We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Royal Sheba Guesthouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Sheba Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 24: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the 4th time I have stayed at the Royal Sheba and the first time since change of ownership. The layout changes and new décor are very good and make the place more appealing. As usual, the rooms were very clean and tidy and the staff welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 35keitht
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The manager Chantelle was super friendly and helpful on our arrival. There is ample parking which was a plus as we traveled with a trailer and managed to get and in out without any trouble. Unfortunately we only stayed one night and had to leave early the next morning. Chantelle offered to pack a food parcel for us which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmandavanBiljon
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Hi Chantelle, what a nice place you guys have! Thanks for every thing especially the special cake you did for dessert. It came in handy as our one member had her birthday! And wow what a nice setup! We enjoyed the braai and pap en sous tremendously! Keep up the good work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wiebren V
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Royal Sheba Guesthouse. The manager Chantelle was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and the service was fast. We felt right at home we stayed in a lovely unit with a on suite bathroom. The place was very clean and the gardens were just amazing.We unfortunately only stayed one night.We are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlise R
Dawn G, Manager at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Charlise, It was a huge pleasure accommodating you. Thank you for your kind words. We strive to make people feel at home. Hope to see you both soon again. Kind Regards Chantelle

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Exellent view, next to town and place of interests. The staff is welcoming and loving.The rates are reasonable and rooms are clean, well designed. Puntuality is their style in terms serving meals such as breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mahlakoaneg
Dawn G, Manager at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We try to make people feel at home and keep our service at a high standard. Hope to see you soon again! Kind Regards Chantelle

Free State, South Africa
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Neat, clean, quiet ... just what we wanted. Real value for money. Breakfast ... very good! We will definitely recommend this venue ... in fact, we already made another booking! Nice and calm ambience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 243schalkv
Dawn G, Manager at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Mr Vosser, Thank you for your lovely review. It was a huge please and we are happy you enjoyed your trip to Mozambique. Hope to accommodate you and your family again soon! Kind Regards Chantelle

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

The fact that this is branded luxury is a misnomer. We had the garage rooms which were tiny, grubby bathrooms, no shampoos etc. One minute towel per person. Luxury, I would expect a hair dryer and filter coffee at least. No communal place in cold weather to sit with friends. Not at all what we expected. We were disappointed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donotwantascreenname
Dawn G, Owner at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

We do NOT have "garage rooms" at Royal Sheba. we do however have outside rooms witch is called Standard Rooms and not Luxury rooms. Normal size bath towels not sheets yes, but not minute...the smaller towels are called hand towels and is there for your hands not your body. We only supply soap as a welcome gift.. with a little...

Simeonovgrad, Bulgaria
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We received good friendly service, the room was comfortable enough. The breakfast was good. On booking it wasn't made clear that drinks and evening meals were not available at weekends, we found this out when we arrived on a Saturday, fortunately there are a few eateries nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T6898ATpault
Dawn G, Owner at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

On our website it states clearly we do not offer Dinners over weekends and also no Halaal. We do not have a restaurant on site so meals are planned before the time when booking is made and guests ask for dinner.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Spacious, comfortable and well-serviced double bedroom. Very friendly service. Nice breakfast.The security gate at the front door is out-dated and a bit difficult to operate. That should be replaced by something more comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plaasjapie1
Dawn G, Owner at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

Very good news!!! We fixed the door and it is operating perfectly now. The door is part of the ambiance of the old house. Thanks for your review we look forward to seeing you again.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Booked this guesthouse based on reviews posted by other guests. Not sure how this can be a 4star guest house based on the room that we stayed in, was really small and crowded with nothing special (other 4 star guest houses offer much more for the price we paid). Safe parking and good security. Breakfast was standard. Friendly staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anelle1110
Dawn G, Owner at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

Royal Sheba Guesthouse is NOT rated. We are not a 4 star Guesthouse and nowhere do we advertise that we are. The previous owner maybe did but the new owners of Royal Sheba and new website NOWHERE states that we are star rated. New ownership since March 2015 Kind regards

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberton
17.1 mi away
Piggs Peak Hotel & Casino
Piggs Peak Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Piggs Peak
43 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bushwhacked
Bushwhacked
#1 of 11 in Barberton
43 reviews
20.3 mi away
Dawson's Game and Trout Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jathira Guesthouse
Jathira Guesthouse
#5 of 9 in Barberton
3 reviews
24.0 mi away
Maguga Lodge
Maguga Lodge
#2 of 2 in Piggs Peak
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Humala River Lodge
#2 of 9 in Barberton
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience our tranquil homely atmosphere at Royal Sheba Guest House, offering guest house accommodation in Barberton. We offer you a luxurious, peaceful and secure stay in the famous town of Barberton, the “Gem of the Lowveld”. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Sheba Guesthouse

Address: 23 Bok Street, Barberton 1300, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Barberton
Price Range: £50 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Sheba Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Sheba Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are great!”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The outside rooms are perfect , quiet and luxurious.”
 of 5 bubbles charliser, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the larger rooms. I suspect that the smaller rooms have less luxury”
 of 5 bubbles Plaasjapie1, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles sunshine197506, 9 Jun 2014 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay