We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clayton Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clayton Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

898 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clayton Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 887: English reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2015

This hotel has the same owner but is not IHC anymore and there have been some changes. We asked for more towels at breakfast because there were only 2 for our room of 4 people and they never came so we just reused. Then we returned at 10:30 pm and just wanted to shower and sleep but our room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 106joannek
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, 106joannek. I thank you so much for continuing to stay with us and I assure you that even though we elected to not re-sign our franchise agreement with IHG, nothing else has changed here except the name. I am terribly sorry about the issues that you mentioned but I promise, they have nothing to do...

Broadview Heights, Ohio
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Will not go again. I am mobility impaired. The hotel is extremely hard to get into, no convenient, or existent, vehicle download space. And the rooms have the popular sky high beds which are not good for anyone mobility impaired, short, old, or wheelchair bound. As others have said, the people are great, the room service was good. But I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy1753
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Kathy1753 and thank you so much for this valuable feedback! I can most certainly appreciate your comments. We are definitely a larger property and in fact, we consist of three buildings that are all connected together. Getting around can be challenging, even for me at times! I wish I could disagree and say that it's "easy" to get around,...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 22 September 2015

I was expecting a nice quaint hotel that would live up the the "Crowne Plaza" brand name but what I experienced was a hotel in desperate need of a major renovation. The staff was friendly and very helpful, but the hotel itself leaves a lot to be desired. It is, however, reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATCBosshog
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear that we weren't what you were looking for, ATCBosshog. While I am glad that our staff was helpful and friendly, I wish you could have enjoyed our hotel a bit more. We are not a new hotel of course, but we are constantly upgrading and making changes all over the place while at the...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting St. Louis . Lovely clean room. Very nice, safe location. Plenty of good eating places within a five minute walk. We ate in the hotel one evening. Typical hotel menu, burgers , sandwiches etc. the food was nicely presented and well cooked.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bethieb2015
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review, bethieb2015! We are so grateful to have had you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to St. Louis! On behalf of everyone at the Clayton Plaza Hotel, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a great review!

Reviewed 15 September 2015

Apparently this was formerly a Crowne Plaza Hotel. The Front Desk and restaurant staff are very friendly and accommodating; the breakfast and food from room service were fine. Unfortunately this does not compensate for the condition of the hotel. Room was had peeling wallpaper and mold, faucet not secured to the sink; needs a deep cleaning. Dripping sound in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbjust
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, jbjust! We are so pleased to know that everything was fine as far as service goes, however I do apologize for the condition issues that you have brought to our attention. I will be making sure that our housekeeping and engineering departments are aware of these issues. Yes,...

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This is a very nice hotel in downtown Clayton, a short drive from downtown St. Louis, close to Forest Park and Washington University. They have changed their name to Clayton Plaza, but I was told they have the same staff and management as previously. Staff was very pleasant and helpful, room was clean and comfortable, wifi fast with a strong...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob C
Reviewed 15 September 2015

The Crowne Plaza Clayton is currently undergoing a name change to the Clayton Plaza Inn. We arrived on a Wednesday after dark and were greeted by Marvin, who was genuinely happy to help us. He checked us in, explained parking and breakfast vouchers, and gave us recommendations for local restaraunts and attractions. Everyone we came into contact with at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole G
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This was our second visit to St. Louis and we chose to stay at the same hotel because of its location, price, complimentary breakfast, and service. From the minute we checked in, Janice went out of her way to be sure we were happy with our room and always talked with us when we passed through the lobby. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
Coronado, California
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Nice hotel with lots of restaurants in the vicinity. Room was clean. The free breakfast was excellent. Omelet bar with plenty of choices. Coffee was very good. Good selection of cable options. I ordered room service, good American food options & promptly delivered. Only bad thing I can say is that they are not affiliated with any frequent visitor programs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dtcamcp
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

The staff were rude! The room was dirty!! The AC leaked and made noises. We asked them to fix and clean everything. They just ignored us. They did not refill the coffee the next morning. Overall had the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Omiddad
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear of this Omiddad! It certainly doesn't sound like anyone on our staff to "ignore" you. I wish I knew more about this, but it wasn't brought to our attention while you were with us. We will most definitely be addressing these concerns with the appropriate departments and again, my sincerest apologies. Thank you for staying...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
1.9 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#33 of 121 in Saint Louis
875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,046 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites St. Louis - Galleria
Homewood Suites St. Louis - Gall...
#1 of 2 in Richmond Heights
668 reviews
8.1 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for wifi code at desk.”
 of 5 bubbles connieh445, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms are larger with a seperate tub & shower”
 of 5 bubbles B3612MAbobs, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the renovated rooms. It makes a difference!”
 of 5 bubbles Beto71, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms at different hotels are best”
 of 5 bubbles Rhombus26, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our interior room was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles TriassicJoe, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5