We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson North Bergen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson North Bergen
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 372: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson North Bergen
 Click to rate
Boone, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our daughter lives in NYC, but hotels are so prohibitive there. At this Howard Johnson we are literally 15 from her door and love the convenience of free parking and close proximity.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salim C
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Howard Johnson North Bergen. We appreciate your feedback, We are so happy that your stay with us is a pleasant experience and we will be looking forward to welcome you back soon! Regards, Chaitali Gandhi GM

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Yarmouth, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went with my mom to this hotel, And I was trying to get a cheap stay for new year's eve Howard johnson is not too bad, the reception was very smelly, the sheets were short and the bed not very confy but that's what I get for a ok price in a hotel next to NYC 2 women from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jopema12
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay at Howard Johnson North Bergen hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,...

Paterson, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank timothyg597
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

New Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rafaelmN6753EL
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Temple, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 733jesuso
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

West New York, New Jersey
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Not a nice place to stay at all, room looks super cheap- microwave from an old era, with center plastic piece melted. Bath tub clogged when tried to get a shower. Sofa bed had no linen, were supposed to be in " the closet" per sign there, but never found any additional linen in the room. Toiletries also cheap, and...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aliciavic
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your very concerning review.I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. I will look into each issue that you have noted. Once again please...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Yes, it had waterbugs and mice and I was there for less than 6 hours and the manager was non sympathetic and would not refund me, had to take it up with corporate. Crappy Creepy Frankenstein looking Hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 41bridgetc
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review for Howard Johnson North Bergen. Your feedback is very important to us We apologized for the inconvenience you had. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. We...

Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Stayed in North Bergen because all the rooms in NYC we booked or overpriced at $450 per nite we had. 30 foot motorcycle trailer and they let us park it out front overnight at no charge. Rooms were small but all we needed complete with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and small safe. Bathroom was large and unlimited hot water very...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R5303BTpaula
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Howard Johnson North Bergen. We appreciate your feedback, We are so happy that your stay with us is a pleasant experience and we will be looking forward to welcome you back soon! Regards, Chaitali Gandhi GM

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Hotel was very dirty. Dirty plastic gloves on the bathroom floor. Corners of the bathroom was very dusty. Pillows smelled liked cat urine and we are allergic to cats. Was not a pleasant stay Overall a dirty hotel and will not be back EVER!!!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbrin0331
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay at Howard Johnson North Bergen. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Chaitali...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.7 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#2 of 8 in North Bergen
605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites North Bergen
Comfort Suites North Bergen
#3 of 8 in North Bergen
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
1,045 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
2.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson North Bergen

Address: 1300 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-1521
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Price Range: £76 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson North Bergen 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson North Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson North Bergen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson North Bergen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quiater room”
 of 5 bubbles bennymoralescayey, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Physically examine the room and ask for immediate change if not satisfied.”
 of 5 bubbles roopab316, 17 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Stay away from here. It is full of bugs”
 of 5 bubbles 317carolm, 21 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Want a decent room - stay at a different motel/hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 495michalb, 25 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Last time I got a room on first floor (very noisy) In my previous stay I got a room on the third floor, that was better”
 of 5 bubbles jazzcancun, 31 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5