We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Dog & Badger

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (67)
Dining (33)
Room & Suite (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 guest house in Medmenham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We have 6 beautiful rooms with lots of original character in Grade II listed Gillman's Cottage adjacent to The Dog and Badger. Our pub restaurant kitchen offers classic pub fare with our hand-made pies, local sausages & fresh fish along with some international alternatives, sharing plates and light bites. All of the rooms have luxurious super king size beds and a mini 'Riva Bar', a miniature of the actual Riva bar in the pub. The rooms offer modern amenities with irons and boards, hairdryers, air conditioning, smart TVs and broadband wifi. Some of the rooms are interconnecting making them ideal for families and 2 of the rooms are dog friendly. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, we will make your stay with us as comfortable as we possibly can!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Concierge
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
86Reviews1Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 13
  • 8
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Hayley M wrote a review Jan 2024
51 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Our second visit to the same room to celebrate my 40th birthday! We haven't been for 5 years and decided to visit again as we loved it last time! The room we had is lovely, particularly the bathroom which is very relaxing with the coloured lighting. We couldn't get the towel rail to work which was slightly annoying as wanted to dry some jeans! We did have dinner on the evening we stayed which was OK.. long wait even though not massively busy. My meal was delicious... partner was disappointed with steak as it wasn't cooked how he asked.. possoble communication when taking the order to kitchen...however it was replaced but was a bit inconvenient when one person has to wait while the other is eating! Paid the bill and the change was wrong -not by a lot but still these little details could be brushed up on!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Karen S wrote a review Nov 2023
Jersey, United Kingdom34 contributions49 helpful votes
From the history we learnt on arrival until we left it was first class. The food is worthy of a Michelin Star rating.I had a cocktail made especially for me called "Jersey". It was certainly value for money. The rooms were excellent very high tech with mood lighting an amazing bath. Very clean, lots of heating. Very high linen count bed clothes. The assistant manager was amazing so kind, helpful, knowledgable and a great asset. The whole building was stunning. It was finished to a high standard. Dogs being allowed is a real help when I return. Safe car park. It was 200% perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tracie B wrote a review Jun 2023
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom3 contributions
We arrived and was net by a very nice young man who showed us to our very unique room, his knowledge of the properties was extensive and interesting, he found me a mirror very quickly so I could do my hair sitting down which was amazing The breakfast was an experience, it was only the second day of doing this service and to be very honest the food was exceptional but the service was awful We waiting ages and had to get a young ladies attention to order coffee and told her there was only 1 croissant on the buffet part and it stated that way U fortunately she did not speak English very well and it all went a bit wry Great place to stay but improvements needed for breakfast service as not a cheap extra
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ron W wrote a review Nov 2022
Pattaya, Thailand2 contributions
Great find and highly recommended. The staff were all exceptionaly pleasant and helpful. Rooms are beautifully appointed, the design of the bar very unusual but works very well. Although they don't offer a full English breakfast, the continental is substantial with hot fresh croissants every day. The dining room is both cozy and effective with a good choice.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid relying on Uber because they don't seem to want to come out to this locality but instead...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Wise, General Manager at The Dog & Badger
Responded 13 Dec 2022
Ron, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful and fair review. We look forward to your return. Gary & The Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephbarb wrote a review Oct 2022
46 contributions21 helpful votes
OMG what a gorgeous place with the loveliest staff and amazing food. My husband and I booked here as we were going to the chiltern valley brewery tour which is a 10 minute drive away (if this is your plan book taxis in advance) the rooms are gorgeously decorated and so comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and the food did not disappoint. The drinks menu is vast and not overly priced and the staff are just the friendliest
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't rely in Ubers
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Wise, General Manager at The Dog & Badger
Responded 31 Oct 2022
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We're proud of our beautiful property and all the staff say hi! They're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Gary & The Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ElsieLondon wrote a review Oct 2022
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom171 contributions150 helpful votes
We’ve been wanting to come here for years. The pubs interior and exterior are beautiful and very well presented. Cosy in the winter and beautiful outside dining/drinking area in the warmer months. However…..service on arrival was a little ‘ignorant’ and we were sat right at the end of the empty restaurant opposite the toilets. This meant the atmosphere was non-existent with no background music, or chatter. The roasts were average, roast beef the best part but had to ask for extra gravy for all and the cauliflower cheese was dried out and lacked flavour. The plates were overloaded with boiled potatoes almost to bulk the meal out. Chunky’ chips were just average chips. Desserts and coffee were good. Service was all just a bit odd. One minute nobody about the next we had 4 different servers! Constantly asking us if the meal was ok as soon as we had the first mouthful! Too much! So much potential this place just need to get some basics right.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Wise, General Manager at The Dog & Badger
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Hi Elsie, thank you for your constructive review of the Dog & Badger Sunday Roast. I have passed your critique on to the service Team as obviously we got things wrong but for all the right reasons. Sometimes it's difficult to tell if guests want to be alone or in the middle of things and although the music was on, sometimes some guests want differing levels although I agree there is no atmosphere when too quiet. We got yours completely wrong and we're sorry. As for your food, I have asked Chef to investigate as that doesn't sound right at all! Please give me a call and let's see if we can't make it up to you some way. Gary & the Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kud wrote a review Sept 2022
10 contributions12 helpful votes
Came to the D&B for lunch on a spur of the moment visit, as my partner I were in the area visiting my family. Was greeted by Ryan like a long lost friend, warm and polite as always. It's been a few months since our last visit, so we were very pleased and surprised he remembered us. We had the D&B classic burger and the cajun chicken burger, both burgers and chips cooked to perfect the chef on duty Andrè. This lad hasn't cooked a meal that we haven't liked yet, truly a credit to his profession and the D&B. The only gripe I had with the visit was that on this occasion since our last visit, is that they had removed the onion rings that came with the meals. A small little thing but not a big issue. Good food, great treatment by the very polite and knowledgeable Ryan. Look forward to our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Wise, General Manager at The Dog & Badger
Responded 19 Sept 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Ryan and the team were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your repeat visit! We rely on regulars to give constructive feedback and are so sorry to hear that you miss the couple of onion rings on the burger from a previous menu. The good news is they're still available but as a side. This was because so many were left on the plate and it seemed such a waste. Next time let us know you're in the house and we'd be pleased to make some specially for you FOC. We look forward to welcoming you back - Gary & the Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MrLear wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom75 contributions35 helpful votes
We stayed in the cottage annex, where the rooms have been beautifully refurbished to a high standard, though squeezing them into the ancient timbered frame has meant several low beams, and the door into one of the bathrooms was positively hobbit-sized. But alas, no cooked breakfast. We assumed this was a result of the staff shortages bedevilling the industry, but it meant we had to make do with a continental breakfast (croissant, plastic cheese and ham, juice from a carton) in our room. Since we were travelling with a party and hotel breakfast can be a convivial occasion this was a disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Wise, General Manager at The Dog & Badger
Responded 23 Sept 2022
Dear Nick, thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. If you check our listings, website and the emails we sent on booking it does clearly state that we do not offer a cooked breakfast at the moment. We have already added some more copy to make this even clearer, so thank you. However, we have to beg to differ on the quality and quantity of items included in the complimentary breakfast brought to your room, but we understand what you're trying to say and are taking it into consideration.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RenCardoshian wrote a review Aug 2022
Cape Town, South Africa77 contributions40 helpful votes
The team seemed short staffed. Check in felt like a scene from Faulty Towers and not friendly. Our room was not clean. We raised this with the manager and a cleaner returned with a damp cloth to wipe away spiders. Room smelled of damp and had definitely not been vacuumed. Glancing between the bedside tables was terrifying. Spiders, spider webs and tons of dust. Bathroom was clean although there was a powdery substance underneath bathroom sink.. not sure what that was but could be related to damp. We didn’t sleep a wink.. and couldn’t wait to head home next morning at first light. Disappointing as the location is charming.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Wise, General Manager at The Dog & Badger
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to write this candid review which, on the surface, we rightly deserve. I use Basil Fawlty as an example of how not to treat guests so you got my attention! Honestly I'm not surprised because that Saturday all 12 guests arrived within a half hour and yes, we were short-staffed. But I explained that at the time along with the fact that all six rooms of a wedding party had been vacated almost two hours late and we had been scrambling to get the rooms ready in time. Our industry still suffers from chronic under-staffing (particularly during holiday season) and while it is improving, we're sorry this affected your stay so much. Our poor housekeeper was mortified to hear about the spiders she had missed on the ceiling corner and we have taken on board your comments. Next time we will not skimp on the room checks now we realise quite rightly that a spotless room is more important than the inconvenience of rooms being available two hours late. We are in deepest countryside here and spiders are our main adversary as they can weave a dense web within hours and undo all our work. As you didn't dine with us I did not get a chance to attempt to make it up to you but please call and let's work something out. FWIW, the powdery substance was harmless powder to prevent ant infestations - another country living issue. However it should not have been left out n haste to get you installed. Regards, Gary Wise
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GoldJack wrote a review Jul 2022
High Wycombe, United Kingdom199 contributions59 helpful votes
I haven't been to the Dog & Badger for a few years, but with my son & his wife out for the weekend, suggested a walk and a pub lunch. Booked online, but got there an hour early to do a walk by the Thames. Out of courtesy told the staff that I had paked in their car park and was going to do a walk,a nd we may be a bit late for lunch. Excelent food, and service, with Rebellion and Sambrook beer + a selecion of lagers and cider. Very friendly staff. If in the area definately worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Room Tip: I did not stay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Wise, General Manager at The Dog & Badger
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Jeremy, thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone know how our team strives to make everyone welcome and how much you enjoyed the benefits of a Free House! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Gary & the Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Medmenham area.
PRICE RANGE
£96 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBuckinghamshireMarlowMedmenham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DOG & BADGER - Updated 2024 Reviews (Medmenham)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Dog & Badger
Which popular attractions are close to The Dog & Badger?
Nearby attractions include BCA Zoo (2.9 miles), Feathers and Fur Falconry Centre (4.1 miles), and Keeeps Pottery Marlow (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dog & Badger?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Dog & Badger?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at The Dog & Badger?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dog & Badger?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dog & Badger?
Conveniently located restaurants include TGI Fridays - High Wycombe, Lavvin, and Palmieri's.
Is The Dog & Badger located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Medmenham.
Are pets allowed at The Dog & Badger?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Dog & Badger offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Dog & Badger?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dog & Badger?
Many travellers enjoy visiting All Saints Church (3.0 miles), Statue in Memory of Charles Frohman (3.0 miles), and Marlow War Memorial (3.1 miles).