We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Erinvale Estate Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Erinvale Estate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 223: English reviews
Pershore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Before I say how much we enjoyed our 1 week stay here, it wouldn't have been as good if we hadn't have moved rooms. I booked The Damask Suite, which isn't really a suite, just a large bedroom with a couple of chairs and a table, but it is in their courtyard opposite the bar, so as the incorporated terrace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

In short: There was nobody to meet me at the front desk when I arrived. There was a girl standing in the office behind the desk eating something and just looking at me without acknowledging me initially and behind her was a pile of dirty towels, not a very good first impression. In the relaxation room I could not find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renche2015
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Erinvale over New Year. A really nice spa hotel and a lovely place to stay even if (like us) you are not a golfer. We used it as a base to visit the Helderberg nature reserve and the Vergelegen and Lourensford wine estates, each of which are within walking distance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulSchreier
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most positive review of Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa after your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you and your wife have enjoyed your stay with us over the festive period, and that you have enjoyed not only the hotel and its facilites and services, but also indeed the...

Reviewed 8 December 2016

Erinvale has everything you would want and then some on your doorstep. From amazing restaurants, a spa, wine and olive estates. Surrounded by Lourensford Estate (great market, wine and coffee tasting), Vergelegen Estate (fine dining, world class wines and beautiful grounds to have a picnic), Morgenster Estate (award wining olives, oils and wines), Helderberg Nature Reserve and last but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlPit81
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most positive comments after your recent stay with us. I am absolutely delighted to hear that your stay with us was most enjoyable. We are indeed very fortunate to be situated in a most unique and wonderful location here in the heart of the Helderberg Winelands. I am very proud of my wonderful...

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

A hidden gem.They have themed Fri evenings outside on terrace,music and wonderful food.Alt one can sit inside in the Skellig's Irish pub/restaurant,really warm during winter. Pork belly and fish goujons delicious,craft beer on tap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most positive review after your visit to Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa. Our Feel Good Fridays are certainly proving to be extremely popular, and we have a wonderful line up of artists and music for the entire summer season. This is a wonderful way to relax on our terrace, with good music, good...

Interlaken, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Great food. Unfortunately let down but very noisy room. Lots of noise from the street. The swimming pool was also very dirty with green water. I was also served very pink/raw chicken. I mentioned it to the waiteress and asked her to show the chef.... there was no explaination or feed back was given? And we we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shepheard B
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay with us. First and foremost may I take this opportunity to apologise most sincerely for the chicken not being cooked to your satisfaction. On the other hand also a big thank you for your very positive comments on all other food. With regards to the pool being green, due...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We love going to this place . We go every year for our anniversary. We love the country feel .Surrounded by really good wine farms ,restaurants and a fantastic golf course. We will be back .There staff are top notch and efficient. I highly recommend a few days stay at Erinvale Estate Hotel .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilellatd
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful comments, after your recent anniversary celebration with us. I am delighted to hear that my wonderful team of staff here at Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa, continue to make every stay with us such a memorable one. It is absolutely our pleasure to host you, and we look forward to many return...

Cape Town
Reviewed 24 November 2016

On Sunday the 13th November 2016 we had a family gathering a the Erinvale Estate Hotel, the table was set up for 14 of us, and it was magnificent, in every detail, the food was absolutely outstanding , it was a Buffet Lunch with an assortment of meats and veggies, with salads and a magnificent dessert table, my overseas guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia May F
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful and kind comments, after your recent family event at our hotel. I was absolutely delighted to hear that you and your guests have enjoyed your day and Sunday lunch with us, and that we were able to make this day such a special and memorable one for you. It was our absolute...

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

I booked a summer delight package for my wife. On arrival the reception staff were very unhelpful. She was never offered lunch, although is was included in the package. Treatments also differ from normal menu to what's included in the package. Sent them an email long before I wrote this review to settle the matter privately but no response. Might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roccov851
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

I refer to your recent TripAdvisor outlining the experience your wife encountered in our Spa. I have also responded to your private email address to express my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment experienced, and reiterate my invitation extended to your wife for a complimentary Summer Delight treatment package. We have encountered some staff changes in our Spa,...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Travelling to meet clients in the area, I stumbled upon this great hotel. The hotel has an old school feel and the rooms are fantastic. The grounds are magnificent beneath the surrounding mountains. The hotel has a quaint bar with warm and receiving staff. The breakfast was lovely and the restaurant area was neat and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most positive review of our hotel after your recent visit. I was most delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you have enjoyed the wonderful location and the hotel services and food on offer. Your specific mention of the accommodation was indeed of particular interest, as we...

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.7 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
189 reviews
2.8 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
110 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
178 reviews
12.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Steeped in history, surrounded by the majestic Hottentots Holland Mountains, the Erinvale Estate Hotel & Spa offers distinctive and captivating hospitality. The property is only 40 minutes from Cape Town and 20 minutes from Cape Town International airport. Guests are a stone's throw away from a world of outdoor and leisure activities and have access to golf, spa, wine, chocolate and olive tasting at famous estates, in the 'Heart of the Helderberg'. The neighbouring Gary Player-designed Erinvale Golf Course offers a unique golfing challenge to all levels of players. The Erinvale Estate Spa is operated by the Lurra Spa and Wellness Group. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Erinvale Estate Hotel

Address: 1 Erinvale Avenue | off Lourensford Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range: £84 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erinvale Estate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Erinvale Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erinvale Estate Hotel Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Erinvale Estate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“40+ numbered rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles R4675BKkarenh, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a garden terrace room which had a lovely outside seating are to enjoy the sunshine.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlPit81, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great hotel if you are in the area, close enough to the wine route.”
 of 5 bubbles C3908IXrichardp, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“some rooms have their own patios- with a small garden overlooking the central lawn. There is no lift to the rooms on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles pretoriamariev, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Different houses. And some suites ask and they will tell you.”
 of 5 bubbles janicel692, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay