Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection

Riverside Drive Branston, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP England
Traveller (251)
Breakfast
Room & Suite (29)
Breakfast
Dining (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Branston
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Riverside Drive Branston, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 46 out of 100
46
Birmingham Intl Airport
23.3 mi
See all flights
Nottingham Airport
814Reviews19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 358
  • 204
  • 116
  • 69
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Glynis Elgey wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had stayed at this hotel 5 yrs ago when we attended the VJ Day Celebrations at National Arboretum Memorial & I was so impressed with it last time I did not consider anywhere else. So when we got the invite to attend the VJ Day 75 Celebrations i quickly booked our room. We checked in on the Thursday afternoon & checked out on the Sunday mid morning. Ground floor rooms for mum & me. Staff were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. They did us a pack up for Saturday which was excellent. I would highly recomend this Hotel. I even got to photograph Egrets, Swans, Geese etc on the River Trent. The Covid19 that they had in place was excellent & as my mother is 91yrs I felt that we were in a safe environment. I would say the only downside would be the shower was over the bath & mum has mobility issues otherwise the room was satisfactory. Both the breakfast & evening meals were tasty and filling. There is a nature reserve nearby perhaps next time I may get to visit it but we had a busy schedule all weekend. Love the keyless entry all done with a swipe card, no keys to lose. There were plenty of sanitizers at the entrance and other parts of the Hotel. There was a 1 way system to sit out in the beer garden & altho' they had an app for ordering etc I chose to queue at the bar & they brought the drinks to you. I noticed all tables & chairs were sanitised as soon as someone had left so that it was safe for the next customer. A large free carpark with disabled bays. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Thanks for the high rating, it's really appreciated. I am glad you and your Mum had a good weekend
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise K wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have booked our annual Christmas party at the riverside for both 2018 & 2019. The function rooms are absolutely beautiful, with a very good variety of different foods for all guests. The first year we had a buffet with a wide selection of plates and the second year we were offered a hog roast which was brilliant. Karen and Zee have always been so great with us, very understanding and patience dealing with between 50-100 people. We have enjoyed both Christmas parties and I wouldn’t want to book another venue/function room, the Riverside is 100% the perfect place to go. It’s a complete hidden gem and deserves more recognition. The rooms at the riverside are beautiful and great value for money, and breakfast the next morning is fantastic. I cannot fault the Riverside at all.
I’d like to thank all of the staff for their very hard work in making us all feel comfortable and allowing us to have such a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene_K1ng, Manager at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Hi Louise.Thanks for the 5*Review. Glad the evening went so well. I will pass on your comments to Karen and Zee. Hopefully See you soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
coke-cola2013 wrote a review Jul 2021
10 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose The Riverside Hotel as our wedding venue as we live local to the venue. The grounds are beside the River Trent and make for a great setting for photos. The rooms are small but adequate and very modern my guests enjoyed having power showers. The main function room and ceremony room was just right in terms of size. We hired a local company who provided a fantastic DJ who had all our guests and our staff on the dancefloor and also dressed both rooms for us @BeatsweddingsandEvents. The team on the night led by Sandra were extremely attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lozzy60 wrote a review Aug 2020
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom20 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed from 14/16 for our wedding anniversary. Booked the superior room as on our previous two visits we’ve just had normal room which were fine. After unpacking & looking around found the room to have quite a lot of unsightly paint peeling of walls & ceiling, big cracks all around paint work & doors. All this room needs to make it superior is to have the cracks filled & a lick of paint to doors & walls. Bath was great although not the correct plug for it & one of the tap letter missing.
Restaurant...we booked for 07.30 was shown to table ordered food quite quickly & starter arrived but had to wait for an hour for main meal to arrive. Meal was not the best felt very disappointed with food all round from breakfast to lunch & evening meal. On the past two visits the food was amazing & couldn’t fault the taste & service but this time was a big disappointment. I don’t know if the chef has been changed recently. The staff were apologetic for the wait during dinner & we passed on our disappointment of the food to them which the server would pass on to her management. Unfortunately my husband was sick just after retiring to our room for the evening & the next morning after breakfast I came down with upset stomach which meant I was in the room all day. Staff were good & asked if anything they could do for us. Later that evening I was going to try a biscuit of the tea/coffee tray but when I bit into it was very soft & not tasty so threw it as didn’t want to start my stomach upset again. When I checked the second shortbread pack date I saw that it was out of date by 13months. I was shocked what has happened to this wonderful hotel that we loved going to. On checking the coffee & milk 1 of each were also out of date. My husband did report the biscuits to staff who replaced them with in date ones. Overall the whole weekend was a let down & don’t think we will be returning for a fourth time. But thank you for lovely staff who remain professional & hardworking
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pauline I wrote a review Aug 2020
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very excited to be catching up with friends we haven’t seen in 6 months and decIded to meet at the riverside at 6.30 mainly because of it’s beautiful garden and setting. Unfortunately the weather was awful so had to go indoors. Initial impression was not good as we waited for 10 mins in a corridor before being shown to our table. We were then taken into a large banqueting hall with only 5 tables in this vacuous room. Staff were wearing face visors but they stoped under the nose, menus were disposable and the toilets were one in one out. Waited 45 minutes for first drink. Long wait for starters and then the main courses arrived before the starter plates had been cleared from the table. Had to ask twice for cutlery. Food was awful, apart from the gammon, which was good. No atmosphere at all, for a large proportion of time there was only our table and a couple on another table in the room. The rest of the restaurant was busy. Felt ignored and forgotten about. Won’t be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection
Responded 2 Sept 2020
939paulinei, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
APieceofMind wrote a review Jan 2020
Abbots Bromley, United Kingdom47 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Last night we had a function at The Riverside Hotel to celebrate a birthday, with a buffet and live music. A group of us also stayed over and had an early evening meal before the party. Food was beautifully cooked and tasty.
The planning for the function has been great with brilliant support from Karen and Zayneb (Zee), and the function room was prepared beautifully for our guests. The buffet food was plentiful and very good quality; no one was left hungry and there was a good range of vegetarian options. The staff team (Jess and Zee) were brilliant; friendly, attentive and helpful. The hotel rooms, although a little small were perfect for us. Everyone slept well on the very comfortable beds. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked.
All in, we had a magnificent time and I would absolutely recommend the Riverside whether just for a meal, a function or an overnight stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiversideCRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Hi Emily Many thanks for the review. Very glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon. I pass pass on your kind comments to Karen, Zee and Jess
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vera P wrote a review Jan 2020
Watford, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a very warm welcome when I got to the hotel. The room had everything in that you may need, from tea and coffee to hair dryer and ironing board and iron. The bed was very comfortable. The party in the evening was amazing. The staff went well above and begond to make the evening a huge success. Would highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiversideCRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Good Afternoon Many thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your party and see you again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daz Ness R wrote a review Feb 2020
Swadlincote, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The manager could not have been more helpful in setting up a table for 14 and helping dress and decorate to exactly what my husband wanted for my 50th birthday meal - and all at no extra cost to being in the main restaurant.
The food was outstanding every single one of us had a gorgeous meal, we weren’t rushed and the waiting staff were attentive and friendly.
We would definitely recommend this lovely restaurant and thank you for making it such a wonderful evening
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene_K1ng, Manager at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Hi. Many thanks for the review. Glad you had a good night and look forward to seeing you soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanna C wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom8 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our 1st visit to the Riverside on Easter Sunday evening - AMAZING service! It’s been a long time since we’ve been to a pub restaurant and been made to feel valued by the staff in the way we were today - both people who served us were attentive and friendly, but so was everyone else working in the pub. It was also refreshing to watch a team genuinely come together and help and support each other on many occasions and to see tables etc being thoroughly and properly cleaned. There was an attention to detail and pride in the work being carried out.
Our food was fab, we really enjoyed it - perfectly cooked and well presented.
As we said first time visiting, but sure won’t be the last. Sandra your team really did you proud and made it a very enjoyable evening for us. Thank you! 😊
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection
Responded 27 Apr 2022
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day! We look forward to your next visit, take care! Regards Sandra Hudson (General Manager)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wayne r wrote a review Jan 2022
Cardigan, United Kingdom25 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
not to be a grinch but the service wasn't that good. or the staff didn't communicate with each other.
we had reserved a room over a week before arrival, when we got the key to our room it was dirty and hadn't been cleaned after the last guests had left. unmade bed ,dirty cups and towels etc..
we went back to reception had an apology and were given a new room, no problem its Christmas. but.
we had paid for a packed evening meal to be left in our room. Christmas evening it wasn't there when we got back. so we phoned the number repeatedly and couldn't get an answer i went to try the main reception which was shut and found a couple locked out in the cold. they had a key but it didn't work eventually someone turned up for them.
boxing day morning as we were checking out i saw two packed meals by the rubbish i asked one of the cleaners which room it had come from and was told it was the room we had turned down.
Christmas was a bit of a let down.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: check it first
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection
Responded 6 Jan 2022
Hi Wayne R, it's a shame we didn't wow you when you visited us. If you'd like to share any feedback on your visit please get in touch and let me know using 6498@greeneking.co.uk Regards Sandra Hudson (General Manager)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Keith S
Yateley, United Kingdom40 contributions16 helpful votes
I would ring the front desk, they are very helpful. We didn’t notice any but there again we didn’t need any. Very best.
Melvin L asked a question Jul 2022
Check in time
Answer from clareturner73
Gloucester, United Kingdom203 contributions30 helpful votes
They do have a lock back office. Im sure once they decide to be in reception you could ask. If not i wouldnt leave in reception, too many people come and go.
Answer from Gary M
Swadlincote, United Kingdom55 contributions61 helpful votes
Normal check out is about 11am Suggest you contact the hotel direct to see if they can help
Colin G wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check around before choosing this restaurant."
Read full review
MrAscot264 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Mundesley, United Kingdom133 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ideally located for visiting the National Memorial Arboretum."
Read full review
Alan P wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just stay and enjoy"
Read full review
Kerrie M wrote a tip Jan 2024
Burton upon Trent20 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid if you want a table to sit at in the bar area"
Read full review
Thornbridge wrote a tip Jun 2023
NE England40 contributions46 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t pre-order breakfast. Check on the day that they have what you want. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Branston area.
PRICE RANGE
£73 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riverside hotel staffordshire
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStaffordshireBurton upon TrentBranston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIVERSIDE HOTEL BY CHEF & BREWER COLLECTION - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection?
Nearby attractions include Branston Water Park (0.6 miles) and Branston Golf Range (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bridge Inn, Miller & Carter, and Merry Monk Beefeater.
Is Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Branston.
Are pets allowed at Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Claymills Victorian Pumping Station (3.8 miles), Jinnie Trail (4.3 miles), and Sinai Park House (1.3 miles).
Does Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Riverside Hotel by Chef & Brewer Collection accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Branston HotelsBranston Hotel Deals
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire