We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amblewood Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Amblewood Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 121: English reviews
Valkenswaard
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We had the best room in the house and were pleasantly surprised. The room was big and had a separate living room as well as a big bathroom . Good aircon and wifi ,which had the best connection in the bathroom . Trevor and June are very very loveable people . Very good breakfast with different cheeses . I accidently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans9856
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

We're so glad we could assist in every way to make your stay with us pleasant and memorable! We know what it's like to have a phone with no charger, so we wanted to get yours back ASAP!! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

California
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Amblewood is welcoming, gorgeous, and pristine! This was my first stay at a guest house (and in South Africa) and it couldn't have been better! I prefer it to resorts I've stayed at here in California and wouldn't dream of staying elsewhere if ever I need a place to stay when I return. I felt very happy and at home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bethsboutiques
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We were delighted to have you stay with us and hope you will return soon! May you have a blessed year ahead!

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We have become reliant on Trip Advisor for reviews and this was no exception so, when we were looking for a quiet place with great views to stay for the last 4 nights of a hectic 2 week holiday in the area, we found this Guest House and booked in. All I can say is believe the reviews. A really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UsualSuspects61
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! I also enjoyed our chats and your company and I'm so glad your last four days were memorable. Look forward to seeing you again!

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

It was lovely to end our three week trip to South Africa with such great views of Hout Bay. Our hosts were friendly and very helpful in every way, great taxi service! Our room was comfortable although a bit old fashioned and the bathroom needs a makeover. It was nice to have a private balcony to enjoy the view. Excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Old fashioned - definitely! All the pieces in that room are genuine antiques which means they are over 100 years old - hence the name Victorian Room! The brass bed itself was made in 1880! However, we're thrilled you enjoyed our magnificent views and the peace and tranquillity which is Amblewood.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016

I was lucky enough to stay here late 2015 and can honestly say it was one of the best guest houses I have visited. The rooms were spotless with all the facilities you could need. The pool was clean and amazingly positioned to overlook Hout Bay as the sun goes down. Breakfast was great with fresh juice and again overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander C
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and we'll work hard at keeping up the standard! See you in September!

Lechlade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

A fantastic location over looking Hout Bay -- Affordable accommodation , clean , modern Great breakfasts -- great little pool for relaxing in after a day touring the Cape Highly recommend -- in fact returning in September Stayed in several B& B 's in Hout Bay and if I am honest -- this is the best

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2016

My wife, Gaynor, and I have just spent the most relaxing week at Amblewood. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so relaxed by our hosts, Trevor and June. The Amblewood is situated in a lovely and quiet hillside location with wonderful views of Hout Bay and the surrounding mountains. We had a lovely room which opened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tommo97
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope the rest of your holiday was as enjoyable and relaxing. PS Sorry about the cricket! Hope you enjoyed Newlands with its magnificent view of the mountain! Trevor, June and Max

Stranraer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016

My wife and I booked 6 nights at Amblewood in order to see the Cape Town area, at the start of our recent holiday - we couldn't have made a better choice. In fact, our only regret is that we didn't book the last 6 nights there at the same time! Everything about this place is spot on - accommodation,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Max thanks you, the staff thank you and we thank you for your very kind words! We look very forward to your next visit!

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2016

This is situated in a secure and quiet hillside location overlooking Hout Bay. The fantastic views over the bay would sell the place on their own, but the rooms are spacious and comfortable too. I stayed in a small room opening onto the deck , this was more basic compared to the upper floor rooms, but good value for money....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the encouraging remarks and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife soon! PS Enjoyed the wine and conversation!

Hannover
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

I loved this adorable bed and breakfast, and we will definitely come back next year. The house owners June and Trevor are very friendly, the breakfast is perfect, everything is perfectly clean, the view is unbelievable and the house has a very nice "spirit" and personality. I felt very well during our one week stay. Very recommendable!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianaHannover
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We're so glad you have good memories of your visit to SA and to Amblewood and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
10.9 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 61 in Hout Bay
484 reviews
1.8 mi away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#11 of 61 in Hout Bay
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#9 of 61 in Hout Bay
130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 61 in Hout Bay
61 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 61 in Hout Bay
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Amblewood Guest House

Address: 43 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Price Range: £67 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amblewood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amblewood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amblewood Guest House Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amblewood Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Amblewood Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are equally good”
  • View of Hout Bay from Amblewood
 of 5 bubbles 275PaulD, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Upper rooms have private balconies so sitting out is more private. All have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles alanbY9528BU, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All look to be good, from a personal perspective to have an upper room with a deck makes the views even more spectacular.”
 of 5 bubbles lovetotravel062, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed good, we had one of the small suites, on the second floor. Fine for my wife and I and our teenaged son”
 of 5 bubbles Kpat7, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The upper floor front rooms best (but no lift)”
 of 5 bubbles travellerjunorm, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay