We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 51: English reviews
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Oviatt House was the perfect bed and breakfast experience for first-timers. The host Franny is AMAZING, so friendly and makes you feel so comfortable. The breakfast is amazing and big, with many options. Be sure to tell any food preferences/avoidances on your check-in. The house is located in perfect walking distance to downtown TC, and was the best possible homebase...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephmk777
FrannyBluhm, Manager at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Oviatt House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have central air, and you are right, the Lewis Room is poorly ventilated. To fix that problem, we have a stand alone air conditioning unit in the closet of the Lewis Room. Due to cool...

Reviewed 29 May 2015

From reading the other reviews, we were a bit unsure how this was going to turn out. In the end it was much better than expected! Franny was so awesome, that by the end of the stay we considered her our, "vacation Mom"! She was warm, friendly and super informative about places to eat and things to see. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael G K
TheGardener44, Manager at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review! You were a fun couple to get to know. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 4 September 2014

Franny O that runs/owns the place is a gem. She is as nice as it gets. Just wonderful. But the place itself is really pretty bad. Like no A/C. Which meant open windows or suffocate. Busy street with lots of car/motorcycle noise. And every room, including our room that had its own bath and entrance, had WAY too much furniture,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Eugene L
TheGardener44, Guest Relations Manager at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our home. We always appreciate guest input to help improve our business. To address your concerns, we do have central air conditioning, however, at this time of year we often turn the AC on and off based on weather. You may have arrived during an off period, and the...

Amherstburg, Ontario
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We were warmly greeted by Fran and she gave us a lot of handy information about the area. There is always coffee available and wine in the fridge. Fran warned me that the Hammond Room on the main floor was small but I was still surprised at how small it was. I wanted a room with a private bath so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nanbik
TheGardener44, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so make for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have remedied the overhead light and placed out wrapped soap for our next guest. Although unused, I can completely understand your trepidation. We look forward to seeing you again!

Effingham, New Hampshire
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have B&B'd before, but have rarely had such a gracious stay. Every detail of our preferences and comforts was accounted for. We stayed the weekend of Cherry Festival (unbeknownst to us)--but were really there to pick our daughter up from Interlochen Summer Camp. We enjoyed the Langley Room, a second story room with a shared bath, which worked out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Altamom2014
TheGardener44, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to another visit from you next summer!

Monroe, Michigan
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience and it was awesome! We stayed in the Hammond Room which is on the first floor, has its own bathroom, and a very comfortable queen sized bed. The first morning we accidentally slept thru breakfast, but the Oviatt staff so kindly left us omelets and fresh fruit for when we woke up!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annie L
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Hammond Room. We love to cook here at the Oviatt House, so it is nice to hear sincere compliments about the quality of our breakfasts. We look forward to another visit from you soon.

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the last night of our honeymoon and had a wonderful time! This was our second bed and breakfast experience and we enjoyed the hospitality. It really did feel like she opened her home to us. We stayed in the grose room that had it's own bath and entrance. The room was very clean and we enjoyed all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greeneyedjeanne
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us. We appreciate when guests notice the small details and know the value in word of mouth advertising. We hope you will come back to visit us again!

Whitehall, Michigan
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Oviatt House. Franny and her staff are awesome hosts. Our rooms (3) were pleasant and comfortable. We had the perks of our own bathroom, and 2 others had a shared bath. The location was perfect for driving, biking or walking around TC. Breakfast was excellent. Overall just a great place to stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spence40
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to send in a review. Traverse is really a fun city and I am glad you had the time to enjoy it.

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a great time at the Oviatt House! Unfortunately, we had to cut our stay short, but we really enjoyed it while we were there. Franny, her husband and the other staff were so welcoming, friendly and accommodating that they really made us feel at home. We stayed in the Grose Room, which is very nicely decorated, has its...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hsullivan22
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great little urban B&B. Franny exceptionally friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed a glass (or two!) of wine with her and shared stories and life experiences finding we had many things in common. I enjoyed my private room with en suite bath and private entrance. The house is old and creaky and you can hear your neighbors but that's ok because...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susieforthebecki

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#32 of 40 in Traverse City
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are small but comfortable. We reserved the Grose room because it had a private bath and entry.”
 of 5 bubbles lanthonyn, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Some have their own bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles traceymF3458PX, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Private bathroom, room with good ventilation (Lewis room was bit too warm at night)”
 of 5 bubbles Stephmk777, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Get a room on the upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles nanbik, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
“The Hammond Room is on the first floor, so you don't have to carry your luggage upstairs :)”
  • Hammond Room bed
 of 5 bubbles 950anniel, 18 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5