Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Glenegedale Guest House Islay

Glenegedale House A846 hwy. Port Ellen, Glenegedale PA42 7AS Scotland
Traveller (453)
Dining (113)
Room & Suite (50)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 1 B&B in Glenegedale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Booking Direct Always Guarantees The Best Rate.Situated midway between Bowmore and Port Ellen, Glenegedale House is the only Five Star Gold accommodation by both Visit Scotland and the AA on Islay has a prominent position with uninterrupted breathtaking views over the Mull of Oa and out to the Atlantic. Glenegedale house boasts lovely, individually designed, en-suite bedrooms. Sumptuous fabrics, roaring fires and beautiful antiques evoke a sense of luxury and indulgence. There are a wealth of books, maps and local tourist information for you to browse through and Emma and Graeme are very happy to help plan your day to make the most of your time on our beautiful island of Islay. Graeme and Emma were delighted when Glenegedale House was awarded the most Hospitable Bed and Breakfast in the West of Scotland by the prestigious Visit Scotland Thistle awards panel, showing their commitment and passion to providing a personal and memorable experience for every guest.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Boating
Canoeing
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
791Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 774
  • 10
  • 3
  • 4
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lucy S wrote a review Sept 2020
Bramhope, United Kingdom35 contributions29 helpful votes
This is our fourth stay at Glenegedale Guest House and it just gets better. There's a reason why Emma and Graeme have won so many awards! From the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome with tea and cake (delicious). Rooms are spotless and comfortable with all the little extras you need. The views over to the sea are wonderful! There's plenty of space downstairs to relax and chat and Emma and Graeme are always happy to help with ideas and suggestions of places to go and things to do. We ate at Glenegedale twice during our visit and the seafood and meat platters are superb, sourced from local and regional suppliers and include a homemade delicious dessert and a good choice of wines to accompany it.

Emma and Graeme are taking every measure possible to keep you safe during the current pandemic, frequently cleaning common areas and touch points, donning a 'ghostbusters' style spraying kit to keep soft furnishings disinfected and wearing masks throughout.

Breakfasts continue to be magnificent with homemade porridge or granola, fresh fruit, preserved fruits, a huge variety of cooked breakfast options to pick from and freshly baked muffins or cakes every day - walks down to and along the (mostly empty) beach become mandatory to be able to fit into your trousers! I can't recommend this place enough - go and find out for yourself.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have a view over to the sea.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Clark, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House Islay
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Lucy, Jon, Catherine and Tracy we always love having you stay and love the happy time you have on holiday with your daily adventures. Thank you to all of you for keeping rescheduling to make sure you were able to come once the lockdown was lifted. We were delighted to see you all. We are so thrilled that even after all these visits we can still help you have a magical time on Islay Haste ye back Graeme and Emma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mr T wrote a review Aug 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom32 contributions38 helpful votes
We came across a cancellation at Glenegedale during our week off and we’re lucky enough that we were accommodated.
We had difficulties with our travel arrangements but Emma went the extra mile and beyond to make sure we could get there. We are grateful that she did because we had an amazing week.
The B&B is located close to the airport with Bowmore and Port Ellen short drives. There is a nearby beach “the big strand” which is beautiful and often deserted.
The B&B is immaculate. The house is beautiful and well kept with a slight vintage charm. Emma & Graeme are very welcoming and we were very comfortable in their company. They have a lot of knowledge of Islay and were able to give us excellent advice and ideas on how to occupy our time there.
You would be forgiven for struggling to drag yourself out of the cozy bed, but once you do you are rewarded with one of the best breakfast experiences you will encounter. The dining tables are laid out with the attention to detail that the hosts pride themselves with. The dishes and silverware are beautiful and compliment the surroundings of the room. To start we were offered porridge and shown how it is best topped whilst on the island (I won’t spoil the surprise). You are also offered a cooked breakfast of choice, with high quality ingredients including eggs from the hosts’ hens. You are also offered granola, homemade jam & marmalade, and fruits. Everything served is perfect. They are extremely generous but you don’t need to worry about waste. Any scraps are fed to the animals. We took our freshly baked cupcakes with us to have later in the day, but there is an honesty box with a selection of cakes near the house. What we tried was delicious and you will find it hard not to treat yourself.
Graeme and Emma could not have done more to make our holiday the best it could be. Our stay at Glenegedale House will be remembered for all the right reasons. It is a fine example of how guest accommodation should be.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Clark, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House Islay
Responded 9 Sept 2020
damiano504 thank you both for such an amazing review. When I shared on our social media pages for Glenegedale House the fact that a different guests had moved their stay date forward by several months it meant we had effectively had a cancellation for our seaview room for four evenings and we were delighted that you managed to escape to Islay for three of those evenings. I was so happy you got in touch when you were having issues with the ferry as I was able to work with our fabulous ferry committee and the staff in the office at Kennacraig and get you on the sailing of your choice which meant you have three full fabulous days on Islay with sunshine too and that isn't even mentioning some fabulous whisky tastings and tours....or famous male actors ;-) We are delighted you had an amazing break away from home on Islay and thank you for taking a chance and staying with us. It is truly people like the two of you chasing to stay that will help the tourism sector survive. Thankyou Haste ye back Graeme and Emma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tatters5 wrote a review Aug 2020
5 contributions4 helpful votes
My boyfriend and I stayed with Emma and Graeme for 2 nights in early August. It was our first 'escape' since lockdown, but we couldn't have chosen a better place for it! We felt very safe throughout our stay - breakfast and dinner were spaced out very safely and hand sanitiser was provided at the entry point of every room. Even the guide books were fully sanitised between uses!

Even more importantly (to us!) we felt like we had a proper escape with the fresh air and dreamy views from Glenegedale. Sunset in front of the sea was beautiful - as was the seafood platter!

Couldn't recommend Glenegedale enough - will be spreading the word to friends and family! Thanks again to Emma and Graeme

Ciara and Keiran
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Clark, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House Islay
Responded 23 Aug 2020
thayes123 thank you so very much for this amazing review of Glenegedale House Islay and what we do here. As we own, run, live and breathe Glenegedale House this really does mean the world that you enjoyed your stay and most importantly felt safe, cared for and enjoyed your stay in these funny times. Islay is a truly magical place and it feels so far removed from the reality of what is happening and it means that everyone can escape and feel slightly normal yet enjoy their precious holiday time and hard earned money while being safe and nurtured with the finest of our local produce and the most amazing sunsets. We are so happy you enjoyed your seafood platter. As you know it is delivered to us form a local fisherman and his wife ready for us to prepare and they are so amazing at giving us the very best and most beautiful scallops, lobster, crab, langoustines and there's always a few other treats on there too. We hope to see you again soon and keep safe and happy. Haste ye back to Glenegedale House Graeme and Emma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francis C wrote a review Jan 2020
15 contributions13 helpful votes
Once again I have had the pleasure of staying in Glenegedale House. Sadly once again I was on the island due to work.
Before I start with what will likely be umpteen compliments,the only “bad thing” I could say about the place is the outside maybe could do with a lick of paint,but for all I know,I maybe gets done on the regular and due to the adverse weather,it takes a bit of a beating and makes the place look weathered......
Anyhow,enough of that petty thing,cause this place is awesome.
The whole building inside is is decorated to a high standard and fits the property amazing and is that clean,I think they put stuff on the floor to clean your footwear,as I never seen a bit of dust or dirt.
Graeme and Emma are great hosts. I got a courtesy call from Graeme to see when I would like to check in and was greeted at the door by Emma,who showed me around the place again.
Was a rather miserable day,weather wise and me and my work colleague were a bit drench and Emma couldn’t have been nicer in offering to dry any clothing we wished to be dried. I honestly can’t compliment them both enough.
The space downstairs is of a good size and rather cosy,with a great view out towards The Strand beach.
Our room was all you need. Like the rest of the house,spotless and by god,the bed was comfy.
Finally it’s time to talk breakfast.
The last time I stayed,I never got to try the local way to have your porridge,but this time I wasn’t missing out. I’m not a porridge fan,nor am I whisky fan,both to my dad’s disappointment ha. Sadly the porridge,cream,brown sugar and whiskey wasn’t to my taste,but you gotta at least try it.
Anyhow,I was never going to go hungry,as the fried breakfast was fantastic and cooked to perfection. There is also the funky way the fruits are served up and the homemade jam and not to forget,Emma’s freshly baked muffins,which taste slightly better than they smell(that is a compliment,as the smell is frighteningly good)
If I’ve not convinced you by now to try book in here,then I may as well stop typing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma C, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House Islay
Responded 31 Jan 2020
francisc538 thank you so very much for such an amazing review. It really was lovely to see you back again. It was lovely to get the chance to look after you again on such short notice and due to the weather being so awful that day but I am afraid January in Scotland can bring us the most stunning days with amazing sunrises and sun sets or the wildest days that we get to sit in front of the fire watching the waves crash against the Mull of Oa with a dram of your choice or cuppa with some home baking but unfortunately due to having to work this wee luxury wasn't given to you this time. I will absolutely agree with you the house needs painted and it was planned at the tail end of last year however due to a family illness then bereavement we lost the month that was planned however I wouldn't change the time that Graeme got to spend there with his Dad for a minute. That said as soon as the weather is suitable for painting the pressure washed, sealer and paint is in the barn ready to rock. The joys of having to put the sealer on and within 12 hours get the whitewash on will be fun times. On sunny days you don't notice the need at all but on dreich wet days like you were here it shows every little bit that's not whiter that white on the exterior. the joys of living next to the Atlantic we get the most amazing views but also beaten when its wild. Anyway that said as you know the interior never misses the painting jobs and is happily perfect and I am so so glad you enjoyed it again. We do love to make sure you get the best treatment and the best way to start the day is a good breakfast and I am delighted you enjoyed that. Haste ye back to Islay Graeme and Emma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Baptiste G wrote a review Aug 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom49 contributions48 helpful votes
We came to Islay for 5 nights and could not have had a better stay, largely down to our hosts, Emma, Graeme and their family, and the wonderful accommodation and hospitality they provide at Glenegedale.

Even before we arrived Emma had already been so helpful, from the website we saw a number of activities listed and inquired about these, Emma checked with other businesses on the island as to what would be on offer for us and helped us to make arrangements. On arrival we were greeted with tea and cake, fresh from the oven, while being provided with a host of materials to help us plan our trip.

The food was simply incredible, perhaps the best breakfast I've been offered anywhere. Fresh baked goods on the table every morning, homemade bread, a selection of poached fruits, homemade granola, not to mention the rest of the full and varied breakfast menu, we were also grateful to be introduced to Islay porridge!

There were also the evening options of charcuterie and seafood. We had the charcuterie plate one evening with a selection of Scottish cured meats and cheese but the seafood platter was something truly special and hands down the best meal we had during our stay on the island. Freshly landed langoustines, crab, lobster, hand dived scallops, salmon, together with homemade oatcakes and bread- this was local produce showcased at its absolute best and all of it cooked to perfection.

The location of Glenegedale was also perfect, literally overlooking the airport and 10 minutes from the ferry. However the airport isn't what you might initially think, it's right next to the beach with a few small planes landing through the day, which would not disturb you. From the house you are also just over a mile walk to a 7 mile stretch of beach, perfect for a swim, where you never saw a soul.

Given the ongoing pandemic we also felt entirely safe with all the measures put in place at Glenegedale House, such as the hand sanitising stations and social distancing measures. This had clearly been well considered and planned and despite having these measures they also never felt too intrusive.

Emma went above and beyond to help us and made our trip to Islay truly special and unforgettable. Nothing was too much trouble, from booking tables and checking for us which attractions were back up and running, to all the personal little touches which make such a big difference. We will definitely be back and wouldn't stay anywhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Clark, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House Islay
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Baptiste we absolutely loved having you both stay. You were a breathe of fresh air. Staying so soon after lock down was lifted we were anxious to make sure we were doing everything perfectly while not compromising the guests experience. Your kindness and patience allowed us to take a few extra minutes while preparing everything to make sure it was just perfect for you both while every safety measure was put in place. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay and we cannot wait for you to come back and see us again soon Kindest regards Emma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joolsmcc wrote a review Oct 2020
Doha, Qatar30 contributions15 helpful votes
I visited Glenegedale Guest House travelling solo for 3 nights and had such a lovely experience there. The location was ideal, mid way between Port Ellen & Bowmore. I had my own car and parking there was no issue. Islay airport is opposite too, so perfect if you arrive by the Loganair service or you need to collect a hire car. That said, it's very small and noise was of zero issue. The views from the house are perfect and if you take a 10 min wander from the front door, you'll be on the lovely quiet beach to catch the sound of the waves.

Emma & Graeme were the perfect hosts, their communication before I arrived was really responsive, the safety measures for guests were very visible and clear. When it came to checking in, I was made very welcome and met with a cosy sofa, tea and homemade brownies, perfect!

