We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Colonial Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ulm
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Colonial Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

This place is not a motel I would recommend. Smell is musty, window doesn't lock and hasn't been opened or cleaned in many years. Ac unit is loud, tried to sleep without it but woke up in the night to turn it back on. Maybe ok for local workers but certainly not up to New Ulm standards for a tourist....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lori s
Reviewed 13 May 2016

I have stayed in many 5-star hotels over my lifetime, and as someone who frequents the suites of Las Vegas --- I know about top-tier rooms. I read some of these reviews and they are ridiculous. Of course this is not the Bellagio! I've stayed at Colonial 3 times. The place is inexpensive and has great charm and character. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRITT K
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

This is a mom and pop, so don't expect the perks of a chain. (breakfast, etc.) Our room was clean, bed good and firm and the toilet took everything with flying colors. Our tub looked aged, but the shower worked great. We had a microwave and mini fridge, both worked. A very nice flatscreen T.v. was also in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
Rochester, New York
Reviewed 9 August 2015

I am not a picky traveler, and I usually stay at budget motels. I did not pick this motel, but had reserved a room in another motel in town that had unfortunately overbooked. That motel called and told me they had reserved me a room at the Colonial. I was not sure what I would find, based on the other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenseeker
Clive, Iowa
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Went to the manager and told her that the toilet was running and the TV had no sound and would not turn off. She told me there was nothing she would do. She then told me she was calling the cops. Twenty minutes later, the cops knocked on my door waking me up saying that the manager said I was...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank William C
nucolonialinn, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

William, I'm sorry you had a problem with the TV and toilet in your room. We take pride in our room condition and spend thousands of dollars a month on repairs and maintenance. We repaired the toilet and replaced the TV soon after you checked out. We would have fixed it during your stay, however the employee working did not...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 November 2014

My boyfriend and I came to New Ulm to visit some family and friends for the night. The Colonial Inn was recommended to us by some friends. The price was great and the location was perfect. It is only a couple minute drive to the Schell's Brewing Company and to numerous restaurants in town. The owners were very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank K_M_F890
Reviewed 1 November 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Colonial Inn in New Ulm and was very impressed. The owners and staff treated me very respectfully and made sure I had everything I needed for a great stay. The room was small, but clean and an excellent value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
Iowa, United States
Reviewed 12 October 2014

This was a last minute trip for us and there were limited rooms in New Ulm. The website says newly remodeled and even has a Trip advisor rating on their main page saying "Bravo! Excellent rating!" This room was terrible, looks like they attempted to remodel but did not actually finish. Crayon all over the back of the bathroom door,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristine R
nucolonialinn, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It really does help us make positive changes at the Colonial Inn. The lampshade was an easy fix. We replaced it as soon as we saw this review. I then inspected the other lampshades in the hotel and found a few more that were cracked. We replaced those as well. The remodeling process in the...

Reviewed 12 October 2014

While the host was friendly and helpful, the rest of our stay was totally unsatifactory! The carpets,walls and chairs were filthy. The shower surround had black mildew on the caulking. Everything was dingy and grimy. My daughter and her husband left there with bug bites on their feet and ankles. The hotel host did apologize and refund the price of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kitkatkk
nucolonialinn, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry for your negative experience at the Colonial Inn. I talked with a member of your party after checkout, and they told me about the "bites" they received. Hotel industry standard is to refund the money immediately, no questions asked. I then called Plunketts Pest Control and they inspected the room and found no sign of bed...

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Rooms could be taken care of better but expected for the price. Staff is awesome, host is really cool, she helped me out dramatically. I will certainly be back if i ever need a place to stay New Ulm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ty_weber

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ulm
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS New Ulm
19.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Madelia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Budget Host Inn Mankato
Budget Host Inn Mankato
#10 of 16 in Mankato
21 reviews
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge New Ulm
Econo Lodge New Ulm
#2 of 5 in New Ulm
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
24 Ground floor rooms. Microwaves and Refrigerators in every room. Low weekly rates. Free high speed wireless internet. Free expanded cable and HBO. In room coffee ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 1315 N Broadway St, New Ulm, MN 56073-1230
Region: United States > Minnesota > New Ulm
Price Range: £28 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Love the corner suites”
 of 5 bubbles 760brittk, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“Just don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles 958rachela, 9 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a remodeled room, or the dbl queen room. It is big, if you are traveling with a group.”
 of 5 bubbles gustafry, 13 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Don't go to this motel unless you look at the rooms first!!!! Wish I'd have taken some pictures - didn't think of it.”
 of 5 bubbles Enjoy98, 9 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Go someplace else.”
 of 5 bubbles justmehere2day, 6 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5