We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Selous Serena Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Selous Serena Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent three nights at this camp, the service was fantastic there were only four of us in residence and we were looked after very well by all the staff. Simon our driver made sure we saw as many of the animals as was possible, even found us some wild dogs on our first day out. The food was superb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Perfect place for our honeymoon and the once in a lifetime safari. Our guide was incredible, friendly, fun and there for us to do whatever we wanted (except riding lions!). The hotel was incredible and as a dairy allergy sufferer, still able to give us 3 course meals with my allergy in mind. Plus they catered for me in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
Reviewed 9 October 2016

we had 2 nights at serena camp.excellent guide/driver called simon made sure we saw as much as poss in our short time there,food very good,all the staff very friendly.tent very nice,flying in and out of seiglers all added to the adventure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

In an era where the world is smaller than its ever been, the term "Trip of a Lifetime" has become an overused cliché. Rarely does the reality of a holiday fulfil the fantasy such a term conjures - and if you multiply this expectation by over 12 months worth of anticipation, by departure day, you have levels of excitement no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve O
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at this lovely friendly camp. Flying in to the Seigler's air strip was amazing. A great way to arrive on safari. We had own safari vehicle for the whole time and Jumbe our own driver/guide. We also had a student Gilbert with us. He was lovely. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARYM M
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had a wonderful time staying at this camp which was made that much more special by the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and we were really made to feel welcome. It was amazing to lay there at night and hear the sound of the wildlife outside. We had a brilliant guide called Simon who was so knowledgeable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank binghamfamily1
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon, it was amazing! Beds were comfy, tent was luxurious and the staff were amazing! Food was great. Our guide Seid stayed with us for the 5 days we were there and we built a great relationship with him. I would recommend this place to anyone. Just watch out for the annoying tetse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josieh6
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Firstly let's put this in perspective, I have given it 2 stars in relation to the amount of money paid and what it claims to be. Obviously it is better than 2 star hotels in Blackpool! We had a nice time here but for the money paid it is a rip off. The camp is run down and not what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlysandRich
SerenaHotels, Manager at Selous Serena Camp, responded to this review

Dear AlysandRich. We thank you for taking your time and write your reviews about your recently trip in Selous. We are working on all the areas mentioned and its very unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations while in Selous.

Nottingham
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We were the only residents for part of our 3 night stay but the level of service was amazing. The food is fantastic, had the best steak ever! The "tents" are luxurious. The management, chef, waiters and room staff are SO attentive. The guides go the extra mile to get the best viewings of wildlife. Our travel company IMAGINE AFRICA...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyTNottingham
Paris, France
Reviewed 21 August 2016

When we got to Serena we had a very friendly welcome. After a quick tour we were shown to our tent. What a nice surprise. The luxurious tent was decorated in a colonial style including a huge bed, bath, shower and chandeliers. The main area and dinner location is next to a pool where hippos bathe at night. A very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorita1983

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selous Game Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#3 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
58 reviews
5.5 mi away
Azura Selous Game Reserve
Azura Selous Game Reserve
#3 of 24 in Selous Game Reserve
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#14 of 24 in Selous Game Reserve
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serena Mivumo River Lodge
Serena Mivumo River Lodge
#12 of 24 in Selous Game Reserve
69 reviews
30.1 mi away
Selous Wilderness Camp
Selous Wilderness Camp
#15 of 24 in Selous Game Reserve
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sable Mountain Lodge
Sable Mountain Lodge
#1 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Selous Serena Camp

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Selous Serena Camp

Address: Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Price Range: £592 - £1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Selous Serena Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Selous Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selous Serena Camp Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Selous Serena Camp staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Selous Serena Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the generator is quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles andycK6227YB, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“5 - great view from decking but all tents identical and close to dinning area.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveO149, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a tent overlooking the waterhole”
 of 5 bubbles Neilt01, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were in tent 6....views are amazing. We saw the hippos most days.”
  • Amazing bath with lots of hot water
  • They made our honeymoon
  • Sunset
  • Another lovely sunset
  • Private game drive
 of 5 bubbles Londontraveler25, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You might see some wild animals wandering outside your tents on the furthest side”
 of 5 bubbles AfricaSafariIN, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay