We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Waterland Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Waterland Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

7 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 5: English reviews
Asunción, Central, Paraguay
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Tacked away in a part of Houtbay, Cape Town where there is lots of nature and peace. It's clean and comfortable. Very good for an extended stay or just over night. Not a typical hotel, more of a resort type place with lots of nature, view of the mountains and 2 minute drive from the beach and Houtbay waterfront. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Timo T
London
Reviewed 11 December 2010

if you want 5 star luxyry, this is not for you. For anyone else it is. Rooms are simple, yet complete with everything you might need. Complete for teh self caterer (although a good breakfast is available at a nominal charge - we had one) The personal touch is also welcome. The hosts are friendly and accomodating. Some things in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maurits_van_Eijck
centurion pretoria
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We are very easy people to please I paid my deposit of R1200 looking forward to a lovely holiday in Hout Bay and then we were showed the room, that's all it was, one very dirty small room The Mallard suite advertised by them on the website as one bedroom on suite, no such luck. It was filty to say...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dissapointed036
Management response:

Sorry for the poor experience. This business is now under new management and the property is currently being renovated.

London
Reviewed 16 July 2007

Despite the previous review, I took a chance staying here with my boyfriend for 5 days, and we thought it was great! We were looking for something simple, clean and affordable in Hout Bay and the Waterland lodge was just what we were looking for. It's not luxurious, but the staff are friendly, our room was supplied for self catering,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank seelemonde
UK
Reviewed 9 January 2007

It was very sad to see such a run down place with such potential - It was my third trip to Cape Town and looking at Waterland's Web site we thought that it was perfect for us (8 in total). When we arrived it was very clear that the place was not as suggested on the internet. The rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LosUK
waterlandlodge, Manager at Waterland Lodge, responded to this review

This party was very difficult. We have offered all guests updated and additional photo's on request. The electrics was the TV antenna cable! They complained of spider webs on the outside furniture. I had varnished it the previous day - this is Africa in summer and spiders spin webs quickly! I have independent witnesses regarding the so called dirt -...

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
0.8 mi away
Houtkapperspoort
Houtkapperspoort
#4 of 22 in Hout Bay
71 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ikhaya Safari Lodge
Ikhaya Safari Lodge
#11 of 40 in Constantia
45 reviews
12.1 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
364 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 61 in Hout Bay
123 reviews
2.2 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 61 in Hout Bay
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Waterland Lodge

Address: 2 Longkloof Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Waterland Lodge Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waterland Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?