We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Traveller (118)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (16)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Save More on Your Rate
Hotel deals
728Reviews
169Photos
3Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 328
  • 258
  • 99
  • 30
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gray, dirty bedding, mattress pad missing fittings with brown color bed base showing. Boiling pot with dirty particles inside. The heating didn’t seem to function at all as was very cold even when set to 30 degrees. When I asked for front desk to print out airplane tickets, the
Read more
Response from Danie1Lawson, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Linda S, Thank you for your feedback. I have located your reservation and investigated the room with our Housekeeping Manager. Unfortunately, we cannot find any mattress or bed fittings missing, so we are unsure what you mean by this. I am pleased however, to say that we are currently in the process of replacing all of our bed bases. Thank you for bringing the kettle to our attention, Our Housekeeping Manager is going to investigate as to why this has not been replaced sooner, and will address it with the team directly. It's very unusual for our Front Desk Team to not offer to print your tickets for you. I will pass your comments onto the Front Office Manager who will again investigate the point raised. I can only apologise that you were inconvenienced. It is very rare that we receive this kind of feedback. As you can see from other reviews, this is not our normal standard of operation, as we strive to make each and every stay memorable. I do hope that you give us the chance to restore your faith in our hotel. If you make a booking in future, please do not hesitate to contact me to take care of your reservation personally. Kindest regards, Daniel Lawson daniel.lawson@hidarlingtonnorth.co.uk
Read more
Great value, comfortable room, bathroom consisted of shower and toilet with the hand basin outside in the bedroom. We had a good sleep, no traffic noise which was unusual being close to the motorway. Breakfast was OK.
Read more
Response from Danie1Lawson, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Responded 1 week ago
Hi James B, Thank you for your review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully next time we can give you that WOW factor to increase your review score! We hope to welcome you back again very soon! Kindest regards, Daniel Lawson daniel.lawson@hidarlingtonnorth.co.uk
Read more
Achieving a standard is one thing, maintaining it another. Each time I say it when I come back - this hotel hasn't just achieved the standard - but it maintains it well. Everything is good here, from the location, the welcome, the breakfast, the evening food, the rooms,
Read more
Response from Danie1Lawson, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Morser221, It's absolutely made my day reading this review! We pride ourselves on the great service each and every one of our team provides, and it's comments like this which are what it's all about! Fantastic to hear that we are a great ambassador to the IHG Brand. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Kindest regards, Daniel Lawson
Read more
Stayed here for an overnight stop and it was great. The room was large and clean and warm. It is a bit odd that sink is outside the bathroom! Breakfast was OK - not up to usual HI standards. Bacon burnt, luke warm hash browns, coffee from a machine not freshly brewed, juice
Read more
Response from Danie1Lawson, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Responded 7 Feb 2019
Hi, Thank you for your review. I will pass your feedback onto our Head Chef. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and it's very rare that we receive any negative comments on our selection. I hope that this would not deter you from staying again, where I'm certain you will be impressed. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Kindest regards, Daniel Lawson daniel.lawson@hidarlingtonnorth.co.uk
Read more
Visited the restaurant on a Sunday at 5.45pm. Very quiet and no atmosphere. Nobody in reception or at the bar to greet us. After a couple of minutes someone appeared who was the receptionist, bartender and waiter. He took our drinks order and hardly anything on the drinks menu
Read more
Response from Danie1Lawson, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Responded 17 Jan 2019
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I can assure you that we are taking your feedback seriously and will investigate the points you have raised. In our hotel, there is never only one person on duty to cover all of the areas as you have mentioned, so I am unsure as to why you believed this to be the case. Kindest regards, Daniel Lawson daniel.lawson@hidarlingtonnorth.co.uk
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Meeting room
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Meeting room
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Guest room
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Guest room
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Guest room
PreviousNext
12345613
With it being close to the A road, are the rooms loud?
so so sorry, not been checking reviews. The rooms very quiet as next to an industrial estate that appears closed at weekends. Not sure about during the week.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there a bus into Darlington that stops nearby?
I would say yes as it's the direct route into Darlington from Newton Aycliffe and surrounding villages
0 votes
Show all answers
Are there any decent restaurants nearby?(don't mind a short taxi ride)
I'm sorry I don't know, we ate in the hotel on both nights of our stay , it was easier as we had had very full days. The menu was not extensive but I have to say that I was surprised & pleased at the quality & service we received. It's well worth a try!
1 vote
Show all answers
"Room 124 has the strange bathroom layout"
"Well worth the visit"
"Our room was on ground floor and okayh"
"I think most rooms have a reasonable view"
"Ask for a room facing the car park unless you want no sleep"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$60 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Aston Hotel Darlington
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDarlingtonCoatham Mundeville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing