We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Traveler's Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Traveler\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Campo Bom, RS, Brasil
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

This was the worst hotel since I arrive in US... Very old installation, old bed linen, old bathroom... The breakfast is too much poor!! Also the old guy in reception was not friendly... I do not recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schneider80
Chippewa Falls
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Old Guest house type hotel about 2 blocks from the Mayo Clinic. There are no frills with this hotel and it has drawbacks, but location is not one of them,. We had a great comfortable king bed room that turned out to be more of a suite. Had a microwave, a refrigerator, and an ample, however, old, bathroom. No grab...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melsley
Waukesha
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Hotel was older than shown on pictures, but VERY convenient to Mayo Clinic. Staff was helpful with questions about Mayo. Free shuttle to Mayo if needed (only 2 1/2 blocks away). An easy walk on a nice spring day. Gave us a late checkout due to doctor's apptmt. Also FREE parking ($12-$15 per day at the clinic and other motels.)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda & Michael S
Hazen, North Dakota
Reviewed 31 March 2015

this is not a 5 star motel. if that is what you want and expect, do not stay here. i have stayed here many times. i am satisfied. the price and location, to Mayo, is why i stay here. average $55 per night, for short stays. it is 2 blocks to the mayo clinic. the parking is free, while staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gene W
Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewed 27 November 2014

This is an older hotel. The place was clean and comfortable--even if it's "scruffy". Reminds me of student housing in college- without the loud music and parties. Good for the price. The breakfast is juice, coffee, toast and muffins. Get there early before everything's gone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank horsefarmfox
Gardner
Reviewed 30 October 2014

You get what you pay for. Good price. Comfortable, large room, clean enough, easy access to Mayo. They have a free shuttle to Walmart. Really nice deck-porch with deck furniture. Lobby computer wasn't working, regardless of what front desk staff said, but wifi worked ok. Was an "older" property, but not falling apart. Some of the cosmetic things could use...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary S
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 11 October 2014

DO NOT GO HERE!!! Made reservation, got here after a 8 hour drive . . they said wouldn't honor our reservation because our billing address on credit card was a Rochester address - and they don't let anyone within 40 miles stay there. WHAT???????? After seeing the lobby, glad they didn't honor our reservation. Centerstone up the street had no...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gwen G
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 September 2014

Words cannot express the disgusting conditions of this disgusting hotel. No working lock on the door, bed bugs (see pictures), serious nasty staining on carpet all over, extension cords, holes in wall, holes in window screens, wires hanging out of wall socket, dirty disgusting filthy place should not even be open for business.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank TMareeH
HotelManager426, Manager at Traveler's Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not happy with you stay at Travelers Hotel. We are inspected monthly for all pest and when there is a report of bed bugs they are here within 24 hrs. of report; we have never had bed bugs. Carpets are cleaned by professionals quarterly and when additional is needed. The lock was readjusted the...

South Dakota
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Worst experience ever. Did not get the room we had reserved, instead was stuck in a very unclean room. Had reserved for a month due to donating a kidney and a kidney transplant. I had to clean and sanitize the room before our surgeries. (peeling paint, no air conditioning, bad beds, leaking shower, toilet lid loose, etc...) Did not have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sue H
HotelManager426, General Manager at Traveler's Hotel, responded to this review

We do not guarantee a specific room number to any guest, as many are here for medical appointments and don't know how long they stay. We adjust our incoming reservations to accommodate the in-house guest; we offer this to all of our guest. If a guest is ending a monthly contract early we must charge sales tax if the stay...

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is one of the worse hotels I have ever seen! The poor exterior, dim lighting, peeling paint, cobs, uneven floors, the list goes on. I even thought at one point I would find my mom outside of the room since the beds had wheels on them without any locking devices. Definitely not handicap accessible. I could piss harder than...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Melissa E

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Rochester Downtown
Days Inn Rochester Downtown
#47 of 53 in Rochester
632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.4 mi away
Broadway Plaza
Broadway Plaza
#37 of 53 in Rochester
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Traveler's Hotel

Address: 426 2nd St. SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3137 (Formerly Rochester Downtown Travelodge)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Number of rooms: 63
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Traveler's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view of the ocean. :)”
 of 5 bubbles A5706EQmarys, 30 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Couldn't use it...see above”
 of 5 bubbles gracielaa616, 21 Jul 2014 | Read review
“The rooms with balcony's are bigger.”
 of 5 bubbles toddh251, 6 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Don't choose any RUN!”
 of 5 bubbles 356theresak, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
“go somewhere else or check your room for cleanliness and electricity before you stay and pay.”
 of 5 bubbles bethaaronharris, 20 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5