We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kuriftu Resort and Spa

  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 235: English reviews
Start your review of Kuriftu Resort and Spa
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My daughter and I stayed one night. The location is great, the rooms nice, showers great, the views stunning and the spa wonderful. However, for the price you want a little more. -toiletries (we forgot lotion, would have expected that could be provided) -zero flexibility on late checkout (pay half the rate) -recommended tour guides crazy overpriced (quoted 2400 birr...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rh310
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our long week-end at the Kuriftu. Staff was helpful and the room very comfortable. I preferred the rooms on the first level as you get a nice view on the lake. Service at the restaurant can take a very long time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marie2p2017
Michael T, Marketing Manager at Kuriftu Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Marie Thank you for thanking time for reviewing Kuriftu Resort & Spa . we are very glad you enjoyed you stay and hope to see you in the future. Regards! Michael Tesfaye

Suncheon, South Korea
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room is spacious and traditional. 40min swedish massage and 30min foot massage were included to room rate and the massage was really great. The only downside was that wifi wasn't working in rooms. only in public area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nomadmora
Michael T, Marketing Manager at Kuriftu Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nomadmora We are glad you enjoyed the spa services and your constructive comments about the area covrage of the wifi are well taken and we will make sure it reaches the mangment. Gomabseubnida 고맙습니다

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a fantastic little hotel on the lake and a short walk from downtown. A beautiful deck, pool, and restaurant looked out across the soothing waters of the lake. While you could then return to your room which in many cases were up in tree houses with a nice lounging deck. There was also a very nice spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan K
Michael T, Marketing Manager at Kuriftu Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Brendan Thank you so much !!! we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Kuriftu Resort Spa .we hope to see you in the future.

edinburgh
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This a a most attractive hotel with some large comfy rooms with huge balconies where you can have your own fire and you gaze over the lake. There is a good pool too and a pretty garden setting. The staff are so anxious to help. The restaurant has good food, especially the fish. This is an excellent base to explore...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EdinburghBlair
Michael T, Marketing Ma0 at Kuriftu Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear EdinburghBlair Thank you for choosing Kuriftu Resort Spa and for taking time to write a review ,we are also glad to hear you have enjoyed the stay in Ethiopia, our resort strives to make the expriance better in regards your comments about the uplifting and the spa are well taken. we look forward to seeing you in the future....

Bahar Dar, Ethiopia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A pool on the shore of Lake Tana. Beautiful rooms. Great breakfast. Internet usually works, which is saying a lot. The staff are really nice. Expensive, but worth it if you need a break from Ethiopia.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ERos_Traveler
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Large, spacious rooms, faced the Lake, good food, attentive staff. Had a good cruise over past an island with monasteries to a peninsula, climbed up the hill to an ancient church. A good visit. Would go again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 944S2
Michael T, Marketing Manager at Kuriftu Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for the candid Comment, Hope to see you at kuriftu resort and spa again.

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Arrived in late December 2016 with family of 6 (4 adults and 2 children) a very warm welcome, we had tried to book via the internet but failed due to some of the electronic communications systems being down. Within 5 mins walk to the town very good staff plenty and of hot water. They organised a trip for us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arthur-perrett
Michael T, Manager at Kuriftu Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Arthur-Perrett Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, We really appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ethiopia. Michael T

jerusalem
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We were the only guests in the hotel probably due to the lack of tourists in Bahar Dar at the time ( a month ago) so it was very strange to eat alone in the big restaurant and not have anyone to chat with nor see another face. The room was charming and the location and grounds good, although it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank eyelove2travel196
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016

stayed 2 nights in order to see the Meskel celebration and to visit some of the monasterys on Lake Tana. Lovely location beside the lake. Ask for second floor rooms as if it rains hard water can come in to lower rooms. Staff very nice. Evening meal better than breakfast - limited choices but nicely presented. the ice cream is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorelie f

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bahar Dar hotels
0.5 mi away
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
#4 of 15 in Bahar Dar
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
#2 of 15 in Bahar Dar
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tana Hotel
Tana Hotel
#12 of 15 in Bahar Dar
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rahnile Hotel
Rahnile Hotel
#3 of 15 in Bahar Dar
42 reviews
1.4 mi away
BenMas Hotel
BenMas Hotel
#6 of 15 in Bahar Dar
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakemark Hotel
Lakemark Hotel
#8 of 15 in Bahar Dar
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Kuriftu Resort and Spa

Address: Bahar Dar, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Bahar Dar
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Kuriftu Hotel Bahar Dar
Kuriftu Resort And Spa Ethiopia/Bahar Dar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kuriftu Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
india
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kuriftu Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“take a flash light in case the lights go out at night.”
 of 5 bubbles lorelief, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor lake view rooms were extremely nice.”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a terrace are superior”
 of 5 bubbles UlrikeP622, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs room with a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles Abeshababe, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“close to the lake by the restaurant or swimming-pool”
 of 5 bubbles andargachewh, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5