We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

La Mer Beachfront Inn

Show Prices
#17 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

643 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 638: English reviews
Start your review of La Mer Beachfront Inn
 Click to rate
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have been visiting Cape May for decades and have stayed in dozens of hotels, rentals and B&Bs in every season of the year, so when I saw that it was going to be a freakish 65 degree weekend in February I began searching my third-party websites for Cape May weekend deals. Found one that put me at La Mer:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I wanted to give a higher rating, because it really was a nice place with a beautiful view. But the noise and aromas from the construction negatively impacted our stay so much that I could not give more than a poor rating. We were really unhappy that we had a non-refundable booking and were never notified that multiple construction projections...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank karaf874
marakis, Owner at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize the construction impacted your stay. Unfortunately, in order to improve our property and overall guest experience, construction was necessary this winter. In order to make up for your poor experience, I personally made sure our management tram reached out to you privately to offer you a credit toward a future. Again, I profusely apologize for the construction...

Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We were in Cape May for the weekend to see the Christmas House Lights Tour. We had a wonderful time. The hotel was perfect, plenty of restaurants and shops were open and Congress Hall was still celebrating 200 years. The houses/B&Bs were decorated beautifully. We had so much fun visiting so many and learning a little about each one. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pamc1234
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Hooray! We love a 5-star review. We agree, too, that the winter season is so FUN and relaxing. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon.

Poquoson, Virginia
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Admittedly, my stay was in December, and I was working early and late, so most of my Beach view was in the dark, but this is a beautiful property - they have modernized it, and is is clean and has nice amenities! Full disclosure- there IS a road between the hotel and the beach, but it does not mar the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cruiser42VA
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Yay! We love a 5-star review. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed our modern property and hope to see you again!

Reviewed 28 November 2016

The location was great with its ocean view from the balcony. The Pier House has both great service and food. It was so convenient to cross the street and walk down to the ocean. My husband and I had a great time for a well deserved getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback! We are so pleased to read you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

My wife took me here for a night. Clean hotel good parking. Great location for the beach. Would go back again. One down side furniture in room was a bit beat up, small complaint. Other then that it was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elvisou812
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. As for your feedback, we will be certain to share your insights with our team in regards to the furniture. Again, thank you!

Loudoun County, Virginia
Reviewed 10 November 2016

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at La Mer and both times the rooms have been comfortable and clean. They are modern rooms with a mini kitchen (microwave, sink, fridge). We didn't have much contact with the staff, but the with the little contact we had the staff was friendly and helpful and check in was quick. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank awonderland2016
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Yay! We love our repeat customers! Thank you so very much for the generous review.

Southern N J
Reviewed 8 November 2016

we stayed at La Mer and had our Herb Society of America District meeting there. It was awesome. The views from the rooms were very beautiful. The rooms were clean and spacious! The meeting room was nice and the staff went out of their way to make everything work for us. Valerie was the lady who helped us and she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripleoaks
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

"Awesome?" Love it! Thank you so very much for the super review. We will be sure to let Valerie know she went above the call of duty, too. Thank you!

Springfield, Ohio
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Loved our large ocean front room, extremely spacious with well equipped kitchen. Staff very friendly and informative. Went in the fall of the year for bird watching and really enjoyed the experience. We'll be back again. The only negative was the price. It was shared 3 ways on our trip, but for a family it is rather expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjanie2015
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

We love a 4-star review! We are thrilled to read you found your room extremely spacious and well equipped. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon.

El Cajon, California
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Cape May is lovely and this hotel is right across the water from the ocean. The most important thing for us in any hotel stay is that the rooms are clean and this room was clean and well maintained (and well equipped). We were disappointed with the hotel in regards to their customer service, though, as the wi-fi was down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cristina W
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. As for your feedback, we will be certain to share your insights with our team in regards to the WiFi. Again, thank you!

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
1,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We invite you to stay with us and enjoy the luxurious comfort and seaside serenity at La Mer. • Spectacular oceanfront views• Private balconies• Granite wet bars w/ microwaves and refrigerators• High-speed internet• Heated pool with sundeck• Outdoor gas grill• Elevators• On-site laundry facilities• Personal safes • Multiple telephones • 40-inch LCD/DVD Televisions• Business Center • Banquet rooms• Off-street, covered parking• Beautifully landscaped grounds ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Price Range: £127 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mer Beachfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront
La Mer Beachfront Inn Cape May, New Jersey
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Mer Beachfront Inn staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Pennington, New Jersey
10 months ago
Lockport, New York
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from La Mer Beachfront Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask not to be placed near construction”
 of 5 bubbles BarbC326, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“To save money we did not have an ocean view but during the winter it wasn't needed. Every room is beautiful with a small kithenette.”
 of 5 bubbles pamc1234, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view with balcony was great”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a room with a side beach view. It was less expensive than a full beach view, but still a good view of the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles awonderland2016, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Everyone in our group of 70 was very pleased with their room.”
 of 5 bubbles tripleoaks, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5