We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel

TravelocityUS$99*
View Deal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Gauthier\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our experience at Gauthier's was so good that we regretted not being able to stay longer. The hospitality was first-class, with spotless rooms, clean swimming pool, and outstanding service. Staff's courtesy was just amazing. Amenities include free canoe and kayak at the nearby lake. Reasonable price, relaxed atmosphere... we couldn't have asked for anything better. Gauthier's will definitely be our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bagradian
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I will be certain to pass along to all of the staff your kudos towards their work and effort to complete your stay. We look forward to your return visit to the Adirondacks and another stay at Gauthier's!

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The prices was great. We didn't have reservations and stopped in several motels to see what was available and at what prices. This place had the lowest price at $79. We asked to view the room and it was as clean as my house - the only problem was that the previous occupant had cooked something that smelled the place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ann p
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We are happy to have had an available room for you to meet your needs. Thank you for your appreciation towards our green program, it is very important to us and the practices are an area we take great pride in! Hope to see you again soon!

Winchester, Virginia
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I am so happy we found this place. Great location for Saranac and Placid hiking. We are already planning our next trip to the area. This hotel is a perfect setup-free bike rentals for exploring the area, fishing equipment (right on the lake) and canoe/kayak loaners. The rooms are clean and updated. The staff was spectacular and so friendly. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kl4bama
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. We agree, on the lake is the best! Thank you for your appreciation towards our GREEN program and recycling standards. We value your proactive approach while traveling as well. We look forward to your return stay and to host you as our guest's...

Herkimer, New York
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stepping out of the room and being 20 feet from the water was wonderful. Affordable and scenic. A quick car ride to Lake Placid -with all it's shops, eateries, and more- it was a great vacation. Hotel has kayaks, paddle boats, and bikes that you can use and no rental fees. We stayed in a lakeside suite, which has just...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank longislandgirl1999
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Happy anniversary to you and thank you for choosing us to host you on your special occasion! We are so happy to read your review and to know you had a memorable and comfortable experience as our guests. We all very much look forward to having you stay with us again and to celebrate another happy occasion! Best to you...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The door to our room was 4 steps away from the lake. We took the free kayaks out on Saranac Lake and then came back to the room and sat out and watched the sunset over the mountains. The staff was extremely accommodating and professional. The employee at the front desk assisted us in finding a great bar and grill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm so pleased you noted our green practices and valued the implementation. Our connection with our program and its reflection on our guests is one of our greatest prides. We are happy you enjoyed all of our amenities and had such a wonderful trip....

Borders, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked this motel online whilst travelling round NY state. Room was spacious and clean. Staff in reception friendly and there are boats and bikes to borrow for no extra charge. Bin in room for recycling and more recycling facilities near reception - live up to green credentials. Pool view rooms really are car park view rooms. Next to busy road....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank qwerty165
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to read you found our rooms to be clean, spacious and comfortable. We hope you enjoyed the boats, bicycles and other recreational amenities. We also appreciate your observance of our green practices. Many of the areas often go unnoticed like the recycled fiber carpets, organic linens and energy efficient methods for heating and cooling. The recycle bin...

new york
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have a relative in the area who recommended this place and we weren't disappointed. They have on site paddle boats and kayaks for free. They loaned me and my 5 year old son fishing poles (and worms!!) and he caught his first fish. A memory to cherish forever! There are board games to borrow if it rains and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewYorkBighawk68
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stay and for being our guests! We were so happy to accommodate your families needs and really enjoyed meeting all of you. What was best was to see how much fun you were having with your family and the kids too! We try to offer all of the things children enjoy as well as...

Albany, NY
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. The rooms were clean and looked like they were recently fixed up. We got the parking lot view (which was cheaper) but we spent most of daylight outside, so we didn't mind. They have several kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats that you can use. The lake is calm and nice to paddle around on....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NYtravelers_111
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have never experienced such a tiny hotel room in my 50 years of travelling. Granted I didn't realize that " intimate" in the description meant postage stamp size. The outstanding view was of the rear end of boats moored at the dock. The other window housed an air conditioner and was covered partially by a cedar tree and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary M
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your stay with us and are glad to see you noticed the cleanliness of your room, along with the pristine linens. We apologize you were not happy with the size of the room you booked. The room you booked has a variety of photos upon booking which are exact to it's size, a queen bed, spacious...

Camillus
Reviewed 29 May 2014

While visiting family and seeing the sites in the area we booked a room at Gauthier's for the evening. Like many of the places in the Adks it was an older hotel but the condition of the facility was in excellent, recently remodeled condition. Our accomidations were spotless and completely squared away. The rate for our stay was very reasonable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CamillusDave

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0.0 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
416 reviews
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,242 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
193 reviews
6.9 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
6.9 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful Adirondack Waterfront Saranac Lake's only GREEN lodging property- Offering waterfront accommodations on Lake Flower In Saranac Lake with access to over 30 miles of Adirondack waterways, including Upper, Middle, and Lower Saranac Lakes. Walk to shopping, dining, galleries, and enjoy our events; including the entertainment in neighboring Lake Placid NY. Only 20 minutes to Whiteface Mountain, where you'll find year round activities! Stay GREEN in the Adirondacks - Rated a Platinum Property by Audubon International's Eco Lodging Program - the highest designation possible, 1 of only 8 in North America. Saranac Lake Inn is committed to a new vision, fresh eco-conscious perspective, attention to detail and style, and a welcoming environment for our guest's from our family owned and operated lodge. Our rooms have been remodeled, redressed, and recycled with the environment in mind! The Adirondacks Recreation Resort Our focus is all about our guest's experience and making Adirondack recreation accessible. We provide a large variety of amenities and perks to help complete your trip; to make it easy for you to try a new activity while on vacation. Kayaks, bicycles, canoes, tennis, snowshoes and ice skating complementary with your stay- Just to name a few! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel

Address: 488 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2455
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Price Range: £83 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gauthier`s Saranac Lake Hotel Saranac Lake
Gauthiers Saranac Lake Hotel
Gauthiers Saranac Lake Motel
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn And Hotel New York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Consider other options”
Wanderlust13413, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try for a Lake View”
JoBeth13439, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not #35 if you really want to see the lake.”
54RonC25, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were very unhappy with the expensive room with obscured view.”
llcoppes44, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get a room at the Best Western!”
M8041BOvaleriec, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$99* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$109
Orbitz.comUS$99
Expedia.comUS$99
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates