We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mont Rochelle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mont Rochelle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

435 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 382: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent two nights at Mont Rochelle as part of our honeymoon on 31st Dec and 1st Jan. Unfortunately upon arrival my husband was unwell but Elisme immediately notice and was on hand to help. We stayed in the Cabaret Room which was spectacular, with a lovely veranda and views across the valley. Despite my husband being unwell for much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wow - we were completely blown away from the moment we arrived till the second we left! A Cabarnet Room offered mesmerizing views from our private terrace, even from our twin beds! The staff couldn't do enough to make the stay an absolute treat! A special shout out to Peter who made us feel welcome from the second we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bevreus
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Bevreus, Wow indeed, we were blown away when we heard your wonderful comments so thank you for taking the time to share them with us. The entire team were beaming from ear to ear at your kind words, and Peter in particular was very touched to receive such a lovely personal mention. We can’t wait to welcome you back,...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were lucky enough to arrive here in the middle of a clear summer's day on 3rd January. It was a beautiful sight and we had a great welcome. We were early so we left our luggage and walked into Franschhoek to have a look around and have lunch before returning to our room. The room was a Merlot Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Robert E, Whilst it was fantastic to hear that you felt Mont Rochelle was a great property, I was disappointed to hear that the breakfast and some aspects of the service did not live up to your expectations. Please rest assured I have personally shared your valued comments with the entire team to help us improve in the future....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a picnic at Mont Rochelle as part of the wine tram experience. The venue is lovely and the food was great however the staff were terrible. No-one greeted you, no-one tried to assist, it took forever trying to get someone's attention so we could collect our picnic baskets. And once we finally did the man hardly had time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 760jennifer
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear 760jennifer, Following our recent correspondence I would like to take this opportunity to once again express my sincere apologies that you left feeling disappointed. I would like to reassure you that your valued feedback has been shared with the team to help us as we continually strive to offer the best service and experience to our guests. I very...

Petersfield
Reviewed 1 week ago

We moved here from another hotel locally as part of our honeymoon. Our welcome was outstanding and we were shown to a great room that was very spacious and included a separate sitting area and great views over the mountains and vineyards. The bed was comfortable and we had all the amenities you could want. The bathroom featured a large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PetersfieldChummers
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear PetersfieldChummers, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us following your recent stay at Mont Rochelle. Whilst it was wonderful to hear that you received such a warm welcome I was sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay fell short of your expectations. I would like to reassure you that your...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic personalised service from start to finish. Food is out of this world. Hotel will run you to Franschhoek for a small fee. Worth pre booking the private wine tour as this was excellent. Well worth a room upgrade (it’s not a huge amount more) to a Merlot or a Cabernet for guaranteed wow factor. Pool area is lovely.. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrisstore
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Chrisstore, We were delighted by your utterly amazing review and so wanted to thank you for sharing such wonderful words with us. The entire team were over the moon to hear your lovely compliments and how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recommending us; we hope that means we’ll be able to welcome you back one day...

Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Mont Rochelle is set on a hillside with a fantastic view over Franschhoek yet it is close to the town. The facilities are splendid with an excellent restaurant and delightful rooms. We stayed in a Cabernet room which was particularly well appointed and had a very private verandah on which to relax. in addition it came with a free minibar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Alexander D, Wow where to begin? Thank you so much for your amazing review! The entire team were delighted to hear your kind comments about the facilities, food and service and you had us blushing when we heard that you felt Mont Rochelle was one of the best hotels in Franschhoek. The best part of your review was hearing...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is possible that the hotel experienced a lack of staff or something to account for poor reviews during the New Years period. We recently stayed as a couple in the pinotage suite which was absolutely excellent. The staff were prompt, welcoming and responsive, the food at the restaurant was excellent (we compared to Petit Ferme and actually thought our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B H
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear B H, It is always such a pleasure to read positive feedback and we really appreciate you taking the time to share such a lovely review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would definitely recommend us; it truly does mean such a great deal so thank you. What we loved most about...

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's my first time in the Winelands, so unlike some other reviewers I have nothing to compare Mont Rochelle against. The location, views and property are stunning. We had a Pinotage suite which was beautifully appointed and very spacious. On the first night we ate at Miko, which we really enjoyed. Both the salmon and springbok were delicious. Onto the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CH0pps
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear CH0pps, Whilst it was a pleasure to welcome you and your partner to Mont Rochelle and to hear that you felt the location, views and property were stunning, I was disappointed to hear that some elements of your stay did not live up to your expectations. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to chat to you further about...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from our South African Christmas trip 2016. We stayed in various hotels which were beyond fabulous and we were were very much looking forward to staying at Mont Rochelle however we were very let down indeed! Our room was rarely cleaned with most days I had to call at 4pm in the afternoon to have it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

I was very sorry to hear of your recent experience at Mont Rochelle and that we sadly fell short of your expectations and you left us feeling let down. I would like to assure you that we really value the feedback you have taken the time to share with us and it has been passed on to the relevant teams...

295 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (290)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Other (149)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.6 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#4 of 11 in Franschhoek
260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
493 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: £205 - £655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mont Rochelle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Cabernet rooms in the Vinyard Wing are quiet and well appointed with excellent views”
  • View over Franschhoek
  • Cabernet room in the Vinyard Wing
  • You need not be alone in your bath
 of 5 bubbles AlexanderD398, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The suite was spacious and facilities were excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 715bh, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had one of the Merlot rooms on the first floor. Wonderful views, quiet, fantastic bed. We would think all the rooms are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles StAlbansExplorer, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I suspect rooms on the first floor have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles UKWarwickTraveller, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles tonywilson53, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay