Lantern Boutique Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lantern Boutique Hotel

Traveller (679)
Pool & Beach (82)
Room & Suite (64)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 special resort in Kamburugamuwa
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Lantern Boutique Hotel located on the most beautiful beach on the South coast, we have crafted an environment for those who appreciate an authentic and intimate experience. Our staff will service your every need, you will leave with great memories of our team. Our rooms- Contemporary Sri Lankan in their feel, very spacious with large balconies facing the Ocean, and with all the Mod-cons you need. Our Restaurant- When food is made with Love it always tastes better. Our menu has been crafted on Sri Lankan food, with an international range created by Chef Charles from New York, and our Chef Sumith. Our Organic Garden has over 30 types of fruit and vegetables. We strive to be the Best Sri Lankan Food in Sri Lanka. You will be back! Our Spa- Relax and be treated to a range of therapies tailored for your beach stay using premium ingredients and oils, by our enthusiastic and passionate team of masseurs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Fishing
Taxi service
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Clothes rack
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, German, Sinhala, Tamil

Location

71 Galle Road, Kamburugamuwa, Matara 81750 Sri Lanka
479Reviews7Q+A70Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 392
  • 58
  • 19
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CharlieT594 wrote a review Jan 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The setting is definitely one of the nicest within the area. The location on a quiet section of the beach is ideal for relaxing. The rooms are very spacious and well equipped with a luxurious feel. The food is variable, often good but not always and it is expensive for Sri Lanka. The staff are very friendly, our rooms were always spotless and restocked several times a day (fresh water, tea etc). The restaurant staff are friendly but not always the most efficient. Loved the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ifthikar_Amith, Manager at Lantern Boutique Hotel
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Dear Mr. Charlie, Greetings from Lantern Boutique Hotel! Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for your very kind and thoughtful feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and services. I have shared your encouraging feedback with our entire team at the hotel. Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service. Once again, many thanks for your comments about your overall stay at Lantern Boutique Hotel and wishing you and your loved ones a very happy holiday season and a fabulous year 2020. It was indeed a pleasure having you at Lantern Beach Collection and we look forward to welcoming you soon again. Thank you Warm Regards Ifthikar Amith - Lantern Beach Collection & Reveal the Beach House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Navera A wrote a review Mar 2020
11 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to Stay in this beautiful Villa going by the strong reviews from the other visitors. We stayed in Ubuntu Beach Villa and Lantern Boutique Hotel for 7 nights and must say that we were absolutely blown away by the beauty of the Villa, it’s wonderful beach and view, its location and above all by the hospitality of its staff. The rooms were of great aesthetics, kept spotlessly clean; the swimming pool was nicely located and kept very clean and the food was delicious. Saranga and Sameera were serving our breakfast and dinner with great care. The Resort Manager Iftikhar Amith was always personally looking into our comfort during our stay. He went to the extend of offering us Complimentary dinner set up right on the beach on our last night. You can’t ask for more. If you are in Mirissa and looking for a Villa with a stunning view away from the crowd with some great service, this is surely the place to be. We will surely come back here again. 10 out of 10 without any question!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amith I, Manager at Lantern Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 Apr 2020
Dear Navera, Greetings from Lantern Boutique Hotel! Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your kind comments and generous appreciation of the property and its services. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am delighted to note that we were able to make your visit memorable. Thank you very much for your compliments about our teams attentiveness and the fact that they were able to delight you with their thoughtfulness, kind and caring nature. It is always our endeavor to provide wonderful experience to our guests and these comments would encourage us to provide the services consistently to all our esteemed guests in future as well. I have shared your encouraging feedback with my team specially Saranga and Sameera. They are certainly an asset to our organization. Thank you for your special compliments on the food and the variety that was served to you. Once again, thank you for giving perfect rating and for recommending our unique property to other travelers and we look forward to your continued patronage and welcoming you back to Lantern Beach Collection for a yet another exciting moment with us. Thank you Warm Regards Ifthikar Amith - Lantern Beach Collection and Reveal the Beach House.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Irish couple in Sri Lanka wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Like everyone who books a hotel I always go through the reviews, I genuinely can't see how this place does not get 5 stars all round, it's absolutely stunning, as per it's name it's a Boutique hotel with 6 rooms, ours was massive, overlooking the Indian Ocean and the pool. It is picturesque, with a private pristine palm beach and incredible food, the best we had in Sri Lanka. I see a lot of Europeans saying the menu is expensive, come off it, for the quality of what you're getting and the setting it's absolute value (around €13 for a main), the Sri Lankan curry, tuna, grilled fish, all amazing. The staff are so nice and go above and beyond.