I stayed in a twin room which was ideal, plenty of space, the decor was lovely and a sea view from my en-suite.

The Glenegedale breakfast was AMAZING! You'll see from other reviews I'm sure too! I loved the attention to detail, the tableware and of course the food. When I managed to finish each day, I left with a daily treat of Emmas's home baking to eat that afternoon, joy!!

This was my first visit to Islay and both Emma & Graeme made sure I got the most out of my time there. They had great suggestions on what to do, routes to take and were also happy to make reservations for dinner and book any excursions that you wanted to experience.

Deserving of the awards they've won, I was sad to leave! I really look forward to visiting again and I wouldn't hesitate to go back to Glenegedale! Thanks again Emma & Graeme!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Clark, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House Islay
Responded 18 Oct 2020
joolsmcc thank you firstly for making the trip to Islay and staying here at Glenegedale House and more over taking time to write here about your time. Now more than ever we need guests like yourselves who are willing to support the local economy in a safe wonderful manner and it allowed you to also explore a beautiful part of the world. We are so happy you enjoyed yourself and managed to escape the world and just savour your time here. haste ye back very soon Graeme and Emma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HWellbelove wrote a review Mar 2020
Amersham, United Kingdom13 contributions6 helpful votes
My birthday trip to San Sebastián was cancelled owing to COVID-19, and we found Glenegedale House on a whim on Instagram. Emma and Graeme are the perfect hosts! The house is absolutely beautiful, with large, homely rooms, equipped with everything you will need (hairdryer, tea, coffee, quality bed linen, White Company shampoo and conditioner, etc.). We called ahead, and explained our circumstances, and Emma responded by welcoming us with a freshly baked cake on arrival.

We highly recommend the seafood platter, which is incredible and should not be missed.

Emma and Graeme planned the most amazing whisky and sightseeing route around Islay for us, which was perfect.

In sum, to highlight to you how caring and kind these hosts are, we came downstairs this morning to find that our wet boots had been left warming and drying next to their beautiful fireplace so that they were dry for the day ahead.

We cannot recommend Glenegedale House highly enough, and wish we could give it 6 stars.

Thank you,
Henry and Ellen
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma C, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House Islay
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Ellen and Henry Thank you so much for making your way to Islay and allowing us to help you make sure that Henry's birthday celebrations were not ruined. We so enjoyed helping create a magical Islay adventure even in the mayhem that was going on around the world. We loved preparing the freshest of lobster and seafood with chacuterie for you both. Thank you for being so kind with your words in a world where the hospitality sector is behind hit so hard and at risk our home as well as our business it meant to world to be surrounded by your infectious smile. Haste ye both back to Islay Graeme and Emma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dthebike wrote a review Mar 2020
Ledbury, United Kingdom33 contributions8 helpful votes
Spent a couple of nights and felt at home immediately. Lovely furnishings and super comfortable rooms are topped by the wonderful, warm hospitality you get.Our daughter was invited to see the hens and ponies out the back and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a revelation, with Islay porridge, topped with brows sugar cream and whisky. We opted for their platters on the last night and they were truly special, with carefully chosen local and ethically sourced goodies. Staying at Glenegedale was a real treat. Thank you Graham and Emma.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma C, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House Islay
Responded 18 Mar 2020
DonaldH we loved having the four of you stay and hear all about both your daughters and the lives they are embarking on. I am so happy you enjoyed the all we have to offer and that we were able to share the charcuterie and cheese platers with you. haste ye back to Islay Graeme and Emma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pam67 wrote a review May 2021
Glasgow45 contributions47 helpful votes
What a wonderful place to stay on Islay. Graeme and Emma are super hosts and know intuitively how to make your stay relaxing. We stayed in room 1 which was immaculate and beautifully furnished. The sunrise in the morning was spectacular.
On arrival were we greeted by Graeme who showed us to our room and invited us to have coffee and a large slice of chocolate brownie in the downstairs lounge.
As the weather on Islay was fabulous, Emma suggested we go down to the nearby stretch of beach, she gave us cups of ice for our gins and a picnic blanket to sit on. It was just perfect.
We had pre-ordered a seafood platter for dinner. It was beyond our expectations. Langoustines, crab and lobster landed just over an hour before we sat down and the scallops were hand dived around 6.30pm, we ate at 7. We’ve never eaten fresher seafood. The platter was served with delicious homemade bread and oatcakes. To follow Emma presented us with a lemon possett and heart shaped shortbread, again homemade.
After a very comfortable night’s sleep we went downstairs for a breakfast that will last you all day.
Delicious porridge served with a dash or more of Laphroaig and a sprinkling of brown sugar complimented with an array of fruit including poached pears, plums, various berries and tasty granola made by Emma. This was all followed by a full Hebridean for my husband and for me, poached eggs, avocado and smoked salmon on sourdough bread with a side helping of hollandaise sauce.
We only wished we could have stayed longer at Glenegedale House.
Thanks to Emma and Graeme for a wonderful stay and to Millie’s hens for the delicious freshly laid eggs we brought home with us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Clark, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House Islay
Responded 4 Jun 2021
Pam67 Thank you so so much for this AMAZING review. Graeme and I loved having you stay and so happy you got to enjoy the Islay sunshine. We are delighted you enjoyed all we offered and thank you for choosing to eat and drink here from our wine list and gin list. We need folks like yourselves who will help us all recover We do hope to see you again soon Haste ye back Graeme and Emma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
InverclydeDad wrote a review Mar 2020
Inverclyde, United Kingdom39 contributions42 helpful votes
Sadly when I visit Islay it is for work and usually hectic but on the plus side we get to stay in this "gem" of a place. We are generally out working all day but it is a boost when you know at the end of the day you are coming back to a spotlessly clean room to unwind. The breakfast is fantastic. Fresh fruit, porridge, scottish breakfast and a bit of home baking thrown in. The standard never drops. Wholeheartedly recommend. Hope to be back in the not-so-distant future
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma C, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House Islay
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Incerclydedad thank you so very much for writing your review. We are always delighted to have you stay. Your kind words mean the world thank you Haste ye back to Glenegedale soon Graeme and Emma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Pointman_FL
Orlando, Florida38 contributions7 helpful votes
I believe this question is best addressed to the owners. Our room (for my wife and me) was very comfortable but would not have supported a third person.
Answer from Emma C
Islay, United Kingdom19 contributions20 helpful votes
aww Hi Martin We would love to say yes as we are completely doggy daft however due to all the new cleaning regulations we are saying no to allowing dogs in the main house however we do in our self catering cottage. What dates are you thinking? Kind Regards Emma
Show all answers
Answer from Western Travel Gal
Calgary, Canada71 contributions40 helpful votes
If you let them know in advance, they do have a seafood dinner option that can be made upon request (I think 24 hours notice is required). They are most accommodating, and so I expect if you asked about food options there via email, the owners of the B&B would let you know about a range of things.
Show all answers
Answer from Emma C
Islay, United Kingdom19 contributions20 helpful votes
Good morning unfortunately we are not able to offer accommodation as we are fully booked for the dates requested
Show all answers
Tordis B wrote a tip Oct 2023
Bulli, Australia66 contributions14 helpful votes
" If you fly in you will need to hire a car or book local taxi services. Pre-book restaurants and any distillery tours and other activities."
Read full review
Mckenzie W wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
"Plenty of parking, watch out for the sheep. The Lussa gin and tonic perfect pour is wonderful. But do not miss the breakfast!"
Read full review
Scott C wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
"Come hungry! The food is awesome and plentiful."
Read full review
511sallie wrote a tip Jul 2023
Melbourne, Australia60 contributions74 helpful votes
"you must have a car to see the Island- location is just out of Port Ellen- not walking distance"
Read full review
Trip08852473070 wrote a tip Apr 2023
Valrico, Florida1 contribution1 helpful vote
"Very convenient location across from the airport. Highly recommend booking Bodach Taxi so you can enjoy the distilleries! Arthur is the best"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glenegedale area.
PRICE RANGE
£184 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandThe HebridesIslayGlenegedale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GLENEGEDALE GUEST HOUSE ISLAY - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Glenegedale Guest House Islay
Which popular attractions are close to Glenegedale Guest House Islay?
Nearby attractions include Three Distilleries Pathway (4.6 miles), The Ardview Inn (4.5 miles), and The Blue Letterbox (Port Ellen) (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Glenegedale Guest House Islay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Glenegedale Guest House Islay?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Glenegedale Guest House Islay?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Glenegedale Guest House Islay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Glenegedale Guest House Islay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sea Salt Bistro &Take Away, The Islay Hotel, and The balaclava byre.
Does Glenegedale Guest House Islay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.