We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thakadu River Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thakadu River Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 248: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I spent 3 nights and 3 days at Thakadu in November and had the most incredible time you could imagine. When we arrived at Thakadu we were warmly greeted and lunch was brought over to us which was very nice. When we were shown our tent, there were elephants within 30 feet of the balcony, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an excellent stay here for 3 nights. There was really nothing which could have been better (ok, no WiFi but who needs that in the bush??). Food was delicious, every meal an absolut delight (and we are real foodies!!). The two daily gamedrives were long (3 to 4 hours) but you really get to see all the wildlife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a-million-miles-com
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fabulous few days on safari at Thakadu. We picked it as it is owned and run by local people. The service was excellent and the food lovely - however the game drives were of course the highlight. Madikwe has a lot of game and our ranger certainly found plenty to keep us happy. NB if driving there,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dicksondick
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Dicksondick It was our privilege to share Madikwe beauty with you and a pleasure to host you as guests at Thakadu River Camp. We are looking forward to welcome you back as returning guests on your next trip to South Africa.

Fochville, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely time at Madikwe with a very comfortable room, good food and a tremendous guide on the game trips who was very knowledgeable and helpful. My husband has problems walking and the staff went out of their way to help us and make sure all our needs were met.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 352Pat
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear 352Pat Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting you. We are looking forward to receive you back as returning guests.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Madikwe is always special, and this trip was no different! The Lodge is well situated, and the service was again of a high caliber. The rooms are clean, service is excellent and friendly, and food good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robwiza
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Robwiza It is always a pleasure to host you at Thakadu River Camp and to share Madikwe Game Reserves splendour with you. We are looking forward to welcome you back again.

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We had 4 nights at the Thakadu River Camp over New Year 2017 and we had the most fantastic time. I never usually write reviews but am doing so on this occasion because I wanted to share with others. We had a driver from Johannesburg Airport, which was expensive and while at Thakadu we met several others who had driven...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joannabenedictf
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear joanabenedictf Thank you for your fantastic review. It inspire the Thakadu Team to go to an even higher level of taking care of our guests. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back as returning guests at Thakadu River Camp.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2017

From the moment we arrived (on the most inconvenient day of the year - 31 December 2016) we were treated to staff that was friendly and always helpful. The rooms - tents along the river - were fantastic - well appointed and secluded with everything one could want yes for a tent even an air conditioner, a bar fridge would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dieselblade
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear diedelblade Thank you for the review. I could not help laughing by myself. We level the rack in the curio the afternoon after you departed, every time I past the rack I am thinking about your comment. Thank you for your suggestions. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

London
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for theee nights in the second week of Jan. We looked at a few other lodges but, as we had left it quite late, the reasonably priced ones had already been booked. We were greeted exceptionally well on arrival at the Thakadu River Camp, it had been raining a lot before so the final stretch (after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mishy77
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Mishy77 It was a great pleasure hosting you. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your whole Safari experience at Thakadu River Camp. The game viewing in Madikwe was excellent over the last couple of weeks and it is a privilege to share it with our guests.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2017

This lodge offers fantastic value for money - with a lovely permanent tented accommodation, really high standard food, excellent service and not to mention fantastic game viewing :-) We're a family of 2 adults and 2 children 8yr and 5yrs. As children understandably need to be 6yr and over to go on main drives...we were unable to take our 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellinghamfam
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Ellinghamfam The Thakadu Team are looking forward to your next visit. We would love to share more of Madikwe Game Reserves beauty and our hospitality with your family.

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The service at the arrival was very poor. we had to fight to get our first game drive, which was really a shame. However the room, the environment and the overall experience are fantastic. There are no words for that. Amazingly beautiful!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tessav486
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear tessav486 We realise that you were upset when you arrive to hear that the game drive vehicle have already departed. Unfortunately you did not made it in time for the game drive, your family were not our only guests on the vehicle and we can not expect guests to wait for arriving guests that were not able to arrive...

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (289)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (190)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
12.5 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
327 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
428 reviews
3.1 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
409 reviews
11.6 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
261 reviews
6.5 mi away
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
#20 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Thakadu River Camp

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £245 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thakadu River Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thakadu River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thakadu River Camp Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thakadu River Camp staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Thakadu River Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are twelve tents and we were in tent four; just a short 3-5 minute walk to the main lodge.”
  • This elephant was right outside of our balcony. Amazing.
 of 5 bubbles frankcK7249SW, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms were wonderful. Although it was a tent and therefore felt very romantic; they were very clean and absolutely beautiful. There was a gorgeous bath with brass taps, very comfortable beds and a lovely balcony. There was brilliant air conditioning and mosquito nets to keep out the insects. The rooms couldn't have been more perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles joannabenedictf, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The are all great, but if you want a good view of the river ask for the higher numbered rooms”
 of 5 bubbles dieselblade, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The bed was amazing! My compliments!”
 of 5 bubbles tessav486, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 7 and other rooms for the same price definitely had better views from their balconies”
 of 5 bubbles imjustthemessenger, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5