We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tierhoek Cottages

Tierhoek Organic Farm Noree Valley, Robertson 6705 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (27)
Pool & Beach (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 5 cottages in Robertson
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Private, romantic, self-catering cottages nestled at the foot of the majestic Langeberg mountains near Robertson. Less then 2 hours from Cape Town you can find peace and privacy.Each cottage is fully equipped and elegantly furnished with a private pool, wide verandahs, indoor and outdoor fireplaces and breathtaking views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Room features
Fireplace
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Tierhoek Organic Farm Noree Valley, Robertson 6705 South Africa
Tierhoek Cottages
382Reviews0Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 306
  • 69
  • 5
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
838kevinv wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
We had a wonderful holiday and will definitely be back. We loved the concept of "stoeping" and think we mastered it. We were fortunate to have really good weather which also allowed us to do some star gazing at night. Great place to get out of the rate race for a bit and re-align yourself.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ulvigu wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Absolutely exquisite location, perfect if you want to get away from the noise. Owner pays a lot of attention to detail, you can feel a lot of love being put into making it feel like its your own dream cottage. It has everything you would need, whether you stay for one night or a week. We had a celebration, and owner was very accommodating, arranging champaign and a cake. And of course the location is spectacular!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Megan L wrote a review Feb 2024
Cape Town, South Africa3 contributions
An incredible, secluded and peaceful property with beautifully - breathtaking views of the mountains and valley. The house is charming and full of character with a wonderful outdoor area. Tierhoek House was perfect for our family reunion and we look forward to returning . Alison is an excellent host who went above and beyond for us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Gilson, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages
Responded 28 Feb 2024
We are so pleased you enjoyed your family get away and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. The Tierhoek Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rjrichards6 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Lovely venue right in the majestic mountains near Robertson, with a gorgeous Infinity pool under a large shady tree that compensated for the heat. Fans in most of the rooms helped as well and the kitchen was fitted out sufficiently. Lovely old farmhouse and nice modern cottage with good walks in the area and easily accessible roads. a good relaxing get-away from the city. Jill Richards
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Gilson, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages
Responded 28 Feb 2024
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, despite the extremely hot day. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. The Tierhoek Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Doug S wrote a review Feb 2024
Godalming5 contributions1 helpful vote
Our party of four really loved Quince Cottage. Away from everything with total privacy, a nice view, and a good-sized deep pool. Well appointed and comfortable. The concept of “stoeping” really appealed to us. Excellent communication from our host, thanks.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Gilson, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages
Responded 21 Feb 2024
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Quince Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. The Tierhoek Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rowenamau wrote a review Jan 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
This cottage was the perfect nature getaway for us and our family. We are a big believer in the organic ethos of Tiehoek farm and it was amazing to see the apricots and quince on the tree, taste the offerings, dip in the pool, and enjoy the scenic hills around the cottage. Highly recommend a visit here to unwind and detox.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Gilson, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Thank you for your kind words and your support of organic farming. We are so pleased you could enjoy the peace of the valley and look forward to welcoming you back soon. The Tierhoek Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mbotha697031 wrote a review Jan 2024
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
Our 2nd time at Tierhoek, and loved it even more than the last! Alison was kind enough to provide some special extra to make our Xmas unforgettable. True isolation & had everything we needed! The location at the top of the valley makes for an idyllic spot & we saw no other people for 5 days. Magnificent views, stunning diversity of flora & fauna, and all you hear is the wind through the fynbos - nothing else. For those looking to "stoep" (a classic South African past-time you'll love, no matter where you're from) this is arguably the Cape's premium spot. Cannot wait to return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Gilson, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for your kind words and it was a pleasure to help you celebrate Christmas here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. The Tierhoek Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julia M wrote a review Dec 2023
Cape Town, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a lovely peaceful stay at Pepper Tree Cottage. It was so private and we enjoyed the views from the stoep and dips in the plunge pool. Bed was comfortable which is important to us. Did a fabulous walk up the mountain which was a treat. A great place for a couple's retreat.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Gilson, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages
Responded 14 Jan 2024
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and could completely relax. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. The Tierhoek Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Faithfulldog wrote a review Dec 2023
Welgemoed, South Africa37 contributions12 helpful votes
Great location, stunning views, but property not maintained at all. Weeds everywhere. Poor quality bed linen . At R2000 a night one would expect a but more class. Sirt of got the feeling with all the chalets being constructed, that this is about the money and not the guest experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Gilson, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages
Responded 20 Dec 2023
Thank you for your feedback. The cottages are set on an organic farm and we do keep the gardens and surrounds as natural as possible. The recent rains brought some wonderful new growth, however we work with a small team and due to apricot harvest picking and packing we had not had time to 'weed' the gardens sufficiently. This has been remedied now. We are sorry you did not feel we were sufficiently caring of you despite the welcome letter, fresh flowers, our informational A-Z about the farm and our ethos here. We strive to make each guests stay as private and enjoyable as possible. The new cottages, as with the present ones, are tucked away in little valleys to ensure privacy and an immersion in nature. We just want to share the farm with more people who can benefit from its peaceful, soulful, rejuvenating atmosphere. If you read a bit more about organic farming, and people who conserve nature, you will become aware that it is certainly not about the money! We hope you will return when the new cottages are finished. We know you will enjoy them. The Tierhoek Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Safari52186254297 wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions
We had a fantastic time. Loved the house, swimming pool, setting and just sitting on the stoep. Everything was very comfortable and well catered for even load shedding was no problem. Good wifi and perfect weather made it even more perfect
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Gilson, Owner at Tierhoek Cottages
Responded 20 Dec 2023
We are so pleased that enjoyed your stay and we look foward to welcoming you back soon. The Tierhoek Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Robertson area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeRobertson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TIERHOEK COTTAGES - Updated 2024 (Robertson, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Tierhoek Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Tierhoek Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Rooiberg Winery (4.7 miles).
Which room amenities are available at Tierhoek Cottages?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, a fireplace, and a seating area.
Is parking available at Tierhoek Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tierhoek Cottages?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Tierhoek Cottages have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.