We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dinaka Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Start your review of Dinaka Safari Lodge
 Click to rate
Chula Vista, California
Reviewed 28 December 2016

It was affordable AND had Wow factor. We could have stayed a 3rd day. (I ask myself: was there enough to do for a 2nd or 3rd day?)Yes, there was. Their property was so big, so much to see and do. Seeing game across from the lodge almost all day long, what an amazing experience is that? Game drives, going...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Momplayinghookie
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 16 July 2016

A truly amazing experience with the only downside being we didn't stay more than 2 nights . Thank you to Dave,Mel & George for all your hospitality , you are truly wonderful people you really made us feel like part of your family. The accommodation was excellent, the food was fantastic & the dinner conversations hilarious. We really loved the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
262MelanieS262, Owner at Dinaka Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Great head warmer !! So enjoyed your company and all the laughs.

Israel
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I stayed at Dinaka for 2 nights. The place is really nice, the rooms comfortable clean and spacious. The internet pretty good (I wouldn't even expect any internet so far out). The game drives with Dave were great. He is unbelievably knowledgeable with everything from birds to insects to antelopes. The meals were too good (if you're not careful you'll...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GuyZilla
262MelanieS262, Owner at Dinaka Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was our pleasure to share this part of the world with you!

Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We spent three nights at Dinaka in early February and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. Despite the extra grass and leaves following recent rains we were shown almost all the game at one time or another. The highlight has to be the pride of lions which we saw several times culminating in them spending the night at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gumbo44
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We stayed in October and had an amazing time. The lodges are beautiful and Dave, Melanie and George made us fwel like part of the family. We were disappointed the lions didn't come on to camp in our stay but did see them in the bush. It is very exciting going out on safaris with Dave and the bushman who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We stayed at Dinaka lodge in October at the start of our safari and what a fabulous place it is. Dave picked the four of us up from Maun and we were the only visitors for our two days. On arrival it felt like walking into paradise, we were greeted by Melanie and George and grandma was there as well,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
Genoa, Italy
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We visited dinaka for two nights in August 2015. We received a warm welcoming in a charming and sofisticated lodge. Very nice rooms, comfortable and excellent food. Free Wi-Fi for the happiness of my son... Very lucky game drive experience looking for lions (and founded!) guided by the owner of the structure. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rossana R
Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 6 May 2015

Can get to Dinaka either by small plane or over rough road. About 3 hours driving from Maun. Lodgings are room size tents with very comfortable beds. Some have sinks in the room and some are on rear deck [partially enclosed] with toilet and shower. Host is very friendly and knowledgable, and food is excellent. There is a water hole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimGsm
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We visited Dinaka for two nights with another couple in April, 2015, at the beginning of the dry season in the Kalahari along with our guide, Daryl Smith, who is a friend of the owner, Dave. Since it was so early in the season, we were the only guests staying there and we were treated as part of the family....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Our family stayed two nights in this lodge in the beginning of August. It was to give us a bit of taste of Kalahari before we start our main trip from Maun to the Okavango Delta and northwards to Moremi, Savuti, Chobe then Vic Falls. Dinaka Lodge lies at the northern edge of the Kalahari and is therefore a convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank HagChi

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Kalahari Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,034 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mikalele Motel
#1 of 1 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
#2 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a large private game ranch, which is well stocked with a wide variety of animals. There are 7 rooms, well spaced apart from each other for privacy. 2 Of the rooms are family rooms, and can sleep up to 3 children with their parents. The main Lodge area is open to the view of the waterhole, and has comfortable seating.There is also a deck under cover in front of the Lodge to sit and watch the birds and animals. Game drives take place early mornings and late afternoons, as well as a walk in the bush with the Bushmen, where you will learn all about their traditions, culture and survival tactics. Come and learn about this special place in the African Wilderness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dinaka Safari Lodge

Address: on the northern boundary of the Central Kalahari Game Reserve | Approximately 100km West of Rakops, The Nearest Village . It Is Also 125 Kms South of Maun and Approx 230kms From Ghanzi, Central Kalahari Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > Ghanzi District > Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Price Range: £438 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dinaka Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Dinaka Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dinaka Safari Lodge Botswana/Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dinaka Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dinaka Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room close to the main eating area”
124JoanneH, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you are nervous of the bush ask for a room close to the lodge but otherwise they are all lovely.”
  • Our room.
Gumbo44, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All tents are well situated and are far away enough from each other so that you may feel that you are alone on the desert !!”
HagChi, 10 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Every room is nice located”
  • Welcom
mari_llav, 17 May 2014 | Read review
“All the rooms are lovely - just don't venture out without looking around as there are lots of lions I would have rather stayed for 3 nights”
blue93, 5 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5