Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Le Grand Bleu Hotel

Traveller (360)
Panorama at the Le Grand Bleu Hotel
360
Panoramas (9)
Le jardin
Room & Suite (175)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
£93
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#7 of 9 hotels in Trou aux Biches
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Hindi
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Table tennis
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Coastal Road, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius 22322
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 65 out of 100
65
S. Seewoosagur Ram. Intl Airport
28.9 mi
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 0.75 miles
616Reviews25Q+A78Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 224
  • 208
  • 91
  • 48
  • 45
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sameer Nandan M R wrote a review Dec 2020
Bengaluru, India25 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Le Grand Bleu is a beautfiul property with a very friendly Staff.
The room we stayed in in slightly smaller and felt a bit cramped. However since it was on first floor and offered a decent view, we did not ask for a change. But for other guests who did, the hotel staff were more than happy to oblige.

The Hotel is right on the coast with beach just across the road. We had a great time going for an early morning walk and swim everyday. Dont forget to get the towels from the Hotel Gate before you go for the swim. The breakfast and dinner spreads are quite lavish ranging from Continental to Indian. The Restaurant bar is well stocked and prices are more or less the same you see in most Mauritian Restaurants if not a tad bit highers.
There are quite some activities around too - Blue Safari, the submarine safari is right next door. The hotel as it is though is a little away from most spots and will take a while to get to any place. This is a blessing in disguise as you get to see the peaceful seas not swarmed by tourists. Also since its on the western side of the island, the sea is calmer.
The hotel staff is friendly and are ready to make you feel welcome always. They can help you book taxi at almost no extra cost. We found the Taxi price similar. If you are a bit into exploring local transportation like us, you can take the Local Buses to travel - pretty cheap and get you there in decent time. If you feel adventurous though, you can hire a two wheeler right next door.
All in all, great property, great food, while a little far away, very calm and has one of the best beaches of Mauritius on offer.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rishi N wrote a review Nov 2023
Thurston, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently spent two weeks at Le Grand Bleu Hotel and it surpassed all of our expectations. From the moment we arrived, we experienced the warmest of welcomes and what sets the hotel apart is the quality of the people who work here. Nothing was ever too much trouble! All of the team always have a smile and seem to genuinely care about every guest in the hotel. Guest relations made sure to check in with us every day at breakfast and any minor issues we may have had were always sorted immediately. There seemed to be a constant desire to know what more they could do to improve our experience.

Which brings us on to the food, which was amazing, and there was a great selection to cater to everyone's taste every day. Our kids were big fans of the buffet breakfast! Evening meals are a brilliant mix with something for everyone alongside traditional Mauritian dishes.

Our room was perfect for our young family, and our kids felt at home very quickly. The beds were among the most comfortable we've stayed in anywhere!

The hotel is perfectly located - not only is it literally across the road from the beach, but it's also close (a short drive) to tourist hotspots like Grand Baie.

Overall, we couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough if you truly want to experience the famous Mauritian hospitality and culture. We'll definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Hire a car to experience as much of the island as possible!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Le Grand Bleu Hotel, General Manager at Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2023
Dear Mr/Mrs Rishin, We thank you for your stay at Le Grand Bleu Hotel. We take good notes for your appreciation and feedback. we hope to have you again soon at Le Grand Bleu Hotel for a better experience. With best regards, The Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tejhunn Ramchurn wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for here for my quarantine and experienced nothing negative.

Great variety in food, staff especially curtious (particularly Baboo - who was always on standby and helped incredibly with some minor issues).

The room view made for a perfect, in fact beautiful reason to relax.

The hospitality of Le Grand Bleu staff really came through with the regular check up (care calls) from the management (Mr Ramdhun).

Highly recommend it to all my friends and family.

Thank you LGBH
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
THEEXPERIENCER wrote a review Sept 2021
13 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the worst service I've seen in a hotel in my life. I went there for my 14 days quarantine in Mauritius.

First day of arrival, the shower room was dirty, the bathtub/shower curtain was full of mold, hairs everywhere around the sink. After a few calls to reception they changed the curtain of the shower. The shower head was broken, this was fixed on day one.

Ac was not working since arrival, however the weather was cold, i didn't realize It was not working. During my stay the weather got warmer on the 29th night, i called the reception 11am to inform them about the issue. I followed up during the day but the only answer I got, they are doing there best and it is departure day so they are busy. I tried to understand, however around 8pm i called again since the issue was still same, He start to tell me that the he told the maintenance guy to check but the maintenance staff never came, so he can't help me about this, also the receptionist said it's too late, need to wait for next day to fix and The Receptionist asked me to call again in the morning to remind them to do this the next day. I asked for a Fan since at night the room is stuffy. He just replied this is not possible. He mentioned the AC IS GOOD ITS JUST IT IS NOT COLD. Real mind blown!! I start to ask myself what is the definition of an AC. The receptionist called me a few minutes after 8pm asked me to call the reception to confirm if the maintenance guy really came to my room to check again. I've been hanging there until the next morning and the maintenance never came to do so.

31st 8am i informed the room service staff again (he is the same staff who do maintanance), they said they will do there best. 2pm nothing was done, i called the reception for an explanation, he said they are still working on it.
After fixing, the ac broke again after 2 days.

This a 3 star hotel apparently but the staffs got no proper training how to handle situations
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Le Grand Bleu Hotel, General Manager at Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Responded 23 Sept 2021
Dear Mr. Manveer, I refer to your complaint regarding your stay in our quarantine centre of Le Grand Bleu Hotel and after thorough inquiry from my floor supervisor, I would like to clarify the points below: 1. Shower curtain You called the reception upon arrival and you complained about the shower curtain. We took the matter seriously and within minutes the shower curtain was replaced by a new one despite knowing the fact we were taking the risk of health hazard. Let me also remind you that before being attended by any staff at your request we had to get the green light from the doctor in charge. 2. Shower tap not operational. We are given to understand that you did not press the shower mixer button since you complained that no water was coming from the shower head. Our maintenance staff gave you a demonstration and finally you were enjoying your shower. 3. Problem of Air conditioner We have been told that you switched on the AC during your stay and you left your balcony door wide open. This is obvious that the cool air have escaped through the door and by doing so you also ran the risk for a leakage of water through the AC indoor unit due to condensation. You again complained that the AC was not working on the 29th night. The next day, my supervisor together with the maintenance officer did an inspection of the outdoor unit and they also did the refilling of cold gas. Immediately after he called you to check whether the AC was functionning. You said that it was ok. My Supervisor also gave you the option to change your room in case you are not satisfied with the AC. But you voiced out that the problem is solved and you are not willing to shift to an another room. As such taking into consideration all the facts above, I don't understand what were your motive behind these complaints since we took all the actions needed in due course despite operating as a quarantine centre.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
smriti s wrote a review Aug 2022
8 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing hotel, few steps away from beach.
Hotel indoors are very beautiful and staff is very supportive specially restaurant staff, they consider your requirements and prepare food as per your request. Saturday night is lit with the musical performance by a local band. Everyone is so helpful from hotel guard to hotel manager.
Value for money, definitely going again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Le Grand Bleu Hotel, General Manager at Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Responded 8 Sept 2023
Dear Mme Smriti Sharma, We thank you for your stay at Le Grand Bleu Hotel. We take good notes for your appreciation and feedback where we can improve. We hope to have you again soon at Le Grand Bleu Hotel for a better experience. With best regards, The Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sirkka wrote a review Jan 2024
Finland11 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our experience was poor because surprisely in the middle of taking our order the waiter left our table to serve another table. She left one member of our table party completely without taking an order 🤯 after that she came back to our table to take the order after serving another table.
Food review. As for the pasta carbonara, the food was completely tasteless and watery. The fish portions were okay but there sould has been a little bit more of sauce on the fish. The calmari dishes needed more sauce, but otherwise they tasted good. The table salt was lumpy.
We asked the waiter for more beer. We waited a long time and noticed that the waiter was serving drinks to other customers. We asked the waiter where our drinks were, she said that the beer had run out and that only warm beer would be available. In the future, we would like the waiters to be more attentive to customers.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Le Grand Bleu Hotel, General Manager at Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Dear Madame Sirka, We thank you for your stay at the Hotel Le Grand Bleu. We take good notes for your appreciation, comments and feedback so that we can ameliorate our services we sincerely apologies for all the inconvenient caused. We hope to see you again soon at Hôtel Le Grand Bleu for a better experience. Kind regards, Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gopi M wrote a review Aug 2023
Thane, India8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay in this property during our family vacation to Mauritius was simply amazing and we had a fantastic experience with the people who were taking care of us during the stay.

The people at the front desk the support team, I would like to name Aftab, Abhishek, Pushkar, Anil, Visha for their warm hospitality and assistance throughout our stay.

A stay away from home always reminds you of home food, however the restaurant at Le Grand Bleu did not allow us to miss it. We were served with a variety of tasty cuisine ranging from European to Indian. This was possible because of Mr Shailesh. Beboo, Christope, and Yuvnesh
Thanks to all of you for making us feel at home away from home.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Le Grand Bleu Hotel, General Manager at Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Responded 6 Sept 2023
Dear Mr. Gopi, We thank you for your stay at Le Grand Bleu Hotel. We take good notes for your appreciation and feedback where we can improve and we hope to have you again soon at Le Grand Bleu Hotel for a better experience. With best regards, The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanya Hirani wrote a review 21 May
Mumbai, India5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Le Grand Bleu was absolutely amazing. The restaurant manager, Sachin Mudhoo, and Chef Deepak Bhatt ensured our dining experience was great with food that left us wanting more. The ambiance of the hotel was perfect, with cozy rooms, a refreshing swimming pool, and delightful live music. The close access to the beach added an extra layer of convenience and charm to our stay. Highly recommend Le Grand Bleu for an unforgettable getaway!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Le Grand Bleu Hotel, General Manager at Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Tanyahirani, We are very happy that you enjoy a lot for your holidays at Le Grand Bleu Hotel. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again there. The Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
d g wrote a review Mar 2023
Mumbai, India2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The place Grows on you !
I had a pool + sea facing room & was so nice to sit on the balcony/ front porch.
I location is GREAT.... 10 steps and you are on the Bech, one of the best beaches in Mauritius.
At first I honestly didn't like the place at all... but as The day passed by I started enjoying myself & eventually really liked the place.
Food is goodish, you will never go back to your room hungry.
For the price you pay, its a good property !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Le Grand Bleu Hotel, General Manager at Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Responded 8 Sept 2023
Dear Mrs Darshan Gokani, We thank you for your stay at Le Grand Bleu Hotel. We take good notes for your appreciation and feedback where we can improve. We hope to have you again soon at Le Grand Bleu Hotel for a better experience. With best regards, The Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TerenceCardoz wrote a review Mar 2023
Mauritius65 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Le Grand bleu Hotel for 2 nights this month and appreciate the Hotel for the quality of service extended to me during my stay. The room was amazing with view of the swimming pool. The food both for breakfast and dinner was good and I enjoyed the Dinner for both nights . Saturday was live music with Sega Dance show. The hotel is opposite the beach . From check in to Check out a very professional attitude . I recommend this hotel to families of all nationalities .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Le Grand Bleu Hotel, General Manager at Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Responded 8 Sept 2023
Dear Mr Terence Cardoz, We thank you for your stay at Le Grand Bleu Hotel. We take good notes for your appreciation and feedback where we can improve. We hope to have you again soon at Le Grand Bleu Hotel for a better experience. With best regards, The Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from jnandj2109
Surrey, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
We were not staying at this hotel but have been a couple of times for dinner so I can’t answer your question about breakfast. The menu is mainly meat and fish but does have pasta
Answer from Wander816082
4 contributions1 helpful vote
This beautiful serene environment hotel is sea facing yet factually it's a low rise ground n first floor and the sea and sea beach is just across the road Now what I deduce from ur query room facing sea my reply is yes
Answer from Alvin N
1 contribution
Dear Angie, please send us your enquiry on lgbtab@intnet.mu Our Reservation department will assist you. For further Information, do not hesitate to contact us on (00230) 2655812/3. Thank you. Best regards, Le Grand Bleu Team
Answer from 933anil
Ahmedabad, India38 contributions25 helpful votes
What is the question?Do u want to know about the room? or about the decor of this hotel?Food n house keeping is very good so also the staff as most of them they speak Hindi n English
Rishi N wrote a tip Nov 2023
Thurston, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hire a car to experience as much of the island as possible!"
Read full review
Maps18174219950 wrote a tip Apr 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The gym is not yet functional (the kind staff informed me of a pending renovation). Please bring sun cream protection- VERY important!"
Read full review
parimal d wrote a tip Dec 2019
Mumbai, India26 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms 201 onwards near the small pool are better located"
Read full review
Paheli wrote a tip Dec 2019
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"My room on a ground floor was quite and had a good view of front garden with a pool."
Read full review
ankurchristian2019 wrote a tip Oct 2019
Ahmedabad, India1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice n cosy, much room for couple... Near n tidy, "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Trou aux Biches area.
PRICE RANGE
£70 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MauritiusPamplemousses DistrictTrou aux Biches
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LE GRAND BLEU HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Le Grand Bleu Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Z'ile Beach (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Grand Bleu Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Le Grand Bleu Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Le Grand Bleu Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Grand Bleu Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Grand Bleu Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Refresh Restaurant Pizza Bar, Le Pescatore, and Souvenir Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Grand Bleu Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Le Grand Bleu Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Le Grand Bleu Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Le Grand Bleu Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Aapravasi Ghat (9.7 miles) and Citadel Fort Adelaide (9.9 miles).
Is Le Grand Bleu Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Trou aux Biches HotelsTrou aux Biches Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire