We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Historian Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Historian Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Long beach
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We wanted to go to the famous "Candy Dance" but we're having difficulty finding a dog friendly hotel. We were pleasantly surprised to find the Historian. We have stayed at dog friendly hotels and were very disappointed. Alas here is one that takes pride in cleanliness. Thank goodness , we will be able to come back here with our dog...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LongbeachRock
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I don't know about other rooms but our room, #214 was very nice. It was a large 2 Queen beds, nice comfy chair, table with 2 chairs, micro-wave and small fridge. Nicely decorated. Large bathroom area. Nice flat screen TV and other little touches. The staff at check-in was very pleasant and helpful when we needed him. We did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elenita D
Carson City, Nevada
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is my second time I have stayed here there was a thick layer of dust on the microwave in may room. I was supposed to stay for 4 days but an emergence with my dog, so I had to leave a day early, but still charge for the room. I will not stay here again the because of dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hex1478
Management response:

A clean room is paramount in our industry. I am so sorry for the dust on the microwave. I have re-trained because of your review. Thank you for the feedback. Regarding your stay, we have several GREAT RATES which are HIGHLY DISCOUNTED and therefore, non-refundable at the time of purchase. This is the case with your booking, as outlined on...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 27 September 2016

After reading the reviews we were very hesitant to stay here. Upon arrival the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was very clean and we appreciated the upgraded floors. Saturday morning breakfast was a disappointment, but we were told that this was the first time they did a serve yourself. Sunday morning breakfast was literally a direct result of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparkles57x
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! We are working to train all staff! It is a constant endeavor, and your review is a reminder of that which we appreciate! Our breakfast is as we advertise: "Light and Healthy". Currently a choice of oatmeal or yogurt parfait. You are correct...

New England
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Been over a year since I had the opportunity to revisit The Historian. The upgrades to the rooms are just great. Although a lot of new staff, the excellent service and support to make this stay as outstanding as the past ones. Of great improvement was the WiFI which was lacking at times in the pastThe local area still stacked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gryphonskymaster
Management response:

THANK YOU for taking the time to share your great experience. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to hosting you again!

Monterey, California
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The cost of the Motel was high, over $169.00 per night and the rooms were awful. We did not notice the Shower being broken until the morning after since we arrived late and when we went to complain they told us there was nothing they could do.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eli G
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Room was dirty, carpets were terribly stained, there was no soap in the dispenser in the shower. We stayed here through a time share thing we bought and it was a nightmare. We were charged for 2 rooms when we only had one. I would not recommend this hotel. Wi-Fi does not work in room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alyssa H
New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days. I was surprised how nice the rooms are inside. It looks like there was recent renovation. The rooms are large, especially if you get the suite. The price is very reasonable. There is a small refrigerator and microwave. There is a leather chair and couch. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RalphWinn
Reviewed 28 July 2016

location was great, rooms were clean. staff went above, i can be picky and difficult especially after long hours of travelling but Kristi ( not sure spelling) went out of her way to ensure that I was calm and satisfied. Thank you !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
CleHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Historian Inn, responded to this review

THANK YOU for your gracious comments - we will pass along the Kristi Kudo's and hope we can host you again soon!

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Had the most amazing time here! Staff was so friendly and recommended the Basque resteraunt across the street (JT Basque Bar & Dining Room) which was also amazing by far! After dinner we spent a night in watching movies and headed to Tahoe the next day! The room is beautiful and spacious with a cabin-like feel. The wood floors and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Positivelybri

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardnerville
1.5 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
222 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
19.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
66 reviews
5.3 mi away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
20.2 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated rooms and great service in the heart of the Carson Valley! Pillow top beds, luxurious linens, flat screen tvs, movies on demand, complimentary wireless and pet friendly.Just steps to shopping, dining (JTs is just across the street!), world class recreation. Call for Pet Availability Corporate and group rates available, ask about packages and discounts! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Historian Inn

Address: 1427 US Highway 395 N, Gardnerville, NV 89410-5228
Region: United States > Nevada > Gardnerville
Price Range: £70 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Historian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Historian Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from highway”
 of 5 bubbles LongbeachRock, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“#214 is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 186elenitad, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“First floor. Stay away from room 219!”
 of 5 bubbles sparkles57x, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“On the major weekend evenings, it can be noisy til mid-night.”
 of 5 bubbles gryphonskymaster, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away.”
  • Broken Shower 2
  • Broken Shower
 of 5 bubbles 615elig, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay