We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Downtown Duluth Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Downtown Duluth Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Downtown Duluth Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 333: English reviews
Bemidji, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 June 2015

parking was a little tricky and we didn't know there was a parking lot in the back until we asked. location was convienent to what we were doing. ran out of spoons for breakfast on the second morning so were quite limitted to what we could eat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 299bethr
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Dear 299bethr, Thank you for staying with us and posting your review. I am truly sorry to learn of your disappointment with us during your recent stay and apologize for any discomfort you experienced here. Our goal is to provide all guests with excellent service and accommodations and we take it very seriously when find that we have fallen short....

Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Best part of the stay-checking out...super nice gentleman helped us. The room was clean but when we checked in the there were shady people hanging out in the parking lot & the front desk clerk acted annoyed at us and her appearance was not pleasant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paula J, Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. We want all our guests to receive the best in service from well trained professionals with great attitudes, and I'm disappointed to learn this was not the case with you. I assure you that I will use your review in discussions and training so no one...

Coquille, Oregon
Reviewed 18 June 2015

This downtown motel offers free parking, WiFi and the continental breakfast includes yogurt, boiled eggs, etc. The coin laundry consists of one washing machine and dryer, but at $1.00 each a bargain. You can walk to restaurants and bars. I would stay here again. The beautiful flower baskets around the property are a plus.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Genelle H
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Dear Genelle H, Thank you for taking the time to write and submit your nice comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business and positive remarks. I hope we can welcome you back and thank you in person soon. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations

St. Paul
Reviewed 18 June 2015

We needed a place to stay during a busy weekend, and most other places were either exorbitantly expensive or not available. This motel was available for a moderate price. Nothing special, but did have clean rooms, updated furniture and fixtures, and we didn't experience any problems.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancyhW2762NQ
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Dear nancyhW2762NQ, Thanks for posting comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad we met your lodging needs and expectations and that you found us to be a good value. I hope you will be our guest again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations

Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I stayed here the night before a Lake Superior fishing charter. The room was clean and comfortable except for the stale cigarette smell in my non-smoking room. Obviously the price was much better than staying directly at Canal Park which is just 3 or 4 blocks away. If the management could simply keep the non-smoking rooms smelling fresh then this...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeckoTracks
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Dear kevinkW1468SN, I am truly sorry for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced here and offer my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of demonstrating our commitment to guest satisfaction. Timely feedback from you and other valued guests is very important to us, and it is used in discussions and training to improve our operation. We do...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I don't have a strong opinion about this motel. It was fine. It was the type of place you pick when you aren't going to be spending a lot of time in the room, but don't want to be next door to a drug bust either. There were some dirty tissues between the bed and the nightstand, but no hooker...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K554WWjessicar
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Dear K554WWjessicar, It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and apologize that this was not the case with you. I will use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation. I hope you will give us another chance to regain your trust the next time you are...

Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

First let me say that I am an optimistic person and I have never taken the time to write a review. The location was great though I wouldn't feel safe walking to it at night. We were really disappointed at the cleanliness of our room. Crumbs on the nightstand, table and dresser (obviously weren't wiped down at all) crumbs and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marie2020
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marie2020, Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm sorry you were unhappy with our property and the poor job our housekeeping team did in your room and hope you will accept my sincere apologies for any discomfort or inconvenience you experienced. We value your feedback and take it very seriously when we fail to deliver...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Zero complaints. Great hotel for the price. There wasn't much special about it by you really can't beat a room in this location for the price. Staff was very friendly and helpful, gave great suggestions of where to go and sights to see.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashleywR7247EU
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Dear ashleywR7247EU, Thanks for posting comments about your recent stay with us. Everyone here enjoys delivering a higher quality guest experience than our competitors and we're glad you were able to relax and enjoy your time here. I hope you will be our guest again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations

Osseo, Wisconsin
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We were coming back from the North Shore. And wanted to spend a night in Duluth. We jumped on-line to find an affordable room. We were very impressed with this little motel. It was inexpensive, clean and comfortable. We know where to stay the next time we're in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 569jillh
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Dear 569jillh, Thanks so much for sharing your nice comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and that you found us to be a good value. I hope you will be our guest again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations

Bedford, New Hampshire
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Better than the price for the quality and location within walkling distance to the waterfront atttractions. Staff friendly and room clean and updated. Would stay again without hesitation. Recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 751henryv
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review

Dear 751henry, Thanks for staying with us and posting your great review. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and appreciate your recommendation. I hope you will be our guest again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#20 of 33 in Duluth
338 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Inn

Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range: £55 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Downtown Duluth Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the laundry and see if their wireless internet is working.”
 of 5 bubbles Teejaaa, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“IF you must stay here, ask for a room that doesn't smell!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 466kathryng, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Loved being able to park right outside the room. Very convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles anitalubrock4556, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Preferred the rooms on ground level”
 of 5 bubbles CarverDude, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a room away from the front door.”
 of 5 bubbles Karr, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5