We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

La Fontaine Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Fontaine Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 262: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated just a little off the main street in an ideal location for local restaurants and shops.Guest house is extremely well run by Cathy and her colleagues. Lovely gardens surround the property and the rooms are big, airy and tastefully set up. Our bathroom was enormous!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vin M
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and those kind words. After 16 years, with a good number of staff having worked with me during this time, I hope we have come to a winning formula but as always one must not be complacent as there is always room for improvement!! We hope that you and/or your friends and family...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at La Fontaine was pleasant, but neither here nor there. The staff friendly and helpful. Our room had a very musty smell, and the windows would not open. The room had an aircon, which is great and offered tea and coffee. The garden seems a bit untidy and needs some maintenance. The guest house is very well situated,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lara v
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The room you stayed in was in our Victorian section. The windows do open but when an aircon is in use it is better to have the windows closed to save energy. Regarding the garden, we are regularly cutting back the shrubs and bushes. We have just come through the spring season and with our...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Lovely guest house, clean, and welcoming by owner. Breakfast was excellent and was included in the rate. However we had a front room and it was bin collection day so very noisy. The street was also noisy, so my advice is ask for a quiet garden room at the back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter7685
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. In our street, Dirkie Uys, the traffic department has put up signs which forbid any trucks or buses to use this road. Unfortunately the rubbish trucks, which only pick up rubbish once a week, have to access this street to get to our wheelie bins. La Fontaine is centrally situated which is a...

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights . Breakfast was good and it's location to the Main Street was spot on for us. The house as 13 rooms but spread over 2 sites( one being next to the main house and some in separate rooms at the back of the house. Room advice. Avoid Vine This one is at the back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola K
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We have taken note of your concerns. We have recently replaced the blinds in the Vine garden suite so that they can be tilted to avoid people looking in. With the adjusting of these blinds, it does allow light in. This room faces the garden and swimming pool area and has a patio...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

La Fontaine guest house was the perfect location for exploring Franschhoek and the surrounding wine lands. The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgable of the area (we wouldn't have gone on the wine tram without their recommendation!). The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfasts plentiful. Will definitely stay there again the next time we go.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Sam Thank you so much for your review. The Franschhoek wine tram is certainly a good way to explore the wineries and it has the added advantage that you do not have the worry of drinking and driving! Local knowledge is best with us having lived in Franschhoek for 34 years and watched the area develop to what is...

Chelmsford
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We had a lovely large room which opened out to the swimming pool in the beautiful garden, but unfortunately we could not take advantage of it because of the inclement weather we had during our 3 night stay. The room was very spacious and comfortable but we had an unfortunate incident with the hot water tap over the weekend which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lampug
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very surprised you were unable to get hold of anyone on all the contact numbers given in your room information folder. We have an on site manager's number and both myself and my husband have cell phone numbers which we keep on for 24hrs and we can react within a few minutes for...

Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Lovely guesthouse...fabulous spacious room with access to terrace and views over hills. Friendly reception with helpful recommendations for dinner. Would like to have stayed longer.Bang in centre of Franshoek with easy access to restaurants and shops. Beautifully appointed room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. It is advisable to stay more than one night in this beautiful valley of Franschhoek which is situated in the heart of the winelands with easy access to Stellenbosch, Paarl and Cape Town. Although La Fontaine is situated close to the main street, La Fontaine is situated in a very quiet neighbourhood. The peaceful gardens...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We spent two nights here in one of many rooms situated in the beautiful gardens at the rear of the main house. The room was spacious, very clean, and very comfortable with a king size double bed and ensuite bathroom. Plenty of cupboard space, a television, tea and coffee making, etc. Breakfast in the main house in two rooms was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review on your stay with us at La Fontaine. We are very fortunate to be situated in a quiet location close to the main street, shops and restaurants. At this time of the year the gardens are full of colour with poppies, roses and all the indigenous plantings in the garden which attract the birds that...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We had visited this guesthouse in January 2015 and only stayed one night so on this trip, we stayed for two. After a lovely welcome from Kathie (who recognised us from our previous visit) and Sharon, we were shown to our room on the 1st floor of the house, no 2. There are garden rooms as well. A lovely large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana L
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review. It is always great to see guests returning to La Fontaine time and time again. 25% of our guests are either returnees or have been recommended by family and friends. We look forward to welcoming you once again on your next visit to Franschhoek. I have taken note of your comment regarding...

Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stayed at La Fontaine for a weekend. It is a very welcoming and charming place. Friendly staff, nice, spacious and cosy rooms, delicious breakfast, perfect location in a quiet street of Franschhoek but close to restaurants. Perfect then ! Thanks Kathie and Sharon !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pouline K
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. Location is one of the key elements to a successful business and here, La Fontaine has the ideal location; close to restaurants, shops, galleries etc. but yet able to provide a quiet, relaxing atmosphere. After this comes a warm, friendly atmosphere; helpful happy staff to offer you a special stay and a...

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.2 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#4 of 11 in Franschhoek
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 65 in Franschhoek
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 65 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
de Alchemist Guesthouse
de Alchemist Guesthouse
#15 of 65 in Franschhoek
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges, air cons. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome in the family units only. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: £72 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Fontaine Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a rear or garden room as o The street can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles peter7685, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was quiet and spacious. The orange garden room is perfect for a family.”
 of 5 bubbles 202dianal, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“the bacon at breakfast is excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles Warren278, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Lavender or Vine are both outside of the main house, and very comfortable and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles jackies609, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Wheelchair accessible room in Campbell - House.”
  • Plenty of space for two wheelchairs and easy access to the kettle.
  • Adjustable shower seat which I did not test.
  • Easy access to the toilet with grab rail.
  • No wheelchair access under vanity basin, but manageable if one sits side on.
  • Bathroom big enough for a party!
 of 5 bubbles 305Heidi, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay