We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (334)
Room & Suite (98)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#6 of 27 lodges in Lake Manyara National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rates from USD 840 per person per night. Lake Manyara National Park offers a true wilderness experience in diverse habitats, from its Rift Valley soda lake to dense woodlands and steep mountainsides. Cradled in the boughs of an ancient mahogany forest, andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge melts into the natural beauty of its breathtaking surroundings. Nine stilted treehouse suites, crafted from local timber and makuti palm fronds, weave a sophisticated blend of intimacy and romance, offering privacy and exclusivity in the cool, leafy surroundings, with elephant visitors passing through. Most people think that the famous tree-climbing lions here have developed their climbing habit to get away from annoying insects. At andBeyond, we have our own theory – they’re in awe of our magnificent treehouse suites. Designed to exert minimal impact on the environment and provide a tranquil haven, the Lodge offers an exclusive interpretive safari in a more remote area of the National Park. Gentle Tanzanian hospitality is exuded from the team, who have a passion for delighting guests, whether you are on honeymoon or a family safari. The ultimate spot to rejuvenate mind, body and soul, wellness is a pivotal thread at the Lodge and the lush forest environment is an idyllic cocoon to recharge. Holistically centred, enjoy healing therapies, organic practices and connecting with nature. Dine on nourishing dishes with our food-to-table philosophy, sip the freshest juices and smoothies. Work out in your room with our convenient Gym in a Basket and unwind with a massage in the massage sala. Overlooking a forest boma, or outdoor dining area lined with traditional dugout canoes, guest areas are characterised by soaring spaces that house local artworks and tactile fabrics. An interactive kitchen allows guests to observe, or help with, the preparation of delectable menus that are served in the theatrical boma or on the open dining decks. Relax at the sparkling pool in the heat of the afternoon or spend time with the Maasai running through local communities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Massage
Mosquito net
Butler service
Private check-in / check-out
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic

Location

Lake Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park Tanzania
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
263Reviews1Q+A29Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 216
  • 35
  • 6
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
TomM1951 wrote a review Dec 2023
South Windsor, Connecticut621 contributions285 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
They showed so much concern for my health. The one night we stayed here, I was suffering a bit from what one might expect. They arranged for me to talk to a doctor and make sure that I got exactly the medicine I needed. They followed up to see that I was okay even after we left. These houses are really built into the trees, with amazing views. I'm told that the food was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
J M wrote a review Jul 2023
12 contributions3 helpful votes
Staff and game driver, Hussein, were incredible. All are extremely accommodating. They deserve the highest praise. Hussein is very knowledgeable. Location: it’s the only lodge inside the national park which allows for mostly private morning and evening game drives. The lodge is at the opposite end of the park so getting there and back to the entrance in a game drive in itself. The park itself is quite small with only one main road. Because of the dense foliage, it is more challenging than the other parks to see the animals. Seeing the “tree” lions was a highlight. The rooms are stand alone cabins built on stilts. You’re very much one with nature. We had monkeys watching us in the outdoor shower, heard elephants and lions at night. I planned this trip in a hurry. If I had done more research and had more lead time, we would have skipped Manyara and gone to Ngorongoro Crater instead which is why I am giving 4 stars. The lodge itself and the staff are excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
RYAN S wrote a review Jul 2023
Hong Kong, China8 contributions4 helpful votes
From the very moment we arrived, we knew this was going to be an exceptional experience but the staff at the &Beyond Lake Manyara exceeded even our wildest expectations. We were greeted with the entire staff singing us a traditonal welcome and then escorted to our own private tree house where lo and behold hundreds of rose petals had been strewn around a tub filled to overflowing with a sumptuous bubble bath. Thoughtful personal notes welcomed us at every turn and our personal butler took care of our laundry with miraculous efficiency. We were looking forward to supper but had no idea that Mr Joachim had prepared us a private champagne meal poolside. The path to our table was strewn with thousands of rose petals as was the table itself. Thank you so much Grace for cooking us that exceptional meal and even indulging my chili addiction. We love the &Beyond properties not only for their highly personalised approach but their consistently exceptional location (the &Beyond Lake Manyara is the only lodge inside the Lake Manyara Reserve for example) and especially their vision as a hospitatlity group-- they exemplify what it means to be a corporate good player by their commitment to wildlife and nature conservation, their active involvement in local community development and their partnership with the Africa Foundation. Thank you to the entire staff (including our personal Masai guard) for such a memorable stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BmmrBabe wrote a review Apr 2023
Toronto, Canada214 contributions71 helpful votes
You are in the middle of the conservation area, surrounded by animals and trees. Baboons threaten to wreak havoc with your clothes if you leave them outside to dry. The food is cooked in front of you on wonderful wood fires. The staff is super attentive, make sure to ask your butler for a frozen gin and tonic. My guide, Hussein, was knowledgeable and helpful. He took me on a night drive, and we got to see Hippos wandering around looking for food. During the day we spotted an elephant, or rather it spotted us. Then it started to follow us in our jeep. We saw monkeys, and giraffes, and baboons and more baboons. Plus a myriad of other animals. The rooms are comfortable, and the outdoor shower is super cool. Go, you will love it. It was one of my favourite places. Cozy and special.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The pool was not useable when I was there, so check before you try to go in.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lozzy wrote a review Jan 2023
Gloucester, United Kingdom3 contributions
Our travels and transfers went without a hitch, the lodge was luxurious and homely, the lodge team were welcoming and thought of our every need, even before we had! Our guide Steven went out of his way to give us the best safari experience ever. Our Butler spoilt us rotten and nothing was too much trouble, our early morning coffee and biscuits were such a treat especially when we were getting up at 5am. Thank you to all at the Tree lodge for helping to make our trip the most memorable of a life time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
markiniala wrote a review Dec 2022
Island of Malta, Malta160 contributions236 helpful votes
The quality for the price ratio is as poor as I have seen in a long time . The rooms are basically nice but worn out , I would give them 3 out of 5 when looking at the price paid . The food is basic , not bad but nothing special and breakfast is poor with little choice .Tge packed lunch was a piece of dry chicken and some nuts and salad .For the price paid I would have to give it a 2 out of 5. The service is fine , friendly but not out of-the ordinary , I would give 4 out of 5 . The overall experience is not special and this is an extremely expensive lodge . If we had paid 300 dollars a night full board I would give it 3-4 out of 5 but at the price we paid for an ultra luxury high end experience I have to mark it down . This place will disappoint the discerning traveler .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The packed lunches are so poor it’s not worth taking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from andBeyond Travel, Owner at andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Dear markwlugano, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We truly are sorry that your stay at &Beyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge did not meet your expectations. Usually we receive high praise for this lodge and all factors concerned. That said however, we do take feedback most seriously and will ensure that the points you have raised be addressed accordingly. We strive for excellence so thank you so much for bringing these issues to our attention. Should you feel you would like to discuss this matter with me personally, I would be more than happy to do so however, I would ask that you email me, with copy to your agent, at jane.braack@andbeyond.com. Kind regards Jane Regional Director – East Africa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rkr727 wrote a review Nov 2022
San Francisco, California161 contributions238 helpful votes
+1
After two long restricted travel years, we finally started a three week safari at andBeyond Lake Manyara Lodge. It was suggested by our andBeyond advisor (who planned our entire incredible journey) as a good starting point for seeing elephants (boy, I’ll say), and we trusted we were in good hands because of the label. It turned out to be magical. As four friends traveling together, we were constantly surprised and delighted by this little “tree house” property, its team, and the dreamlike natural park in which it sits. When we first touched down at the air strip, our guide Hussein, met us with a smile, drinks and homemade cookies. It set the tone for the next three nights, as the andBeyond team made us feel cosseted and constantly amazed. Every single detail was conjured by May, the manager, and her staff; Isaya and his cocktails “Why Not?”, Chef, who made all our delicious meals to order, to the Maasai warrior who [literally] escorted us to our room each evening sated and content. Upon learning that our group was interested in Swahili, Salim made us a handwritten glossary each morning. Upon learning that we were interested in birds, Hussein showed us every flying critter in east Africa, and went out of his way to make sure we saw the elusive tree lion. Somehow the original lodge designer/andBeyond figured out how to meld the natural world but make it cushy and comfortable. Details were well thought out and beautiful to behold. It was almost like a film set, but oh so real, when bush babies started calling at night and elephants sometimes wandered within hearing distance. It's also the only lodge in the national park, so before and after certain hours we were literally the only folks on a game drive. Besides the Maasai village, where we were taught the wedding dance, we also visited a local elementary school andBeyond helps fund (well worth the trip). Top all this with a warm and well trained staff, and you have andBeyond Lake Manyara. If you are ever lucky enough to go to this part of the world, experience Lake Manyara Tree Lodge; it will always be in your heart.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Heather wrote a review Oct 2022
22 contributions3 helpful votes
And Beyond Treehouse Lodge surpassed any expectations we may have had. Greeted off the plane by Chris our private driver and safari guide with drinks. Drove through the National Park all afternoon to get to the Treehouse lodge and saw just about every type of animal we asked to see. Greeted by a song from all staff members was unique and welcoming. We have a private butler Elia who was available for anything and did our laundry. Our housekeeper Nashon prepared our room. Breakfast lunch and dinner with lots of choices and picnics. Room was amazing, private, could see monkeys from our deck. Private outdoor rain shower under the tree canopy. Safari drives beautiful and absolutely amazing how close you can get to the animals in your open 4x4. Saw a lionesses, male lion, elephants and babies, giraffes, monkeys, baboons, Cape buffalo, hippos, zebras. Ect. The night drive was spectacular. Felt very safe and security masai will escort you at night, park rangers escort for night drive. Staying inside the National park and being first in last out was Beyond our wildest expectations and dreams.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
nwaynesworld wrote a review Mar 2022
Nova Scotia1861 contributions422 helpful votes
+1
Located in Lake Manyara National Park. The safari camp is very nice. The rooms are comfortable and the rooms are are well maintained. The common area includes indoor and outdoor dining and a nice lounge. The staff are very welcoming. Overall, the Tree Lodge was amazing. Our guide/biologist was Henry from The Wild Source. Henry is a great guide, very friendly and very professional. See Video on YouTube: nwaynesworld
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AtavisticNomad wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom16 contributions3 helpful votes
This is a luxury lodge, so one would expect the service to be pretty faultless. Instead, the team is poorly trained. after check-in I found that the little marble chopping board in my room was sticky. It had not been washed since the last guest used it. When I pointed this out to the assigned 'butler' his question was "do you want me to wash it?" Really? At the turn down service the bath was left unrinsed even though I had used it earlier tat evening. Every single light had been turned out when I returned to the lodge, not even a bedside lamp left on. Who is training these staff? Every request was too inconvenient and greeted with a blank look, and then questioned. The requests were hardly unreasonable. One was if a chair could be moved underneath the light on the terrace as it was too heavy for me to move it myself. No thought that it might also help to move the heavy side table next to the chair. Really poor attention to any kind of detail. Would never visit again, and would strongly discourage anyone from visiting. The only saving grace was the excellent chef, Grace.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't choose a room here!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from andBeyond Travel, Owner at andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Responded 14 Feb 2022
Dear AtavisticNomad, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As the Director for our East Africa Lodge Operations, I truly am sorry that you experienced such disappointment. It has not and, will never be, andBeyond's intention to disappoint our guests. Having investigated your comments it is clear that there was a breakdown in communication and possibly some misunderstanding from the side of our team and we would love to be given the opportunity of discussing this matter with you personally or, via your travel agent. If you are amenable to discussing this matter with me personally, I would ask that you email me, with copy to your agent, at jane.braack@andbeyond.com I do look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Jane Regional Director – East Africa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lake Manyara National Park area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake manyara tree hotel lake manyara national park
LOCATION
TanzaniaArusha RegionLake Manyara National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ANDBEYOND LAKE MANYARA TREE LODGE - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.