We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wildwood on the Lake

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wildwood on the Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 250: English reviews
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Wildwood on the Lake is a very quaint rustic place in Lake Placid. Other "main road" Hotels and Motels are triple the cost and parking access is next to impossible. Wildwood is clean and has many amenities you would not find at downtown lodging; is ON Lake Placid with free use of canoes, kayaks and paddle boats. Indoor heated pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristalslager
Milford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This place was great! It is by no means luxury but that does not matter when you are vacationing in the Adirondacks! We stayed in a room above the pool. It was a nice room with plenty of space. The place is right on Lake Placid and they offer plenty of amentities from kayaks, row boats, paddle boats, pool, sauna,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren L
Wigan,England
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Had a bottom floor motel room with patio with great views of the lake,only downside being the noise with people walking about in the room above.Disappointed with indoor pool,listed as heated but very cold.Good twenty minute walk into the town centre,Saranac lake and Whiteface mountain within easy driving distance.Plenty of restaurants and shopping available all in all a good place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterWigan_England
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and the heads up of the cool pool Sir. We had found earlier this week, before reading this review, that the flow valve on the heating unit had stopped working which immediately shuts off the heating element. A replacement was ordered and is being replaced today returning the pool to the comfortable 81 degrees we advertise....

Louisville
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

This was previously a 5 star rating, but j changed it to 4 due to a conversation I had with the owner/manager and a conversation I overheard her having with another couple stay in at the motel. The property is kept well very well, with Adirondack style chairs strewn throughout the back to overlook the lake. There is a gazebo,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jessika F
felixFelix, Manager at Wildwood on the Lake, responded to this review

Between my wife and I, the owners and our office help, we deal with absolutely everything here on-site. How we wish we could wave the magic wand and cure all problems people decide they may have after reading a review of the nature. The way someone overhears a conversation, considers advice rude and feel your own questions were not answered...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I have used trip advisor for reviews for several years and never end up writing a review myself but this place really should get credit for what if offers. My husband, daughter and son-in-law stayed in cottage 107. It has two bedrooms, a nice cozy but airy sitting area and a nice kitchenette with a big table and benches. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joan48713
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Wanted a couple of quiet relaxing days before picking up our daughter at Saranac Village -- she was on work crew there for a month. Wildwood on the Lake was the perfect place. The motel is very well maintained and offers so much to do besides just a room to sleep. Our room seemed to be recently renovated with new...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sleeshark
Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Beautiful views, premium location right on the lake, impeccably maintained, every amenity needed for a perfect vacation. Our favorite summer spot. Guests like us come back year after year. We absolutely love it! The only problem is that it's very hard to leave.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laurie033
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We have been coming here every summer for the last 13 years. Our kids love it. Has everything you need. The rooms are clean and basic with everything you need for trip to the Adirondacks. We usually BBQ by the lake at least one night and walk into the village of Lake Placid for dinner a few nights. We almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed P
new york
Reviewed 3 August 2016

stayed here for three nights over the annual CanAm rugby weekend. Overall, it's a nice little family run hotel that fits the bill. first floor opens to the hotel's backyard and overlooks the lake. They have a small boat area with a few kayaks, canoes and boards. Nice lake fed pool in the front and an indoor pool, i'm guessing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank captaindavebklyn
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We go to Lake Placid 2 or 3 times a year, and we only stay here. I have never had a bad experience. There is a ping pong table, indoor pool, outdoor pool, free kayaks, free paddle boats, grills, fire pit, gazebo, chairs, docks. The owners are always on premises, and are so accommodating. It is a small place, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Josie Y

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Placid
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#5 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and operated by the Weber's for 40 years, join us this winter to take in all the Whiteface Lake Placid Region has to offer. Enjoy our convenient location to restaurants & stores. All rooms are non-smoking, come equipped with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, cable, iron & hairdryer. Efficiencies/Cottages some with kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs add to the ADK experience. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna. Join us for coffee & muffins in the lobby from 8am. Free Wi-Fi. Flat Screen TVs.Ski&Stay, Group and Winter packages available. We look forward to speaking with you to plan your getaway! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wildwood on the Lake

Address: 2135 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range: £54 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Wildwood On The Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Wildwood On The Lake Placid
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wildwood on the Lake staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wildwood on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose an upstairs motel room with lake views”
 of 5 bubbles PeterWigan_England, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“lake front or cottage”
 of 5 bubbles joan48713, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs front rooms are spacious with a fantastic view and some even have gas fireplaces.”
 of 5 bubbles DRD9, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The cabins looked wonderful; would like to try. Anything facing the bay is exquisite.”
 of 5 bubbles Loricapress, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles Tgold109, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5