Shoki Shoki House Stone Town
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shoki Shoki House Stone Town

Shangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City Tanzania
Traveller (17)
Deluxe Double Room
Room & Suite (56)
Breakfast - choose from 3 freshly prepared options everyday
Dining (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£98
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#32 of 38 hotels in Stone Town
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Shoki Shoki House is a brand new place on the map of Stone Town. The hotel has been fully renovated and opened in September 2021. We are situated in best possible place, in Shangani Street, just 2 minutes by walk from Forodhani Garden and Old Fort. The hotel offers 12 comfortable air conditioned rooms in different standard. Guest can enjoy delicious breakfast served everyday. Karibu Sana !
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Diving
Snorkelling
Walking tours
Car hire
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Polish, Swahili

Location

Shangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City Tanzania
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Kisauni Airport
Dar Es Salaam Intl Airport
49.3 mi
See all flights
55Reviews0Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 12
  • 2
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
OnAnAdventure8 wrote a review Oct 2021
44 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's just a few weeks old, and you can tell in that everything is extremely clean, the staff is very friendly and the furniture and shower heads are all new which is quite nice. The location is great, in general pretty quiet in the neighborhood but also very close to the main part of Stone Town. The breakfast is delicious and towels and locally made soap are provided.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan83 wrote a review Mar 2022
Lubeck, Germany85 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose Shoki Shoki for the good ratings on Booking.com planning to stay for 2 nights and ending up staying a whole week. It's apparently a very new place located in the heart of Stone Town about a 100m from the beach, close to the waterfront and the night market. Everything within walking distance and lots of things to do nearby. Our room was spacious, clean and tastefully furnished. We had a large mosquito net hanging over the bed. AC, ventilation, WiFi, a hot shower and a superb breakfast was included. The staff was really friendly and professional and made us feel welcome. All of this came at a very good rate which is why we decided to stay much longer than intended. Having visited the beaches on the north and east coast we found to have taken the best decision for us. These resorts might be picturesque but quite far off and felt kind of artificial to me. Sansibar City is such a bustling, exciting and beautiful place with so many things to do that, personally, we preferred exploring the island from here and having Shoki Shoki as our home base.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: - Krishna Indian restaurant next door - BlueBike's spice tour - bus 309/310 to Jozani Forest -...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vikkakad wrote a review Dec 2022
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a lovely start at Shoki Shoki. It’s perfectly located in the centre, close to port, forodhani and few mins walk from the beach, where you can scuba or take a boat to prison island/sandbank.

The staff are really friendly and super helpful, especially Oliva, Rosie and Marie. I had a double deluxe room with a private bathroom. The bedding is comfortable and I slept really well.

I organised a stone town tour from the hotel and it’s pretty reasonable and safe, compared to someone selling it to you on the street.

Regardless of the reviews, I really enjoyed the breakfast. It was simple, tasted lovely and was just enough. One thing I would have preferred was better coffee but there are some lovely coffee shops close to the hotel.

All is all, I really enjoyed my stay at Shoki Shoki and I’d definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Some rooms have shared bathrooms. Check before you book the room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David E wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The only positives associated with this Bed & Breakfast is its close location to the centre of Stone Town. In my opinion, 1 day/ evening in Stone Town is enough.

It was not until we arrived and paid that we were told that there was construction works being undertaken in the property. There was loud banging from 11am to 5pm, on the final day some construction noises could be heard within the vicinity of the property up until 8pm.

Had I been notified of this prior to booking I would not have stayed at this property. It was evident they were only interested in high room occupany numbers rather than the comfort of guests. There was one day in particular that I was feeling unwell, because on of the constant banging going on I had no choice but to go out in the heat and wait until after 5pm to return.

I advise anyone who chooses this B&B to make contact in advance to check there is no building / construction work going on.

Because of the way in which the surrounding properties have been built, the room was surprisingly dark, there is no adequate natural light and so, the light must be kept on at all times when in the room.

Considering this property has recently been acquired the decor (particularly the bathroom) was very dissapointing.

I will not recommend this Bed & Breakfast to family or friends when they decide to take the trip to Zanzibar. In fact, I will tell them to avoid the place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David David, Owner at Shoki Shoki House Stone Town
Responded 6 May 2023
Dear Guest, Unfortunately I can't find any record regarding Your stay maybe it is why You don't show Your name publicly. However if You really stayed with us we are sorry for any inconvenience. We have had a small renovation in March (low season in Zanzibar) and as You mentioned You were informed about it. The renovation took place only during the day when most of the Guests is outisde the Hotel. If the noise for You was to big we would be happy to cancel and refund Your booking, no problem for us. As You noticed we are having drear reviews across all the channels and we are surprise by Your 1 star review. Thank You, Hotel management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
putnik07 wrote a review Aug 2022
Jastrebarsko, Croatia21 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Awful, and I mean really awful smell coming from the bathroom and after that the smell spreads to the room. Whenever you flush the toilet or run water in the sink, it's like you're in a sewer. For the next 30 minutes its impossible to be in the bathroom or room. The staff knows this and its a known problem and they cant do anything about it they say. Its an issue in some rooms, not all of them. We stopped using the bathroom because it was a nightmare.
They have a faulty sewerage and they are blaming the Stone Town sewerage in general. If this is a general fault, all rooms would be affected, so they are clearly lying.
Also, the mattress is so hard its a nightmare to sleep on the mattress and the rooms are basic, really basic.
The hotel is definitely overpriced, and we were really surprised how this property can have such a high ranking.
If I knew any of this I definitely would not reserve any room. We could not get any other rooms because the hotel was fully booked and we could not get any refund.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karol P wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment I arrived at Shoki Shoki House, I was captivated by its charm and warmth. Nestled in the historic heart of Stone Town, this hotel is a perfect blend of traditional Zanzibar architecture and modern comforts. The staff welcomed me with open arms, offering personalized service that made my stay truly unforgettable.

The room was a delightful surprise, combining elegance with local artistry, and the bed was incredibly comfortable, ensuring a restful night’s sleep. Each morning, I was greeted with a delicious breakfast, featuring a variety of fresh, local cuisine that provided a perfect start to my day.

Exploring Stone Town from Shoki Shoki House was a breeze, thanks to its prime location. The hotel is just a stone’s throw away from vibrant markets, historic landmarks, and the beautiful Zanzibar coastline. After a day of adventure, the hotel’s tranquil atmosphere was the perfect retreat.

What sets Shoki Shoki House apart is its commitment to providing an authentic Zanzibar experience. From the architecture to the hospitality, every detail reflects the rich culture and history of the island. It’s more than just a place to stay; it’s a gateway to the heart and soul of Zanzibar.

Whether you’re seeking adventure, relaxation, or a touch of local culture, this hotel is the perfect base for exploring the wonders of Stone Town and Zanzibar. Thank you to the entire team for an exceptional stay. I look forward to returning soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jop wrote a review Mar 2023
Utrecht, The Netherlands28 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location in stone town center. The place has an Indian vibe, which is great. We stayed for a few nights.

Our stay:
*friendly and helpfull staff
*breakfast was great (waffles!)
*location is great!
*rooms are tiny, but fine to stay for one or two nights
*atm around the corner

Price/quality ratio is good, you can have a shared or own bathroom.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Companion58062669933 wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. The cleaners started cleaning the corridors every morning quite early. They were quite loud and banged into my door. Apart from that the stay was perfect
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
natou wrote a review Apr 2024
Kigali, Rwanda5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
this is a perfect spot, it is a communal space with private rooms so as a solo traveller i got to meet intetesting people. the rooms were clean and the breakfast was delicious. the only issue was electricity went off and i suppose the geneerator was not working, so no hot water or coffee. but as it was hot, i didn't mind showering cold water.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: avoid street guides, book with the hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Flatty_Ian wrote a review Oct 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom132 contributions98 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really nice clean and well presented room. Great location for going to explore Stone Town. Good Wifi in the room. Staff were really personable and helpful. Room 1 was a little noisy from both people coming through reception and the street which was the only detractor from a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 1 can be a little noisy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
natou wrote a tip Apr 2024
Kigali, Rwanda5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"avoid street guides, book with the hotel. "
Read full review
Explore07340002949 wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Almost no place to store your bags in the rooms. Drinking fountains available."
Read full review
Miguel Rombe wrote a tip Dec 2023
Maputo, Mozambique36 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you select a room with a privada bathroom if you wish."
Read full review
silentD wrote a tip Nov 2023
Ibiza, Spain148 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking available"
Read full review
Kamil J wrote a tip Nov 2023
Gdynia, Poland58 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unfortunately, people cheat in the city. It's better to buy trips and transfers in the hotel, a bit more expensive, but everything is hassle"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stone Town area.
PRICE RANGE
£42 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandZanzibar CityStone Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHOKI SHOKI HOUSE STONE TOWN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Shoki Shoki House Stone Town
Which popular attractions are close to Shoki Shoki House Stone Town?
Nearby attractions include Aromas of Zanzibar (0.10 miles), Christ Church Cathedral (0.3 miles), and Stone Town (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shoki Shoki House Stone Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Shoki Shoki House Stone Town?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Shoki Shoki House Stone Town?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Shoki Shoki House Stone Town?
Yes, free public parking nearby and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shoki Shoki House Stone Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include Breadfruit Restaurant & Cafe, Puzzle Coffee Shop, and Taarab Restaurant.
Does Shoki Shoki House Stone Town have airport transportation?
Yes, Shoki Shoki House Stone Town offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Shoki Shoki House Stone Town?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shoki Shoki House Stone Town?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Polish, and Swahili.
Are there any historical sites close to Shoki Shoki House Stone Town?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mkunazini, Urban West, Zanzibar (0.3 miles), David Livingstone's place of rest (0.3 miles), and Tippu Tip's House (0.2 miles).
Does Shoki Shoki House Stone Town have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Stone Town HotelsStone Town Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Stone TownHotels near Shoki Shoki House Stone Town
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire