We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hillside Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hillside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hillside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Due to our honeymoon , we entered Ithaca & noticed this small inn on our way to eat at Tavern Bunffi @ the Statler Hotel owned by Cornell University. They too suggested to us to use the hillside inn which as his name suggests: it's on the hill side. The room was nicely organized, well kept. We asked for another...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank privatecheftour
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I took my grandaughter to school in Ithaca and thought that I was getting a nice inn. We were shocked when we rode up to the place, not to mention how we felt when we walked into the 4x6 lobby. The carpet looked as though it had never been cleaned and the place smelled awful. They gave away our reservation...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ollie854
Peter S, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

This person did not stay at the hotel, merely walked in, saw it was not a newly built chain hotel (we are a family owned hotel next to the Cornell campus) and left, with full refund, despite a cancellation policy deadline already passed. So it is surprising she would become vehement and negative online, she is one out of several...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 26 August 2013

TERRIBLE... I recommend sleeping in your car, on a park bench, etc. over wasting your money to stay here. Air conditioner buzzed all night, all kinds of flying bugs in the room, dirty carpet, floors lean, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LovetoTravel1099
Peter S, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

You may be interested to read the positive reviews which represent a fraction of the very satisfied customers who stay at the hotel. One out of a hundred find an older family run establishment not what was expected and become or by nature are somewhat hypercritical. The owner of the hotel is here every day seven days a week working...

Reviewed 29 June 2013

My wife wanted to book one of the chain hotels in the city of Ithaca - as someone who travels for business I much prefer the local flavor when traveling - I am glad that we decided to stay a the Hillside Inn- the place was exactly what I was looking for as we took my daughter for her first...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michele A
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I am writing this a long time after the event but I had a great stay at the Hillside Inn. A fraction of the price of other places in town and perfect for visiting Cornell. Nice to support a family business too. Furniture and fittings old but the room was immaculate, bed was so comfy with lovely clean sheets and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FranH123
Brasilia, DF
Reviewed 5 June 2013

If you're going to Cornell, this is a great place to stay. Location is walk distance to Cornell main buldings, and eating is also near. You can also go Downtown on foot. Service is great, very helpful and friendly people. It isn't a luxurious hotel, furniture is old, but everything is very clean. Internet works very well from my room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paulo M
Left Coast
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hillside Inn is a GREAT place... if you need a place to sleep this is GREAT. NO spas... NO pools... but that's OK if you don't need spas and pools right? VERY convenient to Cornell U... local bistros... hiking trails... and the lovely fingerlake vineyards. The staff are most helpful... Rhonda, Robert, Jim (the owner), Garrett and Pete... they were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J U
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

I am having a very nice stay there, very close to campus, very good service, it worth every penny, wifi internet working, excellent back and front view, generous free breakfast, took me back to 1970s days, staff are very helpful and nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abdulrhm
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Don't let the Trip Advisor seal on the front door of this supposed "hotel" fool you. It simply means that many other people have also written bad reviews. My husband and I booked a two night room stay in April for Ithaca College's accepted student weekend. At the rate of $110 per night, we assumed the hotel would be adequate....

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Jpianoshop
Peter S, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

The Hillside Inn is a family-owned hotel which has been in the present ownership 60 years. The owner is on premises seven days a week and cleaning and maintenance are constant and routine. We are an older establishment not a modern facility. We have free parking, Wi Fi, phone, a breakfast of coffee, tea, hot cocoa, homemade muffins, doughnuts, cookies....

Colorado Springs
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Folks, If you are only sleeping here and want a place close to Cornell then bring a bottle of something strong and take a few stiff shots before going to bed. There are old places that have charm or character, are nostalgic, or have something redeeming about them. The Hillside Inn - not so much. It is old, dirty, and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank joshos
Peter S, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

We are currently doing an upgrade replacing baths and getting new carpets throughout the hotel. Certainly there's no excuse for less than a full room service cleaning even on very busy weekends and Mgt has now implemented a solution so that this doesn't repeat. Scurrilous reviews in a mocking tone are, however, more an indication of the reviewer than the...

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.4 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
0.5 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#10 of 22 in Ithaca
51 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#17 of 22 in Ithaca
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hillside Inn is located right next to the campus of Cornell University. We offer reasonable rates and provide free parking, free Wi Fi, free local and long distance calls, and complimentary Continental Breakfast.Extended stay rates are available.Rooms have color cable TV, private bath, AC, daily room service.We are in Collegetown and a short walk to numerous restaurants.Our friendly staff are here to make your stay a pleasant one! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Address: 518 Stewart Ave, Ithaca, NY 14850-3815
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Price Range: £47 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ithaca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hillside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“AVOID THE HOTEL!!!! unless you like sleeping in a dirty bed full of hair.”
 of 5 bubbles kategM6699ZX, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles CRVanUllen, 20 Nov 2014 | Read review
“back rooms have nice views”
 of 5 bubbles tradcross, 4 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Go to another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles ollie854, 29 Aug 2013 | Read review
“I would never recommend this place to anyone. At any price it is a scary place.”
 of 5 bubbles CindyW531, 23 Feb 2013 | Read review
5 of 5