We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Inn at Union Pier

Booking.comUS$228*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Inn at Union Pier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Inn at Union Pier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 225: English reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited this lovely B&B and had a great experience. We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before, but found that we very much enjoyed it. The staff was so warm and welcoming. Our room was beautiful and very clean, and the breakfasts were to die for. We sipped coffee while walking along the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifer r
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, It was so nice talking to you last weekend and glad you were able to enjoy yourself without the little ones. You should definitely try to get away once or twice a year to have time to reconnect with each other. It won't be as easy when the children get older and are in extra activities like sports....

Chicago
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Bill was awesome!!!! Stay was wonderful,; loved the wine and popcorn!! So amazing with making reservations, suggestions and our room was beautiful and very comfortable! All of staff was so very nice, would definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Kelly, Thank you so much for the awesome review!!!! So glad your stay was wonderful and that you loved the wine and popcorn. We're starting to book up for the summer so don't wait too long if you plan on coming back this summer. The fall is wide open and of course the winter when the fireplaces are up...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 14 April 2016

We had a mini honeymoon at the Inn at Union Pier. From the time we arrived and were greeted by Bill and Kim, we felt at home. We stayed at the Captain Quarters and it was a dream come true. They had sparkling wine and flute glasses awaiting us in our room . It also included everything you need, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19christina2016
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Christina & Melvin, We're so glad you enjoyed your mini honeymoon and were able to stay in the Captain's Quarters. Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay and I know we will be seeing you again. Now you have a place to go for your anniversaries of years to come. Make sure you book early if you...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

The weather was chilly but the atmosphere at the Inn was warm, friendly and inviting. Pretty grounds close to the beach. Great staff, very nice room and common area for meeting new friends. This won't be the last time we stay here. Make sure you're there for the wine hour and stay for the homemade cookies and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teri T
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Teri and Tom, So glad you were able to stay in my favorite room, the Dandelion. I love to listen to the guests at the wine and popcorn hour talk to each other and they aren't talking on their cell phones. Many people just totally turn them off which everyone should do once in awhile. There's so much to...

Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the captains quarters and the smell of breakfast in the morning was the perfect way to wakeup. The king bed was one of the most comfortable mattresses I have ever slept on. The food was just as delicious as it smelled. Be prepared to eat because the breakfast is practically a 3 course meal and there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alpaga328
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi A & J, It was wonderful having you stay with us and was happy you were able to stay in the Captain's Quarters even though all our rooms are beautiful and cozy with a fireplace. All of our beds have new mattresses except two and we are going to replace them soon. So many people have called us asking...

Southfield, Michigan
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Very nice room, loved the ceramic wood burning fireplace, the breakfasts were excellent. We were able to visit a casino nearby. Many excellent restaurants close by. We are looking to go again in the summertime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Larry D., Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I hope you won some money at the casino. If you would like to come on a weekend don't wait too long because we have several weekends full or almost full. During the week Sunday through Thursday it is pretty wide open. We do have...

Reviewed 9 March 2016

My husband and i were there this past weekend. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters room. It was large and super comfortable. We did not use the Jacuzzi tub in our room but it was very large - see picture. We did, however brave the cold and use the Hot tub outside before a couples massage in our room by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krash9973
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Kristen, WOW! It sounds like you really had a wonderful stay with us. I'm surprised the phone isn't ringing off the hook with your fabulous review about the Captain's Quarters and Harbor Country wineries, breweries, distilleries, and restaurants. St. Julian wines are the best in the area especially the Sweet Nancie and Sweet Sparkling Peach. The actual winery is...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 March 2016

This was our second time here and we were not disappointed. Comfortable and romantic rooms, with working fireplaces. Wonderful breakfasts and close to so many attractions - hiking, beaches, restaurants, a great distillery tour, music. Or you can just never leave your room and be happy, too! Thanks for the get-away. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank conbauer
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi ConBauer, It was great seeing you again at the Inn. Sometimes we never see our guests except at breakfast or wine and popcorn hour. Hopefully you can come stay with us during the summer. There are still some openings on weekends and the Ship and Shore Festival is back this year in New Buffalo and we have open rooms...

Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

We have never been to a B&B so this was our first time! This place is such a treasure! My husband and I spent the weekend there with 2 other couples and we had the most wonderful experience and time! The themed rooms were very clean and cozy! Loved the wood burning fire place. And loved the fact that there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, We miss you all too. You were such a great bunch of people and fun to serve at breakfast and at the wine and popcorn. I wish more people like you didn't want a TV in the room. We do have one in the Dining room and we have free wifi. Most people are so exhausted after visiting...

Urbana, Illinois
Reviewed 23 February 2016

My husband and I just spent a weekend there and it was absolutely everything I hoped for. The breakfasts were excellent, the rooms were perfect (amazing bed + adorable fireplace), the staff was incredible, the always-available cookies were delightful, the hot tub, I could go on for quite a while and we were only there 48 hours! It was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betsy1703
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Betsy, Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay and will be back. I'm so glad that you were able to relax and enjoy everything Harbor Country has to offer even in the off season. More and more people are finding out that they don't have to go north to Wisconsin for 3 hour trip or spend a lot of...

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Pier
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
22.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
183 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
246 reviews
19.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
1.1 mi away
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
1920's era Bed and Breakfast Inn with 16 guest rooms, private baths, real wood burning fireplaces and 250 foot steps to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. Stay includes full breakfast, snacks & beverages during the day and wine & popcorn in the evening. Located in a quite residential setting within minutes of restaurants, shopping, antique shops, art galleries and wine tasting. Enjoy our hospitality in the casually elegant surroundings of a true country Inn. Open year round. Also available for family gatherings or corporate retreats. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn at Union Pier

Address: 9708 Berrien St, Union Pier, MI 49129-9458
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Price Range: £137 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Union Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Union Pier Hotel Union Pier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn at Union Pier staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Inn at Union Pier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Larkspur Room (in the Great House) to avoid walking outside to get to breakfast and wine tastings.”
ellemariegee, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms do not have televisions, just the main eating area.”
johnsJ8336RF, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We liked our room, the Sandpiper. NIce garden view.”
deefree49, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I am unable to. We had so looked forward to our choice room, but did not get to stay in it.”
96jackr, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose first floor room in building adjacent to main to avoid stairs, if that is a concern.”
ga2rguy, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$228* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$228
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates