We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Airport Hotel Inn and Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Airport Hotel Inn and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 358: English reviews
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

1.The female that checked me in was horrible. When I got to the hotel around 10:30pm FINALLY after 5 calls were made from the airport regarding the shuttle bus that never showed up for over an hour, the lady knew immediately who I was. She told me the shuttle bus runs every 15mins. Wrong and FAILED! 2. She asked me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mychie02
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Mychie02, Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. I do apologize for the problem our staff has caused you. We look forward for a general orientation soon so we can better our services to our customers. Know that your voice is very important to us and we are addressing each of the concerns...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here due to a layover in jersey at the airport, it was cheap, close and had free shuttle. What we didn't know was that it was next door to a night club, in the hood, and that there would be sketchy people outside in the parking lot all night. Would not recommend for families to stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mac26170
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests and your comments are enlightening and revealing. We hope that everything turned out alright and we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Easton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 11 October 2016

I booked to stay one night and park 9 nights at this hotel. When I arrived they wanted to overcharge me and I declined and said I was canceling my reservation. Although the behind the desk personnel did not have a great comand of the english language I made myself very clear and he said ok. I also called the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Arlene J
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Arlene J, Thank you for completing our guest satisfaction survey and letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We also hope that you will be...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

I was in a hurry to do sleep/park/fly and booked two rooms prior to our flight as the price was good. Upon getting there and seeing the place from the outside, everyone in my party balked about how bad it looked. So embarrassing for me. The front window was cracked and masking taped, looked like sheets on the window for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mwils0n06
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear mwils0n06, Please accept my sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. I ensure you that what you experienced is not acceptable, and we will take immediate action to identify why we failed so we can prevent these issues from occurring again. We hope...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Before booking this so-called hotel, I have never felt so dumb in my life. This place is so filthy and the rooms are terrible. I booked the hotel for three nights but left in rusg on the second day. We simply could not stand so much dirt in our place of lodging. The stairways had broken steps. The community is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hessamshafeiam
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear hessamshafeiam, Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. Your concerns regarding the level of cleanliness and outdated condition of the facility will be addressed accordingly. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have...

Spanish Fort, Alabama
Reviewed 22 September 2016

I'm sorry but there's no other way I can describe it. My husband and I stayed there one night when we were desperate to find lodging at the last minute. We thought it would be okay, but as soon as we saw it from the outside, we knew it was bad news. Once inside our room, it got worse. As...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank _jerryewrites
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear _jerryewrites, We appreciate that you've the time to rate Airport Hotel Inn and Suites hotel and to explain your experience. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests and your comments are enlightening and revealing. I am so sorry to hear that you did not feel safe during your most recent stay with...

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

So the pictures are a bit deceiving. ..the place is run down, no doubt...looks dumpy from the outside...but for us it was more than adequate. We had a 13h layover in newark and didn't want to stay at the airport so we booked this because it was the cheapest and closest. Call the front desk for airport pickup, they are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaraSGrozik
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear LaraSGrozik, Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter to...

Pocora, Limon, Costa Rica
Reviewed 22 September 2016

A total rip off. Its filthy. Don't even think of going here. Better to sleep on the chairs at the airport. I stayed as my flight was canceled and many places were full. I would rather walk the streets than stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Daniel S, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our accommodations and services and that our rating for your experience is so low. It's important for us to impress our guests and your comments will make this goal that much...

Kibbutz Bror Hayil, Israel
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We got stuck at Newark airport late at night Liberty weekend on our way home to Israel. Virtually all the hotels - certainly those that we actually tried - seemed to be fully booked. At last we did find rooms at the above. In their airport advert they described themselves as a two-star hotel offering included breakfast. We were three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kibbutz
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kibbutz, Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Know that your voice is important to...

State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 August 2016

sincerely i would rather spend the whole night sitting in the airport than staying at this hotel, if it can called a hotel at all! i'm still wondering if the room was actually cleaned before i got there.. anyway, i didn't have the courage to undress myself and after i got back home, i threw away what i was wearing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank penny204
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our accommodations and services and that our rating for your experience is so low. It's important for us to impress our guests and your comments will make this goal that much more attainable. It...

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
1.2 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.6 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#4 of 13 in Elizabeth
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Airport Hotel is the premier place for guests to stay on their venture into New York and New Jersey. Guests will find getting to and from Newark International Airport is easy with our 24hr complimentary airport shuttle that runs every 30 minutes. Conveniently located just four miles away from the "city that never sleeps," the hotel offers easy access to famous New York City attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building. UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall. Downtown New York City is 20 minutes from our Newark hotel. Times Square, Central Park and the Met are less than a half-hour away from Elizabeth, NJ. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Inn and Suites

Address: 853 Spring St, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2101 (Formerly Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Price Range: £58 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Hotel Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Budget Places and Priceline so you can book your Airport Hotel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newark International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Econolodge Hotel Elizabeth
Econo Lodge Newark Airport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Airport Hotel Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Location: Absolutely nothing to do nearby. TOO worried about safety to even consider going anywhere there.”
 of 5 bubbles Mychie02, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do Not Stay. It looks nothing like the picture on line. It's awful. Management is rude.”
 of 5 bubbles 0arlenej, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose only the rooms with wooden carpets”
 of 5 bubbles hessamshafeiam, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not highly recommended for choosey or fussy travellers”
 of 5 bubbles Kibbutz, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles Centrehouse, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay