We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cumberland Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cumberland Resort & Spa
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 242: English reviews
Start your review of Cumberland Resort & Spa
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

All our needs were provided for, we were picked up from the airport only a short distance away, fresh bread, milk, etc. was in hte kitchen to welcome us after the long flight. The umit was well maintained, exceptionally clean and had all we required to have a comfortable five day stay. A free loan vehicle was provided, (essential for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lnel2306
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited Norfolk Island in January 2017 with our extended family of 9 - adults and kids. Tima was extremely helpful in setting up our accommodation and tours and arranging transport. The accommodation was clean and tidy, with rustic charm. It perfectly suited our situation with the kids. There was plenty of room and the amenities were good - TV,DVD,Foxtel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkwilliams1977
Mornington, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly, clean and convenient, close to all major attractions. Obliging and friendly staff, ample facilities, a lovely place for a relaxing holiday. Loved the private patio for reading and enjoying the lovely weather.Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Retiredcouple2017
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place has great potential but its being run by amateurs the only good thing going for it is the view. Its dirty old and run down Now old and run down is fine as long as its clean but thats not happening. Bathrooms, floors throughout, beds, sheets, decks, lounges etc Also the cars supplied are filthy and completely unsafe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
RaelD, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa, responded to this review

The White House tries exceptionally hard to meet all its guests’ expectations. We are proud to have a very good success rate in this regard, with the White House having earned the reputation as being the top property on Norfolk Island. The feedback from this guest is completely inconsistent with every other guest who has stayed at The White House....

St Kilda, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We (three couples) recently stayed at Cumberland Resort and Spa. Tima was very helpful and got us settled in smoothly with our hire cars and tours explained. Our rooms were close to each other so we could enjoy drinks on our verandas most days before heading out to the many restaurants close by or a short drive away. The Fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 137gale
RaelD, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the feedback regarding our helpfulness, cleanliness, breakfast supplies and tour booking service. We are so pleased that you all had a great time, and hope you'll be back soon to enjoy more of our island hospitality.

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A lovely place to stay with friendly and helpful staff, very clean rooms and comfortable bed. Close to town and all amenities. We catered for ourselves most days, well equipped kitchen and was great to have our own bbq and outdoor area. It was great to have someone ere to meet us at the airport and to drop us back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbmcmahon
RaelD, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We love guest feedback. Thanks so much for making note of our free airport transfers, rental car, private BBQ, and of course, our helpfulness, cleanliness, comfortable bed, and being close to town and all amenities. Don't wait too long to come back!

Dubbo, Australia
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Tima and the staff were very friendly and helpful with our tour bookings, meeting us at the airport etc. They thought of everything for our little 10 month old grandson with toys he really enjoyed being supplied along with car seat, high chair and cot. We were supplied 2 vehicles which were great to get around the island. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarjohn
RaelD, Owner at Cumberland Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of The White House. We are pleased you appreciated Tima and the staff, who you mentioned were very friendly and helpful with your tour bookings, meeting you at the airport, etc. We pride ourselves on trying to think of everything, even the small things that make a big difference. Thank you for mentioning that...

Reviewed 15 December 2016

We were met at the airport by very friendly staff and transferred to the resort. We were given a cool drink while talked through the amenities available then shown to our rooms.The rooms were very clean and well set up. The kitchen was well appointed and we used it a couple of times to self cater for our group of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2016

We stayed in Cumberland House, which catered for our needs with 7 separate beds for 7 women. The house is spacious, very well equipped, with a more than adequate kitchen stocked with heaps of eggs, bread, spreads, milk, juice,tea and coffee! Beds were comfortable, and beach towels and snorkelling gear were also provided. In fact I think the lovely staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
Erina
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We were picked up at the airport by Resort staff. They showed us the town on the way to the Resort. Very friendly staff. The unit was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The resort is within walking distance to the shops and has a bus stop out the front which is where you wait to go on tours....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirleys

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnt Pine
0.5 mi away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel & Resort
Paradise Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Norfolk Island
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castaway Norfolk Island
Castaway Norfolk Island
#1 of 2 in Burnt Pine
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hill
Heritage Hill
#4 of 5 in Norfolk Island
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Pacific Resort Hotel
South Pacific Resort Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnt Pine
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cascade Garden Apartments
Cascade Garden Apartments
#3 of 47 in Norfolk Island
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 STAR AFFORDABLE LUXURY, SPA INDULGENCE RESORT. WHY NOT PAMPER YOURSELF?Free Rental Car (excl. insurance), Personal Return Airport Transfers, Town Tour, Breakfast Starters (incl. eggs, bread loaf, juice, milk, condiments). Relax and put balance back into your life at this intimate boutique resort set in tropical gardens. Centrally located, there are 1-, 2-, 3-, 4- & even 5-bedroom options - every exec bedroom has en-suite bathroom with spa bath or massage spa shower, or both. Enjoy a week of indulging.Soak in the hydrotherapy heated swim spa, de-tox in the infra red Sauna or take in a few hours of massage and body treatments at the day spa. Stroll a few minutes to trendy cafes, restaurants and shops. With your free rental car you can explore the island at will. Then, come home to Cumberland and just chill out on your private spacious, sunny verandah. Utilize the onsite friendly managers with their local knowledge, book a tour or spa treatment.Property Features: Heated Swim Spa, sauna, day spa, tour desk, wireless internet, DVD movie library, snorkel gear/beach towels, guest laundry, central location, en-suite massage showers & spa baths, satellite TV, Free Wi-Fi throughout the resort, tennis (nearby).Room Features: Fully equipped kitchens, king beds, LCD/LED TV, DVD/CD/iPod docks, modern en-suite spa bathrooms, private BBQ's, picnic sets, snorkel gear, wireless internet and all the modern features you have come to expect.Heated Swim Spa Sauna.Onsite Day Spa Massage,Tour Desk Fulltime Reception, Free Wi-Fi, DVD movies (450+) Library, Games Snorkel Gear Guest Laundry Central Location, Foxtel satellite TV (57+ channels), Tennis (nearby).En-suite Massage Showers,Spa Baths Beach towels & Chairs Room Features: Fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, king beds, LCD/LED TV, DVD/CD/iPod docks, modern en-suite spa bathrooms, private BBQ's, Waterfalls, Picnic Sets.Also, indulge with the White House, where leisure meets luxury.Located in the prestigious Buck's Point area, this Presidential, five-bedroom hillside ocean view spa villa is for your Exclusive Indulgence - no other guests or neighbours. Enjoy absolute luxury and total privacy with breathtaking 180 degree panoramic ocean views from all rooms & massive wrap-around verandahs. Includes your own Turkish Sauna, separate Finnish sauna, outdoor jacuzzi/spa, indoor spa bath, skydeck, 8-seater mini-van, and private 8-acre bush walk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cumberland Resort & Spa

Address: Taylors Road, Burnt Pine, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia
Region: Australia > Norfolk Island > Burnt Pine
Price Range: £121 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumberland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cumberland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Burnt Pine
Cumberland Resort & Spa Norfolk Island, South Pacific
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cumberland Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Honolulu, Hawaii
15 days ago
Brisbane, Australia

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cumberland Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The majority of the rooms do not provide views. Only the White House has views.”
 of 5 bubbles mkwilliams1977, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms provide screens around the outdoor area for privacy”
 of 5 bubbles mojo562016, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are very spacious but the rooms downstairs are cooler.”
 of 5 bubbles OokiDooki, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We were in Unit 1, and it was very private, quiet with sunny decks.”
 of 5 bubbles R5856JHyvonnem, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Unit 4 has a private court yard and has no access from passing traffic or pedestrians.”
 of 5 bubbles Wolf_Esther, 26 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5