Valley Farmhouse B&B
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Valley Farmhouse B&B

Butts Road, Westhall, Halesworth IP19 8RN England
Traveller (132)
Upstairs bedroom in luxury suite
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 1 B&B in Westhall
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated near to Southwold , Aldeburgh and the heritage coast, forming part of our Grade II star Suffolk farmhouse we offer 3 unique rooms/suites in a tranquil setting close to Southwold and the coastal places of interest eg Dunwich, Walberswick, Snape The. Tudor Suite with its own private entrance set on two floors both heavily timbered. The drawing room has SKY and a blu ray library, wood burning stove, cosy large sofa, all wood supplied to keep you toasty warm, the vast bedroom has a super king sized four poster bed, a roll top bath situated in the original fireplace, triple aspect with views over the rolling Suffolk countryside and the farmhouse courtyard. The Superior four poster room is a large heavily timbered room with king sized four poster bed, double aspect with view over the Suffolk countryside and farmhouse courtyard this room has a substantial en suite bathroom with feature huge roll top bath, original oak floors throughout. The family suite set over two floors has a magical upstairs room with a double french bed, the other bedroom has a double bed, feature fireplace, double aspect with views over the garden and courtyard, there is a dining room and with sofa, dining table and a fully equipped kitchen with cooker, fridge, microwave and toaster. There is also a bathroom the bath and shower over. All rooms come with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury robes, towels and bed linen, designed bath products, hair dryer and lots of additional touches to make your stay special. Our farmhouse breakfasts are prepared using many of our own farm produce including rare breed Glos Old Spot pork sausages and bacon, eggs freshly laid by our rare breed chickens and home made bread. We can offer children the farm experience collecting eggs in the morning and feeding the animals. We also provide horse and carriage drives and can collect guests from. Brampton rail station which has a direct link to London Liverpool street, please ring for details.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Private check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Clothes rack
Microwave
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
98Reviews0Q+A24Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 2
  • 0
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joanna wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We first stayed here Oct 2019 for a couple of nights and were so impressed. This time 5 nights. We stayed both times in the amazing Tudor Suite. I can’t gush enough about just how stunning it is. The welcome from the second we arrived through the door was wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble for Clair and Phil. The attention to detail as well keeping our surroundings covid safe is a credit to them. When you’re away it’s nice to have a cooked breakfast at least once. ValleyFarm is so good I’ve managed three (Diet starts on Wednesday). Already working on the next visit! ❤️❤️
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Surreygal wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 3 nights in the Tudor Suite at Valley Farm and loved every minute of our stay. The accommodation is full of character and delightful touches provided by the hosts, Clair and Phillip. Breakfasts were delicious and to enjoy them overlooking the lovely garden was a wonderful bonus. The setting is peaceful and beautiful and we've already booked a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Loobie2008 wrote a review Sept 2016
Norwich, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the most amazing stay at Gypsy Hollow. This wonderfully relaxing, unusual place by far exceeded any expectations we had (even though we weren't quite sure what to expect!) We loved the ambiance, the peace and quiet and the uniqueness of this special place.
Philip was the perfect host, discreet and thoughtful....from the marshmallows to toast on the fire to the fluffy gowns, the fantastic home-produced, home-cooked breakfast, the gift of freshly-collected eggs as we left....I could rave on and on. Thanks also to Clair who we didn't meet but who was (according to Philip!) behind the thoughtful touches!
We can't wait to go back!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jasine wrote a review Sept 2017
London, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
my wife organised this for my 60th birthday,she booked it via the internet which was really misleading as when we arrived the owner Philip was really nice but on reflection it was not as nice as it seemed on his website,we handed over our hard earned cash,all £366 for three nights stay,what a mistake,i cannot believe the good reviews this place has got,because we are harden campers but this was very cramped,dirty and just not worth the £110 per night,so the next morning i asked for our money back,as we did not have any bikes either and the local pub is shut down,so bit by bit it was seeming more off putting.So i asked philip for our money back but agreed to forfeit the first night as we had stayed after all but wanted the other two nights owing back so we could stay elsewhere but all he would give back was £130 as he said he needed to keep one night as we were leaving early,we were gutted,not worth taking him to the small claims court,although we are still considering it,lesson learned,LOOK BEFORE YOU BOOK AND PAY,YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ValleyCWD, Owner at Valley Farmhouse B&B
