We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sunrise Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunrise Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 117: English reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We had the whole place to ourselves first night and that was great. We had Unit 1 which was excellent, so if that's available pick that one! My only other comment would be that we were really looking forward to going to Montauk, and we were really disappointed. Like some faded small 60's beach town, junk shopping, not one decent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
new mildord ct
Reviewed 8 October 2016

While having breakfast on the porch outside our living room we happened to speak with a woman who has visited this wonderful place a number of times. She told us of watching whales from the breakfast room through binoculars which are always on the window sill for patrons enjoyment. Unfortunately for us no whales appeared during our stay. Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jim h
John G, Owner at Sunrise Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I forgot to cue the whales during your stay (LOL). We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return someday. Hopefully, the whales will return then.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We had such a great experience here at the Sunrise Guest House! Clean, updated rooms w pottery barn style. Super friendly and informative hosts. Delicious breakfast w homemade breads. The ocean is steps away across the street and the beach is just amazing. We can't wait to go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garlowmeghan
John G, Owner at Sunrise Guest House, responded to this review

We look forward to your return and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next time!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed one night here for my first trip to Montauk. I think the location is fantastic. I read other reviews before booking and was made aware of the chalk board for arrivals. I did as much research as I could before arriving in Montauk but it would have been nice to have someone there during my check in to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Island_Paradis
John G, Owner at Sunrise Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we appreciate it. Hopefully we you will come back to stay with us again on your next trip to Montauk.

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Was impressed by the friendliness of the owners and the charm of our accommodations. The ocean is across the street. All the charm of Montauk is close by. All around a wonderful experience Will definitely be back !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
John G, Owner at Sunrise Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your opinion matters to us and we really appreciate it. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Westchester County, New York
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We had a great time at the inn and felt right at home. We are looking forward to a return trip in the fall and even winter. the inn is on a beautiful and quiet stretch of highway! We will be back! The owners couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vgb2
John G, Owner at Sunrise Guest House, responded to this review

Your review means so much to us and we appreciate you taking the time. We look forward to your return trip. See you next time!

Winnenden, Germany
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Loved it to be there! It was a perfect stay. The Hotel is really next to the sea. Everything is chosen with love and fits perfectly together. Also the breakfast is top! There is enough parking space in front and next door a good restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielafeit
John G, Owner at Sunrise Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us.

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

A place to discover. Little gem a few steps away from the ocean, great breakfast and spacious rooms, with fireplace, super comfy, great views. Highly recommend it. It was hard to leave this little paradise. I look forward going back. Thanks John and Stacey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meliza J
John G, Owner at Sunrise Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Look forward to your next stay

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in Suite 2. Sunrise Guest House was a delightful place to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. The suite was spacious with a beautiful view of the ocean. The common areas were also very comfortable. The owners goal of wanting his guests to feel like you rented a house at the beach was spot on.Thats exactly how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cruzin917
John G, Owner at Sunrise Guest House, responded to this review

So happy you felt at home with us!!! Look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at Sunrise Guest House. The view from the front porch out to the ocean was wonderful - a lovely way to wake up in the morning! The breakfast was continental with very high quality options like fresh bagels, muffins, homemade banana bread, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee and tea. We stayed in a very small room but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison G
John G, Owner at Sunrise Guest House, responded to this review

So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We usually have no issues with flies on the beach. That was a couple of days of huge surf and I think it stimulates them out of the brush. We look forward to you returning

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
1.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
3.3 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 41 in Montauk
457 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 41 in Montauk
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#16 of 41 in Montauk
130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 41 in Montauk
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique & unpretentious getaway,just steps to miles of beautiful beaches & a great ocean view. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunrise Guest House

Address: 681 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5000
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Price Range: £103 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Guest House Hotel Montauk
Sunrise Guest House Montauk, New York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunrise Guest House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sunrise Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“take room # 1 if possible”
 of 5 bubbles jimh923, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“alle gut! 2,3 sind super”
 of 5 bubbles danielafeit, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not sure where to go and what to do, the proprietor is a great help.”
  • Lounging
 of 5 bubbles dfr031260, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room #4 is the corner room on the second floor with great views of the water.”
 of 5 bubbles Martha144, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Lovely ocean view from room #2”
 of 5 bubbles HeleneandMark, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay