We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Everything was perfect, from the accommodation to the food and game tours. The staff were efficient and friendly and the entire experience was superb. Our ranger Declan, and spotter Jeremy were both absolutely wonderful and Declan's all-round knowledge of the flora and fauna was shared with both intelligence and humour and was the 'cherry on the top' of our Amakhosi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaireSmylie
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Oh Wow, this place is just incredible in every way. Let me start off by saying the Managers are incredible they are there and spoil you non stop. The Chef, is probably the best kept secret, the food is phenominal, modern without being OTT. The fresh Strawberries at breakfast were the best and sweetest and freshest I have ever eaten,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OBumhlangaRocks
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was an absolutely amazing experience! Really nice safari and knowledgeable rangers. Have been to many safaris and NEVER have I been as close to the animals as at Amakhosi. There is a reason why I have been to Amakhosi 5 times! It's just an incredible place, also the food is top notch!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henrik A
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had limited time in South Africa and wanted to give our teenage kids a taste of an authentic African style safari lodge. Amakhosi did not disappoint, with exciting game viewing with enthusiastic and knowledgeable rangers, wonderful food, and comfortable and clean accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis C
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall this is a superb lodge that is well run by a well drilled and friendly team. In my opinion this lodge offers something for the seasoned safari addict and first timers. Too often when I read reviews of lodges I note that the star grading is given on 'sightings' and from people who dont understand animal behaviour or the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidiafrica
Mbabane, Swaziland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first Christmas without family and we wanted something special ...and we got it! Our 3 nights in luxury accommodation with exceptional staff, relaxing spa treatments, most experienced ranger (Sipho) and tracker (Sabelo), closeup sightings of big game and delectable food (plenty!) that would satisfy any foodie made this one of our top game reserve stays. We couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Voi C
Sint-Oedenrode
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We stayed at Amakhosi for three nights and could not find a more sensible thing to do than to expand our stay for at least a fes days more. But helaas we had to move on. What a place of exceptional beauty and tranquility. The lodge is situated on the banks of Zululand's Mkuze river, where you might find the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
Durban-Corbieres, France
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I have to say this lodge it's one of the best! I brought my daughter and my two grandsons for a 3 night safari experience. Beautiful spacious chalet. Amazing staff, awesome ranger/tracker. In a middle of a herd of elephants doing their own business, 2 cheetahs walking past while we were outside the car for a coffee break! Lion roars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sisselalfredsen
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Wow thank you so much for this amazing review and we apologise for the delay in replying. Made our day and yes you will always be welcome and part of our Amakhosi Family! Hope you liked the new refurbishments since your last visit and we hope to see you all back again soon. Compliments of the season and regards from...

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

We were here for 3 nights on our honeymoon trip in South Africa. We came from Balule and Kruger National Park to Amakhosi and the landscape is certainly a difference. While the Amakhosi landscape is green and full of interesting plants and birds, Kruger os more Savanne and very dry. The weather, unfortunately, was very bad. It was raining a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romy P
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly we do apologise for the delay in replying as we were away on sales trips. We are so upset to read this review and that you did not enjoy any aspect of your honeymoon with us and we are really saddened. We launched a full investigation into your reservation: We pride ourselves in making special events memorable ones and...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We stopped off at Amakhozi as a very last minute decision and what a treat it was for us .stunning room/chalet overlooking a river bed . Pullout sofa in the lounge for the children . The game drives were great and we saw loads of animals . Food was tasty though sadly a little hit and miss .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noo1971
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post the review and for sending us more details of your experience via mail. We were really saddened to hear that your experience was not up to standard during your visit in February, we would have loved to hear from you during your stay so that corrective action could have been taken straight...

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (171)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
24.9 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
353 reviews
14.7 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
21.7 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
24.7 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
20.3 mi away
Mkuze Falls Game Lodge
Mkuze Falls Game Lodge
#5 of 8 in Pongola
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Price Range: £320 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amakhosi Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Amakhosi Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book the villa for a treat!”
 of 5 bubbles OBumhlangaRocks, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The honeymoon suites are just that bit more special”
 of 5 bubbles davidiafrica, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite has its own jacuzzi pool but be warned it's a considerable walk to the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles V0iC, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book one of the river lodges. it's fantastic!!”
 of 5 bubbles 192larryr, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the villa which was amazing but we understand that all of the rooms are very good.”
 of 5 bubbles TrevDomandDen, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay