We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motswari Private Game Reserve

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Motswari Private Game Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

673 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motswari Private Game Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Showing 550: English reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

I booked this safari for a family holiday. I Didn't know what to expect. On arrival we where greeted by Prudence and the staff with drinks and a chat it felt like we were old friends from way back. We were taken to our huts which were amazing. Once we settled in it was time for afternoon tea and straight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sussan G
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - We highly value your feedback and kind words and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Very Best Wishes from us all Adriaan

Epworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2016

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome, all the staff were very friendly, approachable and helpful. the guides were very knowledgeable and ensured that we had an unforgettable safari experience. Our accommodation was immaculate and the layout of the buildings was traditional and appropriate. food and drink were of the highest standard. The open nature...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia B
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - We highly value your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Very Best Wishes from us all Adriaan

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2016

This was our second stay at Motswari & we were even more impressed than after the first. The camp represents a truly authentic African bush experience, unpretentious, well managed with fabulous staff & knowledgeable, engaging guides & trackers. The food's good too!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathanbX6679XL
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - We highly value your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Very Best Wishes from us all Adriaan

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 17 March 2016

We spent 5 nights at Motswari and didn't want to leave. The staff is very friendly, welcoming and willing to help with absolutely everything. We had Henry and Patrick as our guide/tracker and think we were incredibly lucky to have them! We learned so much and experienced the bush in such a unique way. Definitely try to participate in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas V
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - We highly value your feedback and kind comments and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Very Best Wishes from us all Adriaan

Doha
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Having stayed at Motswari on many occasions it is still a great safari destination. The reservations department has been outsourced and has made the experience a bit unpersonal. It's all a bit clinical and no special treatment is afforded repeat guests such as myself. In the past they always tried to accommodate somehow. On my last visit I was told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andreaspwr
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - We highly value your constructive feedback and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Very Best Wishes from us all Adriaan

North Branford, Connecticut
Reviewed 8 March 2016

This place exceeded my expectations. It is incredibly well run. You can tell the management is great because the staff truely love working there. The teamwork is incredible. Everything from accomodations to food was excellent. Their Kitchen Manager Roxanne created incredible meals, I had some of the best steak and best lamb tangine here. The safaris excursions were small and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank light56
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - We highly value your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Very Best Wishes from us all Adriaan

Orebro, Sweden
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We were 9 persons (2 families) that spent 3 nights at Geigers camp and it was a wonderful experience. We were very well taken care of by the staff at the lodge and as well by our excellent ranger Chad and our great tracker Bungani. The food was wonderful and the gamedrives were magic. We encountered all the big five...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank claes_andersson
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - We highly value your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Very Best Wishes from us all Adriaan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Motswari for 4 nights. We had a wonderful time! The accommodation is beautiful and the staff are so welcoming and helpful. Our field guides, Richard and Jacky, were extremely knowledgable, interested in everything, and a lot of fun. The drives were better than we could have hoped for. We saw so many animals, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmLangron
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - We highly value your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Very Best Wishes from us all Adriaan

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 23 February 2016

I think I have never had such a wonderful vacation, it was like living a dream and actually being in a National Geographic documentary. Just Amazing! The staff is wonderful, on our arrival, they did everything so that we do miss our first game drive. On the very first day, we got to meet with the super professional guides and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DanR31
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - We highly value your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Very Best Wishes from us all Adriaan

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Fantastic accommodation the rooms were just brilliant and the breakfast and dining area's also,Good wifi for the younger generations and great views for the rest of us,The food was great as was the presentation especially breakfast as this was brought in on their heads while singing,The safari's themselves were breathtaking seen all the big 5 as well as numerous other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ady S
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - We highly value your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Very Best Wishes from us all Adriaan

859 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (825)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (532)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
14.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
595 reviews
11.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
218 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
190 reviews
11.4 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
425 reviews
3.2 mi away
Simbavati River Lodge
Simbavati River Lodge
#9 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Open to the Kruger National Park and playing host to Africa's Big Five is Motswari Private Game Reserve. One of South Africa's jewels nestled within the Timbavati Nature Reserve, this family-owned and operated four-star luxury safari lodge prides itself on its warm atmosphere and luxurious accommodation.The name Motswari means "to conserve and protect" in Tswana and the owners have held the name to be a promise to each of their future friends who arrive to share in the splendour of an African sunset at this vintage bush lodge.The 150 square kilometres that make up the reserve are part of the greater Kruger Park and guests will be treated to wildlife in their natural habitats as part of their unforgettable experience of Southern Africa. Ideally situated and exclusive, Motswari Private Game Reserve holds the best of everything for the traveller to the untamed majesty that is Africa.If you’re looking for a relaxed atmosphere, peaceful communion with nature and a private experience on a traditional African game farm, this holiday location is for you!Morning and evening game drives in open Land Rovers with professional field guides and trackersMid morning bush walks * Safari walks in lieu of morning game drives guided by armed field guidesOvernight bush hiking and camping sleep-out experience for groups of 4 with experienced guides*Hide sleep-outs in the Motswari Game Reserve*Swimming pool*Boma & bush dinners*Pre-lunch safari interest talks*Curio shop at Motswari Game Lodge*Brunch, high tea (late lunch) and dinner*Library and Art Gallery with 24-hour internet facility at Motswari Game Lodge*Fully equipped air-conditioned conference room for 20 delegates at Motswari Game Lodge*An additional vehicle plus guide can be arranged for an extra cost per day and covers 2 game drives per day ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motswari Private Game Reserve

Address: Kruger National Park 2021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: £325 - £850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motswari Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Motswari Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motswari Private Game Reserve Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve South Africa/Kruger National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motswari Private Game Reserve staff and other travellers.
54 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (54)

Questions? Get answers from Motswari Private Game Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms closest to the lounge has can pick up the internet. When the river is flowing, those rooms have great views including animals.”
JabsPOV, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“We loved Waterbuck”
larkiegirl112, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good!!”
Jacquilinz, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Geiger's Camp: lovely view, lovely staff. And the food is excellent.”
, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking riverbed nice and quiet”
sil63, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Hotwire.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates