We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes

31 Flame Crescent Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (93)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 32 guest houses in Jeffreys Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes is ideal for a surfer or family seaside getaway. Luxury self catering with nearby shops and restaurants. This well-appointed beachfront property, boats uninterrupted sea views from 5 luxury ensuite rooms and 3 spacious living areas with added extras to ensure a comfortable stay. Prime location on Supertubes with a great braai/bbq area. Soak up the famous Jeffreys Bay sunrises next to the worlds best right hand point break.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Bicycle rental
Massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
190Reviews1Q+A38Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 171
  • 14
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
JoeCBansteadUK wrote a review May 2023
Bracknell, United Kingdom498 contributions314 helpful votes
This review is relatively objective, this being my 16th road trip staying at 14 properties over a 39 night period. We stayed for 6 nights in March. Due to our previously booked property being totally unsuitable we ‘lucked out’ by being ‘walk ins’ at Shaloha. Welcoming, efficient staff and owner (Zandra) Off street, secure parking. Wow - from the street there’s no clue as to the quality of this property and the superb location. Internally welcomingly modern with a luxurious atmosphere full of character without being over sanitised/all stainless steel and glass. The spacious common areas are just so well equipped and relaxing. There’s a modern very well equipped open plan kitchen area (including a Nespresso machine) for self catering.The ocean view stoep is large and well equipped - if no one is braaing a fire is lit each evening. The first floor balcony has even better views. Our first night was spent in a garden view room, which was clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped to a very high standard. Top quality bed linen. Good shower pressure. Subsequent nights were spent in a larger first floor room with great ocean views from the balcony. Again, very high room standards. Good WiFi with an inverter to provide power during load shedding. Minutes walk down to the beach for excellent walks in either direction. Nina’s eatery and shops are a few minutes walk away. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Octopi78 wrote a review Jan 2023
40 contributions2 helpful votes
Welcome: Lovely friendly welcome from Prudence. Zandra was also great at recommending places for food. Room: Modern fresh decor. Everything you needed, lots of space and a lovely balcony with both sun loungers and table and chairs. The living area and shared kitchen are super clean and modern. We had a fire outside on our first night which was just wonderful. There were marshmallows to roast and port and gin on offer to try - a really nice touch. Big bonus was the filtered water on tap to fill up water bottles and the beach towels, umbrellas all on offer for guests to use. Stairs down to direct access to the beach. Probably won’t visit J-bay again but if we did we would come back here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mariska Staats wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We felts so spoiled with the beautiful and relaxing view and room. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The guesthouse made the perfect photos for my bridal party and I. We would recommend the stay to anyone. Anyone passing though Jeffreys Bay, this is a must stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sid wrote a review Nov 2021
Port Elizabeth, South Africa1 contribution
+1
Easy move in and stay. Proximity to the beach almost made it private. Jessica was a Gem!!! She was always there and available to clean up and offer us suggestions, whilst not being intrusive. The fire pit is the most amazing feature of the property. Jessica was an integral part of the whole experience as she always kep that furnace burning. What a lovely experience, we will visit this place twice a year so long as it’s available
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
danielswiss64 wrote a review Jun 2021
Chicago, Illinois1866 contributions262 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for one night. We stayed in one of the top floor rooms and the room was large and spacious with amazing views. We wish we could have stayed longer. The owner was very friendly and helpful and interested in making your stay enjoyable. The common areas are beautiful too. Breakfast was delicious. One thing I wish was changed was lighting in the room. It was very bright and glaring and took away from the romantic setting. Something that could be easily fixed with a dimmer switch.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes, General Manager at Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Thank you for your positive review and valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for that longer stay ;) Best, Zandra @ Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sue D wrote a review Oct 2019
8 contributions
Great place to stay if you love watching the waves and surfers. Easy walk to the beach and shops nearby Hosts were fantastic and accommodation clean. Rooms are very well decorated and attention to detail. Would highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zandra M, General Manager at Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Responded 14 Oct 2019
Thank you for your recommendation Sue! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us :) Kind regards, Shaloha Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bruce G wrote a review Aug 2019
Glenwood Springs, Colorado11 contributions3 helpful votes
Was a gorgeous ocean view and lovely facility. Caitlin was a welcoming host and gave a great recommendation for dinner. Hope to go back and spend more time in this quaint little town If laying by the ocean or surfing is your thing this is the place
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zandra M, General Manager at Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Responded 12 Aug 2019
Thank you for your wonderful feedback :) We appreciate it so much. Kind regards, Shaloha Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pat303631 wrote a review Jul 2019
Sao Paulo, SP171 contributions53 helpful votes
Positives: - Location: In front of supertubes with direct access to the beach. - Room: very confortable, spacios bathroom and great view. - Brackfast: very good - Staff: Very frindly, especcialy Cyntia and Zandra Negatives: - Weak wifi, but who needs wifi when we can watch the best surfers in the world surfing the best waves in the world? - Water heating: Not enought for the 3 of us
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Zandra M, General Manager at Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Responded 24 Jul 2019
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback :) We appreciate it so much. Kind regards, Shaloha Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jai8_London wrote a review Jun 2019
London, UK194 contributions218 helpful votes
Stayed at the Shaloha in March this year during loadshedding, which in itself was not a problem or the hotel's fault. But at the same time all the hotel guests discovered early in the evening that there was no running water, there is no permanent on site staff but we had a number to call (presumably the owner) who came by but wasn't able to do much except reassure us it would be back soon and go on his way (we later discovered that there had been some water repairs in the area which had caused the initial outage). We spent the night without water (no flushing toilets) and no power. The water had not returned in the morning and we raised this with the two ladies who come in for breakfast who took the attitude of doing nothing about it (again fine if they had more information). But during a stroll on the beach we got talking to guests from the neighbouring hotel who said their water had come back the evening before and that the outage was only brief. So we go back to hotel and had to ask for the employees to call the local water works to investigate. Turns out the water works had forgotten to reconnect this property back to the water supply but since no body at the hotel complained they obviously didn't know. Verdict - badly managed. Rooms are okay, the location and views are incredible and breakfast was really good - had there not been the water issue this place would have got four stars. The staff were otherwise friendly albeit very slow at check in.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zandra M, General Manager at Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Responded 24 Jul 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We always find it valuable to receive reviews from our guests. We are terribly sorry for the issue experienced during your stay, though it was extremely unusual and unfortunate events that occurred we always try to see where we can improve to maintain our high standards. We now have a much larger water reserve as well as immediate power back up which will prevent any similar instances from happening again. Our staff tried to maintain a relaxed environment among the stresses of the day and where of huge help from the late evening phone calls to the municipal emergency lines and alerting again early the next morning as instructed by the municipality until the problem was resolved. It is our ethos to make each and every guest stay wonderful and most importantly comfortable. We would love to accommodate you again showcasing our great hospitality that so many other guests have experienced, and return to again and again. All my best, Zandra @ Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ItinerantMedic wrote a review Apr 2019
London, United Kingdom40 contributions22 helpful votes
We only spent one night here but really liked it. It’s a two storey beach house just a few paces over some dunes to the amazing beaches of Jeffrey’s Bay, with direct views out to sea where there are surfers and dolphins to watch. Our room was simple but spacious and had a verandah overlooking the lovely view. The bathroom had a good shower but no bath. The public areas on both floors are also spacious and nicely furnished and open out onto a verandah and balcony looking out to sea. There’s a braai fire on the public verandah which was lit for us when we arrived and was cosy to sit around listening to the waves. Breakfast was served on the verandah and was very good. There’s a place called Nina’s for dinner only 5 minutes walk away with great food and a really friendly local vibe. Compared to most of our stays, value was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zandra M, General Manager at Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Responded 1 May 2019
Thank you for your positive review and mentioning how spacious the guesthouse is and the great value among many other wonderful comments. We appreciate it so much. Kind regards, Shaloha Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Jeffreys Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
£65 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeJeffreys Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHALOHA GUESTHOUSE ON SUPERTUBES - Updated 2024 Prices (Jeffreys Bay, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Which popular attractions are close to Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes?
Nearby attractions include Supertubes (0.05 miles) and Play in JBay Adventure Centre Day Trips (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nina's Real Food, Die Kospot, and Gisters Restaurant.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.