drive the area of tawas and try and find a cabin on the water to rent. We found colman's had a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dyoun
Elaine M, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

As New Owners in April 2015 we're working hard to Improve the Overall Experience of all of our Guests. We believe you will enjoy the Cleanliness of the Units, the various upgrades we're making and our Focus on Customer Service. We Guarantee you'll enjoy your next Experience at Coleman's Beach Resort on the Shore of Tawas Bay.. Elaine & Brian...

Fenton, Michigan
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The owner defends the terrible mangers. Don't let the flowers fool you. The place stinks! The cabins were very dirty, smelly and in poor repair. The managers were rude, uncooperative, and confrontational with paying guests. The managers, Dale and Lori had so many family and friends hanging out that there was little room for paying guests to park, place there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ProfJ_1298
Dennis T, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

No one wants negative reviews, they hurt and often are not fair. It is a shame that most people who are happy and satisfied just don’t feel the need to leave comments. Because of our concern over the negative feedback we recently received from a small group of guests over the 4th of July we took time to call, at...

Lansing, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My Mother and I decided to take a vacation and went all throughout the UP and on our way back down to Lansing we decided to stop and stay one more night. After a terrible incident at a hotel in Mackinac we were very skeptical. We pulled in and were greeted immediately by the hotel manager welcoming us in, she...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt W
Elaine M, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

As New Owners in April 2015 we're working hard to Improve the Overall Experience of all of our Guests. We believe you will enjoy the Cleanliness of the Units, the various upgrades we're making and our Focus on Customer Service. We Guarantee you'll enjoy your next Experience at Coleman's Beach Resort on the Shore of Tawas Bay.. Elaine & Brian...

Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed a Coleman's for about ten years. I am well aware the cottages are old, doesn't bother me. They need repair and updating, because of the cost mildly bothers me. I have stayed in every cottage throughout the years but but 4 and 5. Cottages 2 and 3 have always had a mildew smell. Last year when I first meet...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Susan J
Dennis T, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

No one wants negative reviews, they hurt and often are not fair. It is a shame that most people who are happy and satisfied just don’t feel the need to leave comments. Because of our concern over the negative feedback we recently received from a small group of guests over the 4th of July we took time to call, at...

Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This was my 40th year (12th yr renting my own cabin) at the resort. We've always had highs and lows with different managers, so this year was no different. The resort itself is beautiful and mostly well kept. The cabins unfortunately are not. While they are very old and rustic it's no reason to be filthy. Pictures below show how...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank SuzannePoe
Dennis T, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

No one wants negative reviews, they hurt and often are not fair. It is a shame that most people who are happy and satisfied just don’t feel the need to leave comments. Because of our concern over the negative feedback we recently received from a small group of guests over the 4th of July we took time to call, at...

Newark, New York
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My family and I have stayed at Coleman's a few times because it has been a vacation destination of my spouses family for many years. The cabins were nice, they could use some work but overall I was satisfied. Dale (manager) seemed busy taking care of the guests needs when he was there. My two disappointments were (a) there seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank winnie1234-4321
Dennis T, Owner at Coleman's Resort, responded to this review

No one wants negative reviews, they hurt and often are not fair. It is a shame that most people who are happy and satisfied just don’t feel the need to leave comments. Because of our concern over the negative feedback we recently received from a small group of guests over the 4th of July we took time to call, at...

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tawas City
0.1 mi away
Bay Inn Tawas
Bay Inn Tawas
#3 of 5 in Tawas City
75 reviews
14.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River
2.7 mi away
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in East Tawas
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As NEW OWNER/Operators in 2015 our goal is to provide Clean & Comfortable accommodations. Our Resort provides Sandy Beach and a recreational area overlooking Lake Huron. Returning Guests in 2015 have been very pleased by the cleanliness and upgrades. New Guests will be equally pleased with the Choice they've made to book a Cottage at this resort. We look forward to meeting our exceeding your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coleman's Resort

Address: 1045 S Bay Dr, Tawas City, MI 48763-9258
Region: United States > Michigan > Tawas City
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coleman's Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Coleman's Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book early to catch the cabins at the end( closer to the beach)”
mohmdl, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“Never stay in rooms 2 and 3 they smell of mildew.”
SusanJ696, 14 Jul 2012 | Read review
“All the cabins are close to the beach and water.”
  • This is my shower...the wet paper towel shows one swipe from inside the shower (check in day).
SuzannePoe, 12 Jul 2012 | Read review
“pick out your cottage and get your deposit in.”
delburtl, 13 Jul 2011 | Read review
“bring net and bug enough bug spray.”
ammary62, 30 Jun 2011 | Read review
5 of 5