We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Countryman Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Countryman Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Countryman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 73: English reviews
Essex, England
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

What a shame - we have had several meals at this dog friendly pub, but we went on Friday and although they were doing fish & chips at £6 we chose off the specials board and the ribs were too tough to eat. The staff were accommodating and did change it for something else but it was disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CT9
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Myself,my husband and child stayed here for 2 nights in a double room whilst visiting family. Starting with a positive the breakfast is very good, hot plates, lots of choice you can have as little or much as you would like, would recommend eating here. A lady realised we had a young child and went out of her way to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mattandlau
Covachich, Manager at The Countryman Inn, responded to this review

Hello, I am very sorry to hear your stay was not exactly as it should have been. I can assure you the carpets are cleaned on a regular basis, but I agree sometimes look tired due to the amount of traffic on them. The bathrooms are also very clean and the sealant around the shower has been replaced since your...

Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Having popped into the countryman for a lunchtime meal we found we weren't disappointed. My husband had ham.eggg and chips. Large generous portion with two eggs. My meal was cauliflower cheese and it was the best I've ever had, bacon , sliced crispy potatoes and salad included in the price. The cauliflower was cooked perfect and a wonderful cheesy sauce...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caron_livermore5
Covachich, Manager at The Countryman Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you and your husband back to see us very soon.

Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2016

How things can change. Just returned fromSpain after six months for the winter. Price of a pint of Doombar now 3.50 Decided to take wife for fish and chips, was five pouds, now six pounds. Cardbord chips, fish, do not know origen, certainly not cod, no taste. Will not rush back. This pub is my local and the prices keep...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael H
Covachich, Manager at The Countryman Inn, responded to this review

Hello Mike. I am incredibly disappointed that you haven't spoken to me personally about your meal especially as you say, you are a local 6 months of the year. The price of our pints has had to rise, along side many other businesses in the UK due to tax, alcohol and business rate raises. We are far below where we...

Liskeard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

We decided to treat our family for a nice meal after our positive previous experience in this pub, despite just under an hour journey to get there. Overall, the food was great. However, paying £17 for a lamb dish, which turned out to be very chewy (using a steak knife) we decided to sent it back. The manager apologised and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jodez_29
Covachich, Manager at The Countryman Inn, responded to this review

hello, Firstly I apologise for your unhappy experience with us on this occasion. I am sorry you feel your dishes were not collected fast enough after your meal, we were quiet busy that night and I believe the girls were allowing extra time for the replaced meal to be finished and we did not what the lady to feel rushed....

Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2015

Visited the Countryman after hearing some great reviews and we were not disappointed. A great atmosphere and menu and made to feel very welcome. The inn was well organised with a party going on in another room, us sitting in bar with the restaurant running all smoothly with no noise. The meal itself was excellent with plenty of choice and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bigboysteven
Covachich, Manager at The Countryman Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your lovely review. We are really happy you enjoyed your visit to us and we hope to see you again soon

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We just came across the Countryman Inn when driving from Launceston to Bude. It looked so attractive we stayed the night and were so glad we did. The room we had was comfortable ans exceptionally well equipped with lovely thick towels and a range of toiletries, tea and coffee. The window did face the rear entry stairs and entrance and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank haematocrit
Covachich, Manager at The Countryman Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your lovely review. Thank you for stopping with us and we are very happy you enjoyed yourself. Really glad you enjoyed the food and drinks when you were here.

Swaffham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Came across this lovely place whilst working away from Norfolk. Going to be coming this way a lot due to my work and will be returning to The Countryman Inn. I stopped in for a drink and I ended up having a meal, so glad i did the food as AMAZING! I have never had a Fish pie with so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Staceyparry
Covachich, Manager at The Countryman Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your lovely review, really glad you enjoyed your meal with us, we always try to give the best quality we can. We look forward to seeing you again next time your down nearby.

Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Great value, friendly inn with simple but hearty meals and clean and tidy rooms. The rooms are clean, furniture a little tired but not an issue. Bed linen crisp and clean, towels and soap/shampoo fresh and new. Bed comfortable and overall after a great meal ready for bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Littlehavers
Covachich, Manager at The Countryman Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We have recently spruced up our furniture in the rooms, so hopefully if you stop with us again you will see all the improvements that we have made. Very glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards

darlington
Reviewed 30 September 2015

acomodation although very clean was a bit tired..there was no heating on and although still september i felt the cold.. on the bright the food was very good and the portions were excellent.. the staff were very friendly..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john p
Covachich, Manager at The Countryman Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Our room have recently been decorated now, so i hope you will return to visit us and see some great improvements. Kind Regards

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langdon
5.9 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
482 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
318 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Racehorse Inn
The Racehorse Inn
#8 of 23 in Launceston
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 23 in Launceston
295 reviews
4.3 mi away
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
#1 of 1 in Kennards House
160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dorset Farm
Dorset Farm
#3 of 12 in Launceston
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a large friendly pub just outside Launceston, on the road to the lovely coastal town of Bude. We have 5 cosy, en-suite letting rooms. 1 Single, 1 Twin, 2 Doubles and a Family room with a double bed and bunk beds (to sleep 4). We have a very large, free car park and a safely enclosed childrens park on our large playing field next to the pub/car park. We have plenty of outside seating either on the edge of the playing field and in the childrens park, or in our patio area leading out from our function room. We serve a delicious standard menu which varies slightly from day to day with our freshly made soups, fish cakes, curries and pies of the day. We also have a weekly specials board containing, when available, some very local meats but always something temptingly tasty. There is plenty to do nearby at the Otter Sanctuary or just a short car journey away in Launceston, Bude or many of the other nearby beautiful coastal towns and villages. We are also 15 minutes away from the A30 that will lead to to other larger attractions such as the eden project. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Countryman Inn

Address: Langdon Cross, Langdon, Launceston PL15 8NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston > Langdon
Price Range: £54 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Countryman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Countryman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Countryman Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Barry
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Countryman Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'm sorry to say that I definitely cannot recommend this place.”
, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only 4 rooms - 1 x family room, double, twin and single”
Lindy5757, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room at the rear if poss. Some rooms are near the road and could be noisey (we were not disturbed and we were near next to the road)”
COLLINE7, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Room # 2, for two people, overlooking the front entrance was very nice.”
CornwallTravelers, 27 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road which can be noisy.”
rj74210, 14 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5