Responded 22 Oct 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Gypsy Hollow. What a shame you did not enjoy your stay with us. We work really hard to provide a private site with acres of private land for your own personal use. There is the wagon an authentic Gypsy caravan, the summer house and a fully fitted kitchen and jacuzzi spa room, we can't understand how you found the facilities cramped. Perhaps the gypsy caravan was small for you both but it is a traditional gypsy wagon and unfortunately if you wish to stay in one these this is their size! The local pub did close last year, we don't advertise this pub on our website. The other local pub is a mile away, closer than the one you that is closed that you chose to go to, Details of this and manly other good eateries just a mile or so away are in the guest information pack in your kitchen. In line with the policy for payment we offer a full refund if someone cancels seven days prior to their stay. We have many hundreds of excellent reviews. The cancellation policy is there to ensure that as a business we cover the costs of lost business in the eventuality that someone arrives and they find the site is not for them. We are sorry you were not happy with this arrangement but I did go against our policy for cancellation and we did refund you for a full day even though it was impossible for us to fill that night at such short notice and this was against our normal policy as we do not want anyone to go away unhappy. We would encourage anyone reading this review to read the website details thoroughly before booking especially if it is a surprise for someone.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet N wrote a review May 2017
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There was a surprised birthday booked for my husband the family were booked in Southwold we were all meeting up at Sutherland house.I booked 6 months in advance with booking.com at the time of booking I requested a shower due to back problems I don't use a bath also booked as it said no dogs allowed ,allergy problem.I also booked free cancellation.At 9.05pm on the day we could no longer cancel free of charge I got a call from the owner.Telling me there were no showers only baths he thought it better we cancelled as in his words "did not want us going there complaining and causing trouble".Shock did not cover it he was very abrupt and no apology I said I would have to think about it you have just spoilt my husband's special birthday surprise as he was sitting next to me and heard every word.Before we had time to talk about it booking.com called us to say the owner had phoned them and he did not want to be sued as Valley farm was dog heaven and it would be better for us not to go.When we explained the true reason of what had happened he was very cross said we were a very good customer over several years had booked all over the world and would tell the owner he could not treat us this way.
By now it was clear he had doubled booked when he could have told us about the shower when we first booked not wait until 5 days before we book in.Very nasty thing to do by now we did not want to stay there and a family member gave up their booking in Southwold.The least you could have done was admit your error and apologies which you never did.
Having read your reviews they all sound the same maybe they are friends of yours.I hope this is a warning to anyone booking at your B & B.Take care as your booking could be cancelled 5 days before you go.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ValleyCWD, Owner at Valley Farmhouse B&B
Responded 4 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Unfortunately you booked a room without a shower. Unfortunately you cancelled the day of arrival which makes it very difficult for us to fe book the room hence having a cancellation policy with Boooking.com which you would have been made aware of at the time of booking, also the description of the room, which we have checked, clearly states it has a huge roll top bath - no shower. We did offer you alternative dates in the room with a shower but unfortunately you did not take us up on this offer which is outside our cancellation criteria as we always go that extra mile to ensure our guests are happy. There was no issue of double booking. You clearly booked the white room which has a roll top bath, you did not book the family suite which has a shower so I do not understand why you believe this to be a double booking. When we saw your note requesting a shower we straight away called you to reiterate the room you had booked did not have a shower. The comment that other reviews are left by family and friends is implausible, please check out the 252 reviews on Booking.com. We don't have that many friends or family members 😀
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mthmth2017 wrote a review Aug 2018
Maldon, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Be prepared to be told one thing, but receive another.
Be prepared to have the lights turned out at 11pm by the proprietor (that actually happened!)
Be prepared to have your breakfast ruined by the awful atmosphere caused by the proprietor (that actually happened!)
If you can play the piano, the sign on top of it says 'Please do not play the piano at breakfast times.. other guests may still be sleeping ' it should read ' Don't play the piano at any time... especially if you are playing Faure, quietly, at 16:30.
The actual building and location are great...
Good luck!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The bath is in the fireplace in the bedroom in the Tudor Room.. If you like to bathe in private,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Saffie43 wrote a review Feb 2018
Maldon, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a weekend away at Valley Farmhouse and stayed in the Tudor Suite. It was so warm and cosy. Phil and Claire made you so welcome and all the extra touches we perfect. It was also very touching to have our breakfast in our own drawing room. The breakfast was very nice with fresh eggs and produce. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scorps21 wrote a review May 2016
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a romantic celebration and couldn't have been happier!

The Tudor Suite is fabulous! A large drawing room downstairs with large sofa, TV, plenty of dvds etc, & your private breakfast table.

Up a twisting staircase to the wonderful bedroom ... with a magnificent four poster bed and roll top bath in the fireplace! A great use of space (a beautifully compact Powder Room houses loo & wash basin).

Clair & Philip are superb hosts, giving a lovely welcome and tour of the accommodation. Lots of little treats, luxury toiletries and thick fluffy towels & robes.

Having spent the day in Southwold we brought some nibbles to enjoy in the evening to make the most of our one night stay! So glad we did as we didn't want to leave!

Breakfast was delicious (pre-ordered the evening before) & served by Philip in his Chef Whites. Locally produced sausages & bacon, & eggs from the farm ... unbeatable!

A truly great find, and will hopefully be back for our next celebration!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosieg157 wrote a review May 2016
Braintree, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night at this beautiful, quirky b&b and immediately wished we were staying for longer.
The Tudor Suite was amazing! Full of character and more than we could have wished for.
I have never stayed in anywhere that can compare to this and we both felt very spoilt by all the little treats...that were there, just for us.
The roll top bath was a real luxury to soak in and I felt like a princess...with my glass of bubbles too.
Thank you to Philip and Clare who were perfect hosts and made our stay so memorable...we will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Littlestarr99 wrote a review Nov 2015
Banbury, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were visiting my parents for the first time after they moved to Bungay (a small village 15 minutes away). We have four children and they couldn't all stay at my parents, so we needed somewhere with a family room - something apparently quite rare in Suffolk/Norfolk it would appear. Luckily, we found Valley Farmhouse! We were quite late arriving and it was dark, so we didn't get to see the lovely building from the outside until the next day, but inside it's cosy, quaint and quirky - fabulous!

We had the family suite, which had it's own kitchen, dining area, huge main bedroom and an upstairs bedroom for the kids (which had a double bed). The bathroom had a bath with shower over it and there was plenty of space. The rooms are traditionally furnished and there's lots of nice touches like sweeties, robes and slippers. As well as nice toiletries, biscuits and bread (there was a toaster) and plenty of tea and coffee.

We didn't spend a lot of time there after check in, as we were visiting family, but came back late (which wasn't a problem) with two tired children in tow. We'd already given our breakfast choices and booked a nice lazy breakfast time of 9:30am - which was perfect. The boys were very impressed with the suite and were really looking forward to their breakfast. We weren't disappointed! There was plenty of choice with cereals, juice and a nice pain au chocolat, as well as the amazing full English! Most, if not all, of the fried breakfast was sourced at the farm itself. Delicious, freshly prepared, plenty of it and served with a smile.

Phil and Clair are super hosts, inviting us to come and see some kittens that were on the farm - which was a highlight for the boys. We also had a tour of the barn with the horse carriages which are used for trips and had it not been such miserable, muddy weather we could have had a much better look around and seen all the livestock.

The house itself is beautiful, with crooked beams and wonky floors - all adding to the charm and character. Just mind your head on those beams if you're slightly above average in height!!

We felt at home, comfortable and looked after. So thank you Phil and Clair, we will be back and next time will bring the girls as they were most disappointed not to see the animals!

Karen, Lynt, Ben and Charlie :)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Kevin drake wrote a tip Dec 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I should say any room"
Read full review
cliffboggis wrote a tip Apr 2019
Barking, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for the room with the large sofa in the lounge"
Read full review
mthmth2017 wrote a tip Aug 2018
Maldon, United Kingdom7 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bath is in the fireplace in the bedroom in the Tudor Room.. If you like to bathe in private, don't book the Tudor Room."
Read full review
Casterbridgeclan wrote a tip Aug 2018
Upwey, United Kingdom25 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tudor Suite"
Read full review
PastorSJ wrote a tip Jun 2018
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spend more time here than you planned to!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Westhall area.
PRICE RANGE
£127 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkHalesworthWesthall
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VALLEY FARMHOUSE B&B - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Valley Farmhouse B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Valley Farmhouse B&B?
Nearby attractions include Oasis Camel Park (2.8 miles), Beccles Lido (4.8 miles), and Henstead Exotic Garden (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Valley Farmhouse B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Valley Farmhouse B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Valley Farmhouse B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Valley Farmhouse B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old School Coffee, Easytiger Beccles, and Graze At The White Horse.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Valley Farmhouse B&B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Valley Farmhouse B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Edmund's Church (8.1 miles), St Peter, Wenhaston (5.1 miles), and Walpole Old Chapel (5.3 miles).