We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Show Prices
#1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 523: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 4th time visiting Bluefin Bay resort properties, our first winter stay. It's wonderful to have the mesmerizing view of Lake Superior with floor to ceiling windows and a crackling wood fire in the background while you read a good book in your pajamas with your spouse. We love it there! The staff is especially friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Vacationing at Bluefin Bay has been a family tradition for over 20 years. There is no better place in MN than the North Shore and no better to enhance your stay than Bluefin Bay. Beautiful rooms, wonderful staff, fantastic dining options, numerous fun activities, not to mention breath taking views of Lake Superior. Bluefin Bay is the perfect place to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Berditzman
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me start off by saying that the environment, rooms, and location are great for a honeymoon. In many ways, I can agree with a lot of the positive reviews writing on TripAdvisor. However, both my wife and I left the resort feeling like the resort could have done much more. This is the reason I am rating it as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nide0006
BluefinGM, Manager at Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Hello Dustin, I appreciate your honesty and sincerity in your recent review. I can understand your concern and disappointment. At Bluefin, we really try very hard to accommodate our guests in every way we can, we are staffed with people who really do care. Bluefin Family of Resorts is operated by an Association which sets the policies and rules. It’s...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was surprised at the other review saying that they had a terrible experience because in all the years that I have stayed there the rooms have always been clean and tidy and kept u very nicely...no peeling wallpaper or chipped paint ....the staff is always super friendly and helpful....the surrounding area is great for sports of all seasons, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haackerobert
BluefinGM, Manager at Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review! We strive to meet and exceed the standards of our ranking and so greatly appreciate your recognition. We look forward to serving you on your next stay with us. Michele Scudieri Guest Services Manager

Woodbury
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband, daughter and her husband stayed here for three nights the second week of January 2017. We stayed in a two story townhome in the Surfside lodging. The rooms were beautiful with floor to ceiling windows showing Lake Superior. There were three balconies in the unit (not used due to -10 degree weather), full kitchen, gas fireplace etc. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marykayk2015
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We had booked our stay and Bluefin months before our trip. It was for our anniversary. We had stayed there before and thought it was just such a wonderful place. I can't say the same. When we arrived we were given a room that was dirty and dog food left on the floor poor maintenance. ( Pictures to follow). The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jen B
BluefinGM, Manager at Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Greetings Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our...

hilo
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed at the Temperance Lodging in August 2016. Initially I was a bit disappointed as the lodge that we were staying in was infested with flies. We were unable to change lodging however the manager on duty was extremely helpful and addressed our concerns promptly. The flies were eliminated and we were able to enjoy our stay. Overall, our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaynna
Neshanic Station,NJ
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Stayed here for a few nights as basis for local hikes. The room was a second floor access room You need to climb two sets of stairs to get to the room. The bath room is rather tight and of limited capacity including the toilet for a double room suite. The master bedroom lake view is splendid, with a sunrise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoeieWitte
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 December 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in December with our dog, and had the most wonderful time. We were in a superior 1 bedroom condo, which was the perfect size for the 3 of us and looked right out to the lake with direct access from our back patio. The staff were incredibly nice and helpful, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Danneka H
Alexandria, Minnesota
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I planned our trip for the bluefin. We arrive late in the evening. Grabbed dinner at the grill before checking in. We checked in and went to our room. And our room wasn't cleaned... we called the front desk gentleman (Ross) and he came to our room to check it out. He discovered something that doesn't happen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Flywayking

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
3:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
7.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
1.2 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
8.4 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
11.2 mi away
Solbakken on Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior is unmatched in its intimate proximity to the largest freshwater lake in the world – Lake Superior. The stunning views, warm and friendly hospitality, award-winning restaurants, and a full-service resort with complimentary outdoor equipment and activities are the hallmarks of Bluefin Bay. Choose from hotel suites, or one, two or three bedroom condos on the lake. Our restaurants, the Bluefin Grille and Coho Café and Bakery also overlook the lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Address: 7192 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Price Range: £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 133
Also Known As:
Bluefin Bay On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte
Bluefin Bay Hotel
Bluefin Bay Tofte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Baldwin, Wisconsin
Northfield, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“call well in advance as this resort is popular year round...they take reservations 13 months in advance...”
 of 5 bubbles haackerobert, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are 3 for 2 night specials certain weekends in January which make the rooms much more budget friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles marykayk2015, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Must have lake view, 2nd floor (double stairs only)”
 of 5 bubbles GoeieWitte, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Unit 68A - secluded and best sunrise views!!”
 of 5 bubbles dannekah2016, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a ground-level place if you can. Stairs were killer.”
 of 5 bubbles johndS2217FB, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5