We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Branding Iron Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Branding Iron Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Lexington
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We had no idea where to stay in Chama when we visited to ride the train. The room was clean. Had requested a quiet room, was told they were all quiet. For 2 nights we had to listen to our neighbors tv playing all night long. The bed and pillows in our room definitely needed to be replaced.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KyGirl90
Carol Stream, Illinois
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Very nice hotel, comfortable, nice and clean. I stayed there last week. There are no rental vehicles or cabs in town and the owners were nice enough to give me a ride to the train depot on my last day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Taggs56
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night after our train ride. There isn't many places to stay in Chama so with that being said if you have to stay just know ahead that your not going to like it! No hair dryer, microwave or refrigerator but there is a 1 cup coffee maker in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ida R
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This little town survives under the scenic steam engine train that runs Mar-Oct. We were there at the peak of the fall foliage so the whole town is packed with all hotel/ motel rooms booked. This wasn't our first choice (Vista Del Rio were booked 3 weeks ago) but it turned out to be very accommodating. Everything that a motel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Onephzw
Nucla
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Our stay at The Branding Iron was nice. The room was clean. The bed was alittle hard for us. We stayed for 2 nights. We were there to take The Cumbres & Toltec train ride. Another plus to staying there is they give a discount on the motel, if you are there to ride the train. And they give you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruby W
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Chama doesn't have much to offer in places to stay. However the Branding Iron was better than we expected! The property is older but it has been very well maintained. The owners are very nice and friendly. In fact one of our Grandchildren left an electronic toy in the room and they tool the trouble to call and arranged to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Csxyoder
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Visited Chama for the cumbersome &toltec train ride. stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was large but needs some updating. The bathroom was clean no blow dryer was provided in the room. Had to ask at the office for one. The rugs need to be updated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atherton99
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Had the worst experience ever!! My hubby and I had been planning a quick trip back home to visit family for months and when we finally got a chance to get away I took it upon myself to book a room...with almost all rooms booked; I felt thankful to find a room at the Branding Iron. Because of work we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cyndy P
Richard N, Manager at Branding Iron Motel, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear that your stay was so unsatisfying. When you booked your room ( a room with 2 double beds) with the booking agency that you used, you were required to give a valid credit card to guarantee the reservation. This is standard procedure. Without a valid credit card the reservation is not guaranteed. At around 7:30 pm...

Huntington Beach, California
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Weekend trip to Chama for the beautiful train with our in-laws. The room was clean, the shower was hot, and the bed was comfy enough (for away from home it was awesome!) The owner operator was very helpful and nice. If we ever visit the area again we will definitely be staying here! Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J E
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 11 August 2016

In Chama the outside looks great the rooms are old but sorta clean no bed bugs a/c worked but smelled bad. Shower and bath were clean, bedding was clean. I have stayed in worse rooms and this will do in a pinch. Staff was friendly the restaurant closed a few years ago, and that's too bad it has a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loboGary

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chama hotels
1.5 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#5 of 8 in Chama
82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chama River Bend Lodge
0.9 mi away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Rio Chama valley at the Southern tip of the spectacular Rocky Mountain Range, the Branding Iron Motel welcomes you from May to October and offers the comforts of home delivered with exceptional Southwestern hospitality. From our unrivaled location, hear the engineer’s whistle announcing the arrival and departure of trains from the historic Chama depot on the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Branding Iron Motel

Address: 1511 Hwy 17, Chama, NM 87510
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Price Range: £82 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Branding Iron Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Branding Iron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Branding Iron Hotel Chama
Branding Iron Motel Chama, New Mexico
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Branding Iron Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“On the main road, less than a mile to the train depot or to a nice restaurant/bar in town. High Country”
 of 5 bubbles Onephzw, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Late check-ins where very noisey one night. Please be considerate of other guests trying to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles RubyW304, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good clean room and the price was right!”
 of 5 bubbles 644je, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“stay on the second floor, it may be quieter, but there is no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles davwitcher, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“1st floor room very convenient to parking”
 of 5 bubbles 76clarkn, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay