We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Quarry Walk Park

Coppice Lane, Freehay, Cheadle ST10 1RQ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1198)
Room & Suite (321)
Dining (50)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 lodge in Freehay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
For self-catering accommodation near Alton Towers, the Peak District, our lodges, log cabins and glamping pods are set in an area of outstanding natural beauty in the Staffordshire Moorlands. Quarry Walk Park is the ideal base to take a break with the family or for a romantic getaway. This quiet, secluded area of woodland, grass and heather has a variety of woodland trails within its 46-acre boundary allowing you to fully appreciate the surrounding scenery and is home to an abundance of wildlife including rabbits, squirrels, woodpeckers, badgers and many more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Hot bath
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
824Reviews66Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 426
  • 201
  • 91
  • 47
  • 59
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Cally wrote a review 15 Feb
15 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Beautiful very remote no signal was like being in heaven , kids explored everyday some fabulous walks around the area .. even a local asda in Cheadle . Sleep was bliss not a single sound anywhere was super quiet. I have a son with autism and he loves how quite and nice everyone was no one bothered us , we checked in with little effort keys are in a box and checked out with no human contact it was lovely. Our dog also came along and loved every minute. For family’s looking for adventure and peace this is ur place . Please explore dimmingsdale! It wonderful
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jodiemccormick wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Our 4th stay at Quarry Walk Park and yet again we had a lovely time. The first night was really disappointing due to our cabin being very cold. We woke the first morning to find the heating completely off and it being 12° in the cabin (this was not ideal as we had our 3 month old with us). However, this was dealt with very quickly and we were moved within a couple of hours to a new cabin (a lovely upgrade too) which was lovely and warm. As always the lodges are clean, tidy and have everything you need. Hot tubs are lovely and very clean and well maintained. A few reasons for not putting 5 stars: - WiFi really should be free now given how much the cost of stays has gone up over the last 4 years. - It would be much better if check in and check out times were adjusted. We always feel that with not being able to check in until 4 and then having to check out at 10 means that we essentially lose a day of our stay. We love Quarry Walk and will definitely be back again soon. Also definitely recommend local pub ‘The Raddle’ - lovely cosy pub with great food and drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Aaron M wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
+1
The bathroom door is wonky making it hard to close and the dishwasher flooded and stinks of fish also the bath had a crack on the side the sink feels like it would come off the wall also the hood vent is very dusty. Also the table was wobblying and there are cracks in the walls and ceilings
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
emerynicky97 wrote a review Jan 2024
Birmingham7 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Log cabins are advertised and shown as though they are on there own, but you are very close to other cabins. As my photographs show, the log cabin was dusty, unclean and the bedroom needed a thorough deep clean. Considering it states that it was throughly cleaned, and we could not check in until 16.00 hours the photos show otherwise. A reminder there was a pandemic and cleanliness was so high on people's agenda that it seems to have slipped here. Quarry walk lodges are not prepared to take ownership or offer compensation in anyway and we could not address it at the time as the office were closed over the New Year. Awful customer service. Oh and you have to pay for WIFI.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
René Jones wrote a review Dec 2023
28 contributions1 helpful vote
Wonderful stay (again). This is our second trip to quarry walk park, staying in the Hodgehog Cabin both times. Lovely accommodation, wonderful hot tub, very clean and fantastic customer service. You can borrow books and movies from reception to use during your stay free of charge, which is a lovely added service!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
emmaproc2r wrote a review Dec 2023
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom61 contributions21 helpful votes
This is my 8th time staying here and the most disappointing as some things in the lodge were shabby. There was burn marks over the work tops and a saucepan burn mark on the kitchen floor. Flooring lifting by shower in the bathroom. Electric went off twice and we had to get maintenance to sort it out. It was minus 4 outside so not ideal. The whole lodge needs updating and a lick of paint. The prices go up every year but the lodge has deteriorated. Driving around the park is full of pot holes and it’s been like that for over 5 years. On a positive note it was clean and the hot tub was fantastic. If these lodges aren’t updated I’m sure people will choose a different place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: WiFi is £18 for 3 days.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CheyMooChubbs wrote a review Oct 2023
london England, United Kingdom57 contributions44 helpful votes
So the wife picked this place to stay as we was going to alton towers for 2 day's and it's just down the road. So first things first the park Is very quite and that's a plus but the roads around the park need some work done as pot holes line the road. The first day was nice we got to the park about 3pm and we got the key & fob ( fob to use on gate to get in & out) and given a map to find cabin. Room was ok for just the 3 of us. Room was clean and all looked ok to me ( unlike some who stay we only used this as a place to sleep and not spend all day at the park) had a good night sleep. Now some things that I need to say. No hot water for the shower or the sink to wash up with had to use the kettle. The wife went to use the shower only to get very cold water she ran the water for about 6 to 10m in the end she called the phone number and spoke to a lady but as she was doing so the water did become warm so she ended the call only for it to go cold once more we both had cold showers. Next is the lights we had 2 lights on the one switch so if I wanted to read a book we had to have both lights on so I think one light above the bed and one over the sofa would be great. And I think a curtain at the end of the double bed would be great for priv as if you want to read in bed you could have a light off over the sofa and the curtain closed and the light on. We did pay for wifi for 4 days I think at £18 and it was very hit & miss ( more miss then hit) so that is one thing I would do with out. And last the shower & toilet did leak from the the base and had to use a towel to stop the water ( very little water it was ) now the wife did report the cold water in the shower & the leak to the lady in the office just in case we did not get our £100 back and the lady did say sorry and it would be looked into. So in the end it was not a bad place to stay but need some tlc.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Spange98 wrote a review Oct 2023
Willenhall, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here after visiting Alton Towers and what a wonderful stay it was. I was in Daisy 13 and it was a fantastic little cabin, with everything you could need for a short stay. The kitchen was fully equipped, the bed was the most comfortable I’ve slept on and the shower was better than the one I have at home. Such a lovely cosy home for the night. The staff on site are lovely, and on hand for anything you may need. There’s a great information pack in the cabin with recommendations and information on walks on site. If you are able to get up to the top there are some lovely views. I would highly recommend staying at Quarry Walk Park and I couldn’t fault a thing. The only thing i found was the door kept swinging open/ closed due to the wind, a little hook would be good to attach it to to keep it open. Thank you all for a lovely stay and I will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Postcode takes you straight to the site using satnav 👍 Road is a bit winding and at many points...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quarry Walk, General Manager at Quarry Walk Park
Responded 24 Dec 2023
Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed the Daisy Pod so much and the team looked after you well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anna D wrote a review Oct 2023
London37 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed for one night in a Daisy hut, and arrived at 7pm. On arrival we came up against a closed barrier which needed a fob to open, which is kept with your key in a key safe. Only problem was there’s no signal so I couldn’t open my email for the key safe code. Had to drive ages to get signal to find the code for the key safe. Get back and the key is not in the safe. Ring the ring doorbell and the woman says they took my key away cos I didn’t pay the security deposit which they’d sent an email about and I tried to do but the website just spun and wouldn’t load. So I had to go stand out in the cold dark rain where there’s a patch of signal to pay for a security deposit before she’d tell me where she’d hid my key. She’s nice enough to be fair but I didn’t appreciate that I had to pay a deposit, when I’ve never had to do anything like that before anywhere I’ve stayed. It literally left me in tears feeling despair that we couldn’t just go to our cabin after driving all day and that she wouldn’t just let it go. Get to the lodge, no milk or tea, no towels, no wifi - have to pay for everything but too late to order those things now. The total cost would have been so much more than the listed price. Ordered wifi in the end for £8 but it wouldn’t work on my partner’s phone. There’s absolutely no signal here either. The wardrobe is behind the bed so you have to crawl on the bed to use it. Then 6.45am a rubbish truck going through woke us up, which isn’t what you expect in a nature park. The reason for leaving any stars at all is that the cabin is nice enough although they’re super close together unlike the photos.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quarry Walk, General Manager at Quarry Walk Park
Responded 24 Dec 2023
Hi, we are sorry to hear you found the check in so stressful. We did try and contact you by email and phone to ensure you had done your pre arrival deposit but unfortunately we didn't get a reply. Our glamping pods are as advertised and don't come with milk, tea, coffee etc.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Plumbers66 wrote a review Oct 2023
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom54 contributions31 helpful votes
Me, my wife & daughter have stayed in the Bluebell pods a couple of times before & loved it!! We were actually the first people to use one of the Bluebell pods when they first opened. However we stayed again for 2 nights last weekend & we’re disappointed to say the least! The pod was dirty (sofa bed & floor had bits of food etc on), the table was falling apart (leg hanging off), the toilet was leaking into the middle of the bathroom floor, the curtain rail was held together by copper pipe. However our main issue was that we weren’t able to use the en-suite shower throughout our entire stay, due to it only running cold. We reported the shower & leaking toilet to reception on our first morning at approx 9am, then went off to Alton Towers for the day. After getting wet due to it raining whilst at Alton Towers, we were looking forward to a nice warm shower. However when we returned back to the pod on the evening, the shower was still running cold. We contacted reception AGAIN only to be told that they can’t repair the shower, so we wouldn’t be able to use it. However if we wanted we could walk in the rain, down a muddy path to use the showers in their shower block instead. We book & pay for en-suite accommodation because we don’t like using communal shower blocks, so refused. The leaking toilet had apparently been repaired, however a dirty cloth & the original soaked floor towel from the night before, had been left wrapped around the toilet. We were amazed that anyone would leave their accommodation in this state for their guests/customers to stay in. After all the issues during our stay, a genuine apology would have been nice and to be honest, we probably should have asked for some money back. It’s such a shame that what was such a nice place is not being looked after & leaving customers/guests feeling very disappointed! I hope things improve for anyone with an upcoming stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Freehay area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
quarry walk hotel cheadle
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStaffordshireCheadleFreehay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

QUARRY WALK PARK - Updated 2024 Reviews (Freehay)

Frequently Asked Questions about Quarry Walk Park
Which popular attractions are close to Quarry Walk Park?
Nearby attractions include Alton Towers Resort (2.7 miles), Dimmingsdale (2.2 miles), and Cbeebies Land (2.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Quarry Walk Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a hot tub, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Quarry Walk Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Quarry Walk Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Quarry Walk Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Quarry Walk Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Queens at Freehay, The Red Lion Inn, and Royal Oak Dilhorne.
Are pets allowed at Quarry Walk Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Quarry Walk Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Manor (5.1 miles), Mill Meece Pumping Station (8.4 miles), and Longton Cemetery Chapels (8.8 miles).