The price is on the high side, if you can afford it, stay here, if not then there are hundreds of other places in Mirissa but you will not do better.

If there was any complaint, maybe ensure that guests get a sunbed or cabana, we did find that people from the other hotels (which are cheaper) would take them.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ifthikar_Amith, Manager at Lantern Boutique Hotel
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Greetings from Lantern Boutique Hotel! Thank you very much for your heartfelt review of the overall experience you had with us at Lantern Boutique hotel during your stay. We are indeed delighted that you have found our services to be exceptional and my team to be extremely hospitable. Further we are happy to note that you were impressed and enjoyed the view, spacious room and location of the hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding Sri Lankan authentic dishes at Lantern @ 71 Bistro and Bar. I have shared your compliments especially with my Executive Chef and the rest of my team as it is sincere comments such as yours indeed motivates my team to achieve higher levels of service. Once again, thank you very much for your generous compliments of your stay and we look forward to your continued patronage and welcoming you back to Lantern Beach Collection during your next visit to Sri Lanka. Thank you Warm Regards Ifthikar Amith - Lantern Beach Collection & Reveal the Beach House.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Capt. Mohan Pragasam wrote a review Dec 2020
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The stay at the Lantern was Excellent. We had booked it for 3 Nights and Four Days, Full Board Basis, from the 09 Dec to the 12 Dec. On arrival the Greeting was Excellent and the Staff was fully trained with the Covid Protocols. The Rooms were Excellent, fully Sanitised, clean, comfy, cosy and taste fully decorated. The Environment & Ambience was Excellent. The Food was Fresh, Clean, Delicious and absolutely tasty, served to all of COVID Health Protocols thanks to Chef Todd & his Demi Chefs who did a very good job. The Front Office was courteous & charming, less to say the beautiful, smiling face of Pramodya, who was always willing to help. All the Restaurant Staff & Stewards, were real nice, professianl, charming, friendly and courteous, specially Steward Saranga, who was very helpful. Overall Excellent Stay, thanks to the Courteous & Efficient Management of Ifthikar, who made sure that we were looked after and kept very comfortable.
A very big Thank You to all of you who made our stay, Cosy, Comfortable and Nice.
Looking forward to another stay in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Top Suite with Balcony is nice & relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amith Ifthikar, General Manager at Lantern Boutique Hotel
Responded 4 Jan 2021
Dear Capt. Mohan Pragasam, Greetings from Lantern Boutique Hotel! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am delighted to note that we were able to make your fourth visit memorable. Thank you very much for your compliments about our teams attentiveness and the fact that they were able to delight you with their thoughtfulness, kind and caring nature. Your encouraging feedback about overall experience is deeply appreciated and has been communicated to all the members of our team including Pramodya and Todd. Compliments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service to our valued guests. Once again, thank you very much for your outstanding review regarding your overall experience and we look forward to your continued patronage and welcoming you back to Lantern Beach Collection for a yet another exciting moment with us. Thank you Warm Regards Ifthikar Amith - Lantern Beach Collection & Reveal the Beach House.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aeshan wrote a review Jan 2021
10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lantern Boutique Hotel was a one of a kind experience that we enjoyed. Set in the beautiful beaches, this hotel has it all for your tropical excursion. We booked in teo nights with the Ocean Suite. The staff was very helpful and friendly and Mr. Gayan was in touch from the time of booking till the day of checkout.

Staff was very well rehearsed and adhered to the health protocols of the contemporary. Temp checks, masks, distancing, sanitizers, baggage sanitization and everything A to Z was taken care of.

We were ushered to the suite which was very beautifully set, very spacious and was set exactly as pictured and more, as shown in their website. Toiletries and linen were very fresh and sanitized. A nod to healthy safe keep: tablets of Vit. C. The balcony gave a beautiful view of the sea.

The Staff made it feel like home. They were helpful, friendly, and very polite. They even took the effort to set us a specially arranged table by the beach for a romantic dinner. We were served by Mr. Saranga, Mr. Dilan and Mr. Ruwan. Top notch service, nothing amiss.

The Food: Compliments to the chef!! The food was exquisite. The flavors of the tropical beach none lacking. We tried the full board menu(à la carte) and they also offered their snack menu for more open options. The seafood pizza and the pasta was our favorite with the seasoned pork chops close behind.

The Open Bar was a nice touch. The bartender Mr. Ruwan is a pro in his work. The cocktails were wonderful to sip, while enjoying the sea breeze and sounds of the waves.

Overall it was a marvelous experience. The hotel manager was very kind enough to grant us a late checkout. On the night before check out the staff arranged for a thrilling sky lantern event. Definitely a place worth staying to enjoy your holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amith Ifthikar, General Manager at Lantern Boutique Hotel
Responded 23 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Greetings from Lantern Boutique Hotel! Thank you very much for your outstanding and detail review of your recent stay at Lantern Boutique Hotel and we value your constructive comments, generous compliments and recommendations. We sincerely thanking you for genuine effort taken in expressing your memorable experience at Lantern Boutique Hotel quite in detail. We always strive to maintain our service standards ensuring each guest has a truly wonderful experience while staying with us and positive feedback such as yours is always the best reward for our team. We will certainly be sharing your compliments with the entire team. Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding on our room, location of the hotel as well as our food offerings at Lantern @ 71 Bistro and Bar. Further, We are privileged to have exceptional bartenders who are passionate about their craft, and love hearing guests enjoying the wonderful cocktails at Bistro Bar. It is indeed a pleasure to note that, you have impressed with our romantic dinner arrangement along with surprised fond farewell with thrilling sky lantern event. Once again, thank you very much for your heartwarming review regarding your overall stay and my team and I are so proud to have been a part of your memorable holiday experience and we definitely look forward to welcoming you again for another unforgettable journey at Lantern Beach Collection. Thank you Warm Regards Ifthikar Amith - Lantern Boutique Hotel & Reveal the Beach House.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry D wrote a review Feb 2020
United Kingdom216 contributions134 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service, rooms,bathrooms,staff,food,views,pool are all excellent. But as others have mentioned the noise levels are unacceptably high. Most of the problem is due to poor architectural design. The hotel is sandwiched between a very busy and noisy road (the Sri Lankan’s drive on their horns) and the ocean, on a fairly narrow strip of beach. The road noise could have been attenuated by careful design, but inadequate protection and the silly notion of incorporating high level louvres with cheap thin roofing sheets allows the noise (and light in the mornings) to penetrate the rooms. We used ear plugs but were still awoken by the morning traffic. An additional problem is the open stairwells facing the road. These things can be fixed with the input of a good acoustician. The views from the terrace of the ocean are superb, but I get the impression that due to the slope of the beach it’s often far too dangerous to swim. Mirissa is a 400LKR tuk-tuk ride up the main road with some nice restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amith I, Manager at Lantern Boutique Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Dear Guest Greetings from Lantern Boutique Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you during your recent trip. We highly appreciate your comments on our food, rooms, view, staff and service - it means a lot to know that we contributed to making your stay a pleasant one. However, we regret to hear about your disappointment about the disturbance from the road noise and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you faced during your stay with us.. The comfort of our guests is of paramount importance to us, so we particularly regret that you were inconvenienced. We appreciate all your comments, as they are tools to uplift our standard of service and improve in specific areas. Your comments are well noted, and we will take this up with the high management to better improve the areas mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back at Lantern Beach Collection and hope you will notice the areas you pinpointed will be greatly improved upon by your next visit. Thank you Warm Regards Ifthikar Amith - Lantern Beach Collection and Reveal the Beach House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
snifsla wrote a review Jan 2020
