We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Otjiwarongo, Waterberg Plateau Park Namibia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (94)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 in Waterberg Plateau Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated on a hill in a wide valley of the Waterberg mountain range, the Waterberg Valley Lodge overlooks the green valley and the red mountain walls. The canvas walls of the affordable Econo Chalets give your overnight accommodation an outdoor-feel; a double ceiling keeps the interior cool. Every chalet has its own brick bathroom and a small patio.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family

Location

Full view
Contact
Otjiwarongo, Waterberg Plateau Park Namibia
Getting there
Hosea Kutako Intl Airport139 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
75Reviews2Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 31
  • 13
  • 6
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Highland-Birder wrote a review Jun 2020
Tain, United Kingdom1986 contributions341 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I stayed here for one night during our recent tour of Namibia. The Lodge consists of a number of small Tented Lodges which were very well constructed and maintained. Each lodge has a terrace with stunning views of the Waterberg Plateau. All the tent windows had privacy blinds and the terrace had large sun curtains to shade the room. The shower room is attached to the tent but is of a more substantial brick & tile construction. The whole Tent Lodge & Shower room were very well appointed. Our meals were taken in the main building, just a short walk away. The restaurant provided a buffet style breakfast and a set menu evening meal, we were slightly concerned about this type of meal both being strict vegetarians, we needn’t have worried, they specialty catered for our needs. The food was delicious. In the afternoon they provide Tea, Coffee and Cake. Late afternoon, early evening a member of staff visited every lodge and lit the outside wood boiler which provided ample hot water, even for the next morning. A lovely, quaint lodge. Free WiFi in the main building, although we managed to access the WiFi from our lodge. NOTE: On arrival there are staff present to carry your luggage to your lodge as you have to park a short distance away and the terrain for those less mobile can be quite challenging. If you have mobility issues it’s worth mentioning this when booking. Highly Recommended
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline Rust, Owner at Waterberg Valley Lodge
Responded 12 Feb 2021
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Waterberg Wilderness. Our employees were happy about the positive feedback. With warm regards from the Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve
Read more
topojack wrote a review Feb 2020
Eindhoven, The Netherlands56 contributions45 helpful votes
We stayed 2 nights at the Valley lodge. The tents are spatious with good bed and shower plus a balcony that provides a top view of Waterberg plateau. We did all 5 hikes that are set out. They are all called easy but I would only classify the Giraffe trail and thr botanical trail as easy. The other 3 I would classify as medium due to the climbing over lots of boulders. All hikes are beautiful. The pool is small and would be greatly improved with a few pool beds. We actually took the car in the afternoon to the Wilderness lodge and used one of their pools and poolbeds. The food was average but sufficient. We received several times the answer "out of stock" with gin, sparling water, plain jogurt. My wife has a sugar allergy and the chef went out of his way to cook something for her without sugar. Praise for him! We took part in the Rhino drive. That was a superb experiencd and met their 6 white Rhinos in person. We would certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge
Responded 21 Feb 2020
We like to apologise for the supply issues which were caused by an unfortunate internal misunderstanding. Great that you enjoyed our nature trails. We will look into revising our descriptions. Best regards from the whole team of Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve, including our white rhinos ;-)
Read more
Outnabout1522 wrote a review Sept 2019
Brisbane, Australia74 contributions54 helpful votes
The accommodation is in quite good safari tents with good en-suite bathrooms. We were there in mid-September but had a couple of (apparently unseasonal) hot days. We were in Tent 4 and our verandah copped the full afternoon sun and became quite uncomfortable. The pool was refreshing (=cold) but there is nowhere to relax around the pool so it is just a quick dip to cool of and then back to the hot tent. The meals are reasonable except for the inedible kudu “schnitzel” (crumbed thick steak) one of us had one night. Some walking trails are not well defined and quite rocky, so take care!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge
Responded 24 Sept 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We are planning some changes as soon as the high season is over, so your comments are most welcome. However, all verandas are equipped with a canvas "curtain" to provide shade. Apologies for the thick kudu schnitzel. We will remind our team in the butchery to cut the meat for schnitzels thin at all times. The walking trails are well marked, but because of the severe drought there are passages where the bush died so you do have to look twice to see where to go... Great to hear that you explored our valley on some of our six nature trails on your own. Best greetings from Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve
Read more
Vera N wrote a review Sept 2019
22 contributions3 helpful votes
The Waterberg Valley is absolutely gorgeous and this lodge is right in the middle of it. The Waterberg plateau is all around, so you'll be sure to wake up with the most amazing views. We saw lots of birds and dikdiks around our tented chalet too. The nights were very cold (2-5 degrees C), so the chalet was cold too - be prepared for that! The dinner and breakfast were served in an half open room with great views onto the valley. During those times it was cool as well but with a jacket it was all right. The staff sang me a birthday song and baked me a birthday cake: SO lovely. Thank you so much again!! We took one of the hikes which I would definetely recommend to explore the beautiful nature. And we did the rhino drive, where we encountered our first wildlife like ostriches, giraffes, zebras, several antilopes, white rhinos passing just a couple meters away from us. I would love to come back and highly recommend this lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge
Responded 18 Sept 2019
Aaaw! Sounds like you had an unforgettable birthday at our Waterberg Valley Lodge. We are glad that our team and the four-legged members of our nature reserve could contribute to make it special ;-) A big "thank you" for your five star comment! Best regards from the whole team of Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve
Read more
Jonahdj wrote a review Sept 2019
London, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
lovely comfortable tented rooms with great views of the plateau. It was COLD at night and we were snug under the extra furry blanket provided. Set menu at night was hearty and delicious, glad of a jumper and the massive campfire burning in the middle of the dining room as it was cold at night. Staff lovely here apart from a grumpy man on the desk where you booked the activities
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge
Responded 18 Sept 2019
Thank you for your feedback and your pointer to our receptionist, which enabled us to address this issue in our recent team meeting. Please accept his apologies. We hope that you did not only enjoy our restaurant on top of the hill in the middle of the Waterberg valley and your tented chalet with the brick bath, but also explored the valley on one of our six nature trails... Best regards from the Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve
Read more
Caroline W wrote a review Aug 2019
Bristol, United Kingdom76 contributions16 helpful votes
We stayed at Waterberg Valley Lodge for one night en route from Etosha to Windhoek. Really wish we could have stayed longer. It is so beautiful here. We'd spent most of our holiday camping, so the lodge tent was a welcome change, and the views from the balcony were incredible. My husband and I did one of the well-marked hikes of the valley late in the afternoon. It took about 2.5 hours and was stunning. Just what we needed after long days sitting in cars. The scenery in the valley is so different to lots of what we'd seen around Namibia, the plants very different too. We saw some warthogs grazing on the grass near their other lodge, as well as some baboons on the rocks. The meal was three-courses and was delicious - although you don't get to choose what you have - it's a set menu. After dinner we got to see some porcupines out the back of the restaurant - looking for scraps from people's plates. Amazing to see them up close like that. Breakfast was ok - but not the best we'd had in Namibia. We would have loved to stay longer here but unfortunately we ran out of time. The staff were also very helpful and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge
Responded 18 Sept 2019
Don't blame us for not having told you in advance ;-) On our website we explicitly recommend to stay at least two nights to have time to explore our nature reserve... Nobody should visit the Waterberg to spend the night at a lodge, however comfortable or stunning it may be. The real experience is the nature, the typical African bush savannah on the endless plains of the Kalahari and the lush vegetation on the slope of the Waterberg. The diverse fauna, from white rhino and giraffe to damara dik-dik and rock hyrax. The history and the culture of the Herero people living in this area. We offer game drives and Rhino Tracking tours (on foot), guided hikes onto the Waterberg plateau and a cultural tour to a homestead and a little town of the Herero, as well as six nature trails including our "Botanical Garden" and our "History Path". So, yes, great that you did one of our nature trails in our idyllic valley. However, you will understand that you NEED to visit us again before you can really say that you experienced the Waterberg ;-) Best regards from the private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness
Read more
Joni O wrote a review May 2019
Middelburg, The Netherlands278 contributions38 helpful votes
We did not like this lodge. On the website the rooms looks like tents but they are in fact steel structures with canvas on the outside. There is little privacy. The food was below average (normally I do not complain about food but at this lodge it really was below standard compared to all the other lodges we've stayed. Staff was not super friendly We talk to a guide and he was not speaking positively about his employer which probably explains the attitude of the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: In ieder geval niet nummer 6, iedereen loopt dan langs je veranda.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge
Responded 8 Jun 2019
Our chalets have canvas walls, as we clearly state on our website. Don't forget to mention that the Waterberg Valley Lodge is the low-budget accommodation option in our private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness, offering the feeling of living in nature without denying yourself the comfort of a brick bath. We have about 2,500 guests a year, the majority of which praises our lodge team as very friendly and helpful. However, in April we hired a new waitress and a new waiters who are in the process of being trained. They might be insecure in certain situations and come across unfriendly. As in any company, now and then there are things an employee is not happy about. These issues are discussed and solved in our monthly staff meetings. This also refers to the specific problem of the guide you spoke to. Best regards from the Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve
Read more
Julien_F_y wrote a review Apr 2019
Cachan, Ile-de-France, France16 contributions5 helpful votes
All the people working here are very helpful The view from the bar is spot on The sanitary are above average The swimming pools have a very nice atmosphere The hiking trails are nice The rhino drive is worth it
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge
Responded 8 Jun 2019
And your comment is great ;-) Thank you! Best regards from Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve
Read more
Reismier wrote a review Jul 2018
Durbanville, South Africa61 contributions7 helpful votes
My husband and I spend 2 nights at the magnificent Valley Lodge. Tranquility is the name of the game. The tent,complete with a little stoep and chairs, offered a breathtaking view of the valley and cliffs. I missed a small table on the stoep... The on suite brick bathroom with hot water is a nice-to-have, especially in winter. The restaurant has a splendid view of the platou. Because of the considerable temperature drop during winter it gets very cold and unfortunaly the fire is not enough to heat up the restaurant. Maybe it would be wise to replace the curtain with glass doors. Dinner and breakfast was good but I strongly suggest a hot plate or bay marines to keep food warm. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Worth a visit for families and couples alike.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Owner at Waterberg Valley Lodge
Responded 16 Jul 2018
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, although you were really unlucky to have been with us during an unusually strong "cold front": This one even pushed clouds from the cape all the way up to northern central of Namibia and let it rain in Windhoek (!). On chilly winter evenings we don't only light a fire in our restaurant but also have blankets on the chairs. We are a bit reluctant to close off the open side of our restaurant with glass segments & doors, because the openness is part of the "close to nature" concept... Best regards from the private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness
Read more
Ingrid D wrote a review Jul 2018
Montagu6 contributions
As a family of 4 we visited the Valley lodge last week - we really enjoyed our stay - the tents with their build bathrooms is surely a winner!! as it was very cold a nice hot shower and then jumping into the bed kept us smiling. We suggest a canvas "door" with see through panel for the restaurant as the wind was really cold in the evening and the fire not quite reaching all over. Dinner was good and well served. what about a hot-tray for keeping the lovely pap warm in the mornings? and the sausages as they was cold and lying in the fat. just a little extra care to the breakfast station ( cups, spoons etc ) would be super. The afternoon tea and cake was a real treat!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Owner at Waterberg Valley Lodge
Responded 16 Jul 2018
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and suggestions for improvement. We are in the process to convert/extend the lodge and its kitchen & restaurant area - so your input is coming at the right time. Best greetings, also in the name of the whole team of Waterberg Valley Lodge
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
NamibiaOtjozondjupa RegionWaterberg Plateau Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waterberg Valley Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Waterberg Valley Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Waterberg National Park (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Waterberg Valley Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Waterberg Valley Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Waterberg Valley Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waterberg Valley Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.