St. Petersburg, Russia24 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We happened to come back to this hotel after unpleasant experience in Unawatuna. Ubuntu welcomed us as friends and we were happy to finish our vacation here - in peace and atmosphere of relaxation. So we have stayed in all of their 3 properties before New Year and after. And all 3 times we were completely satisfied.The staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is tasty. Whatever we wanted to change in the recipe was done. We asked not spicy and it was absolutely not spicy, we asked to make special dish for a child and it was done. Included breakfasts were very nourishing and tasty. Everything is very clean. I am very picky in terms of cleanness. Here I was satisfied 100%! Clean rooms, bathrooms, toilets in public areas, clean tables. I saw them washing plastic tents, roof of the restaurant. The sun beds are kept sweeped and covered after sunset. The wall was painted twice during a week because of some water flowing down the roof. So if you are keen on cleanness and tasty food don’t hesitate, go! The views are amazing! The have 3 properties. To swim you should take the shore of the main with restaurant. We swam a lot, it’s not dangerous. Life hack: get fast into water and swim where it’s already deep, it’s calm at the depth. And to get out wait for 3 high waves to pass and run quickly to the shore. Though kids it’s better to use some swimming equipment! Our 10y old daughter swam joyfully in swimming circle. If we return to Sri Lanka it will definitely be Ubuntu beach villas by Lantern! Special thanks to Sameera (the waiter), managers at reception and all the team!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ifthikar_Amith, Manager at Lantern Boutique Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Greetings from Lantern Boutique Hotel! Thank you very much for your heartfelt review of the overall experience you had with us at Lantern Boutique Hotel during your stay. We are indeed delighted that you have found our services to be exceptional and my team to be extremely hospitable. I am pleased to note that your experience at Lantern Beach Collection met your expectations and that you had a pleasant time with us. It is always our endeavour to provide the finest hospitality and service in line with the standards of Lantern Beach Collection.I have shared your compliments with my entire team who delighted you with their warm service as it is sincere feedback such as yours indeed that motivates my team to achieve higher levels of service. Thank you for your special compliments regarding our Sri Lankan and Western food served at the Lantern @ 71 Bistro and Bar. Our executive chef and his team delighted to read that you were very much impressed with their delicious offerings. Further, we are pleased to note your overwhelming comments regarding our high standards of cleanliness and we were able to give you a comfortable experience of Lantern Beach Collection and your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to provide an exceptional and memorable experience for every guest. Once again, thank you very much for your overall rating and we value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to the Lantern Beach Collection for a yet another exciting moment with us. Thank you Warm Regards Ifthikar Amith - Lantern Beach Collection & Reveal the Beach House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam wrote a review Apr 2022
16 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I stayed here for two nights at the end of our two week holiday to Sri Lanka. It was a delight. The hotel was small (only six rooms-all very spacious and decorated to the highest quality) and had a very personal touch. The staff couldn’t do enough for us. On our first evening, just as the sun was setting, two members of staff caught our attention whilst we were on our balcony. They had some turtles from a local hatchery and were inviting us and the other guests to release them into the sea. This was a wonderful experience.
We found the whole hotel incredibly clean and well cared for. The room staff created an elephant and a swan out of towels and placed them on our beds and surrounded with petals-so beautiful!
The rooms were well equipped with a variety of toiletries, with the added bonus of bath robes and slippers. There was also tea making facilities, with a good selection of flavoured teabags and coffees.
The food here was fantastic-one of my daughters and myself are coeliac and therefore have to be very careful on how our food is cooked. The chef and other staff were so helpful and all our food was cooked separately. We absolutely loved our couple of days here and would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mervin Ravindran, General Manager at Lantern Boutique Hotel
Responded 20 May 2022
Dear Guest, Many thanks for choosing to stay at the Lantern Boutique Hotel and for the valuable time taken in sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to note that the facilities, location, food, and our personalized services offered have all met with your expectations and glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your appreciation has been passed on to the team members concerned, as for certain it would be a motivational factor for the entire team in us strive to always deliver the best. hence please note that the Babby Turtles which you did set free was from our own Hatchery which is in our Property at the Becah House. We greatly appreciate your patronage and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at the Lantern Boutique Hotel, during your next visit to Sri Lanka in the near future. Regards, Mervin Ravindran Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charmaine S wrote a review Dec 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka44 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All the rooms over look the sea which is quite nearby and makes it all the more beautiful especially when sat on your private balcony or the restaurant. There are lovely swinging canopies on the beachfront which are great for lazing around ...
The service is very good and the staff very attentive. Check in was quick and hassle free.
Being a private 8 roomed property, everything you needed to access is quite nearby and I personally liked this.
The resort Manager Mr Amith was very friendly and gave us an insight into the hotel business and the issues they faced under the current situation. He particularly mentioned that his staff remained on the property to minimise exposure to the possible threat of Covid which was comforting to know. Ruwan was extremely helpful and offered suggestions on food possibilities outside the menu.
All in all we had a lovely three day break, well rested and energised.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amith Ifthikar, General Manager at Lantern Boutique Hotel
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Dear Charmaine Greetings from Lantern Boutique Hotel! Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for posting a remarkable review and the comments confirm our efforts in creating memorable experience for our future guests. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience on that your stay with us and appreciate your valuable feedback on our staff, location of the hotel as well as our services and food offerings. Your sentiments have already been passed down to the entire team who have taken special care to make your stay a memorable one Thank you once again for your review and for your patronage and we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us. Thank you Warm Regards Ifthikar Amith - Lantern Beach Collection & Reveal the Beach House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katecambridgeshire wrote a review Jan 2020
Serta, Portugal109 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautiful hotel in an amazing setting.
Situated about a mile out of Mirissa ( which is very noisy - busy) the Lantern Boutique Hotel is an oasis of calm.
The rooms are large & airy with balconies overlooking the beach. Bathrooms are well designed and supplied with toiletries.
Food was wonderful, well cooked & presented to a very high standard.
There are only a few rooms so there is a high ration of staff to guests.
It really is the staff, however, that make this place so special. Such lovely, helpful, smiling people -( I won't list them incase I miss anyone !) They were all amazing. Thank you for making our stay so special & enjoyable.
I can't recommend the Lantern Boutique enough.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amith I, Manager at Lantern Boutique Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear Guest Greetings from Lantern Boutique Hotel! Thank you very much for taking the time out to post such a detailed and thoughtful review about our unique property. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I'm delighted to note that we were able to make your visit memorable. Thank you very much for your compliments about our teams attentiveness and the fact that they were able to delight you with their thoughtfulness, kind and caring nature. Your encouraging feedback about the overall experience is deeply appreciated and I have shared your compliments with my entire team who delighted you with their dedicated service as always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service to our valued guests. Once again, thank you very much for your positive sentiments on your overall experience at our hotel. We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to the Lantern Beach Collection for a yet another exciting moment with us. Thank you Warm Regards Ifthikar Amith - Lantern Beach Collection & Reveal the Beach House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kamburugamuwa area.
PRICE RANGE
£178 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceMataraKamburugamuwa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LANTERN BOUTIQUE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Lantern Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Lantern Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Turtle Point (1.6 miles), Coconut Tree Hill (1.6 miles), and Mirissa Beach (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lantern Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Lantern Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Lantern Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lantern Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lantern Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lolami Cafe, The Natural Earth Company, and Layback Rooftop Café, Restaurant & Bar (part of Layback surf camp).
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lantern Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Lantern Boutique Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Lantern Boutique Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Lantern Boutique Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Kamburugamuwa.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lantern Boutique Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lantern Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Tamil, and Sinhala.
All Kamburugamuwa HotelsKamburugamuwa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KamburugamuwaHotels near Lantern Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire