Tausi Palace Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tausi Palace Hotel

Baghani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 4858 Tanzania
Traveller (242)
view from roof top
Room & Suite (114)
Dining (31)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#21 of 38 hotels in Stone Town
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tausi Palace Hotel is located in Zanzibar City, 300 metres from The Zanzibar Curio shop. The hotel has 35 rooms and a roof top with views of the sea and stone town. All Rooms feature a private bathroom with a hot tub and free toiletries. Certain units have a seating area to relax in after a busy day. You will find a kettle in the room. Tausi Palace Hotel features free WiFi . A flat-screen TV with satellite channels and DVD player is featured. There is a 24-hour front desk and shops at the property. The hotel also offers bike hire and car hire. Peace Memorial Museum is 600 metres from Tausi Palace Hotel, while Old Fort of Zanzibar is 300 metres away. The nearest airport is Abeid Amani Karume International Airport, 7 km from the property.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Baggage storage
Concierge
Doorperson
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Historic Hotel

Location

Baghani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 4858 Tanzania
269Reviews10Q+A32Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 71
  • 120
  • 42
  • 25
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sibusiso S wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a fantastic stay at Tausi Palace Hotel. My room was really great and quite spacious. The service was professional and quick, from booking, checking in, ordering food, requesting for transport etc . The staff were very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manoj Petwal, Owner at Tausi Palace Hotel
Responded 7 Nov 2020
Dear Sibusiso, Jambo from Tausi Palace! Trust you have been keeping well. Thank you for the kind feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you. We sincerely are looking forward to being your forever home whenever you are in Stone Town. Thank & Regards, Jane Macha.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian D wrote a review Feb 2020
Asheville, North Carolina1,752 contribution518 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a couple of nights while in Stone Town. The staff was great, the location is very good (centrally located), the rates were very affordable and the accommodations good. The WiFi is spotty in certain places but overall was very good. No issue recommending it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Passport39144875467, Guest Relations Manager at Tausi Palace Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Brian, Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the service given by our staff, our central location as well as affordable rates. Many thanks for recommending us, and for getting back on the WiFi, it was an eye opener, our IT personnel got to work and now it is a top-notch. We look forward to welcoming you again. Cheer! Jane Macha.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alejandra A wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is really nice and it is very well located. The breakfast is also very good in a wondeerful roof. Good balance price /quality. The Staff is very kind and helpful.
We spent a wonderful time in StoneTown!
Asante Sana!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manoj Petwal, Owner at Tausi Palace Hotel
Responded 22 Oct 2020
Dear Alejandra, Tender greetings from Tausi Palace! We trust you have been keeping healthy and safe. Thank you, for having stayed with us. and for taking time to write the review. We appreciate your positive and honest feedback. It is our sincere hope that we shall be granted the opportunity to once again be your host the next time you visit the Island. Many Thanks & Kind Regards, Jane Macha.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SG_Sev wrote a review Dec 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates56 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed one night in this hotel as I am traveling to visit the island. Hence I needed to have WIfI and during the stay the internet did not work once, which was a problem to organize my rest of the trip.
Overwise room are clean, staff friendly and beautiful rooftop Terasse in morning breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarit Sarfatti wrote a review Oct 2016
Holon, Israel53 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed there for 2 nights.

On the positive side, the room was clean, comfortable and well equipped, though the TV is ridiculously small (if you're lying in bed, you'll need a telescope), though let's be fair - you're not in Stone Town or Zanzibar for the TV. The hotel itself is most centrally located and within a short walking distance from everything. It is also reasonably priced.

On the negative side, aside from coffee and toast, we didn't dare approach the breakfast and the room we got on the first floor was insanely noisy, as the outside noise is amplificated by the narrowness of the the surrounding alleys and enters the room through the windows (of which there are many). This lasts nearly all night.

However, the hotel's biggest failure lies in the over-zealousness of the staff to sell us their various tours. Upon arrival, The man who greeted us to the hotel, named Musa, proposed to arrange us a meeting with some kind of tour agent, who came to the hotel and offered various over-priced tours. Since we already had a well recommended guide, we respectfully declined. Musa would have none of it! He insisted, bargained, asked again and again and even attempted to frighten us with stories of unlucky guests who got into trouble with other guides. Musa became increasingly intimidating and seemed to hold a powerful position at the hotel. Therefore, to have him on "our side" for the 2 nights, we accepted his offer, having to cancel our guide, The new guide was very nice, gave his all and worked hard, but was clearly not a professional (just a guy who knew his way around and not much else). Stay there but be aware of this. Just to be clear, Musa's co-workers were very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a room in an elevated floor or let them know you are aware of the noise problem.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tausi Palace H, General Manager at Tausi Palace Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time and reviewing us on this forum, we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you. It’s unfortunate that you felt so badly about our colleague wherein he was trying to just caution you about certain elements in and around what happens, though you felt the other way anyhow we hope you will give us another chance and experience our hospitality. Best Regards, Manoj Petwal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harriet W wrote a review May 2006
London25 contributions69 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I would recommend staying at the Chavda Hotel in Stone Town. I stayed for 1 night in May 2006. The room was very nice, large bed with a good mosquito net, clean, hot water, bath etc… It also had a mini bar and TV which had a good movie channel (creature comforts!). The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. It was the rainy season and we were offered a reasonable off-season rate. There is a very nice restaurant / bar on the roof where we ate a very good breakfast consisting of fruit to start then eggs & toast to follow. The Chavda is in a good location, walking distance to all the places you’d want to visit.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nancy078 wrote a review Jul 2018
Richmond, Indiana12 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was once a huge house, now divided into individual rooms, all furnished in Zanzibar style. The honeymoon suite is particularly nice. Some rooms can be pretty small, but they all have lots of personality. The hotel is larger than many in Stone Town, and service is not particularly personal, but we've stayed many times and always found it comfortable, clean, and well maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LizRo wrote a review Sept 2016
Birmingham, United Kingdom28 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for our final night in Zanzibar. Staff were lovely and very accommodating. The downstairs area around reception felt slightly unfinished almost, possibly due to the empty looking bar that was there. We stayed in a family room, beds were excellent, room was spotless, air conditioning was good. The showers were slightly temperamental however. The roof top terrace had a great view over the city and the food from the menu was lovely. The breakfast was ok but a better hot selection would of been nice, however this could of been due to us not going earlier.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tausi Palace H, General Manager at Tausi Palace Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2017
Dear Guest, we are delighted and grateful for your kind words in appreciation of our hotel and services. Your opinion is highly valued by us which serves to enhance the quality of our service even better. It was indeed a pleasure serving you and we look forward to hosting you once again in future. Thank you Manoj Petwal gm@tausihotel.co.tz
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WillemvP wrote a review Aug 2016
Geldermalsen, The Netherlands49 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks. Staff is very friendly. The rooms have good space. Local ambiance, nice rooftop terrace with a restaurant. Hotel is in the center of Stonetown and a good place to stay when you want to explore the old city.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit dark.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tausi Palace H, General Manager at Tausi Palace Hotel
Responded 28 Jan 2017
Dear Mr. Willem we are delighted and grateful for your kind words in appreciation of our hotel and services. Your opinion is highly valued by us which serves to enhance the quality of our service even better. It was indeed a pleasure serving Medu Prof-s , looking forward to see you again . Thank you Manoj Petwal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phillip K wrote a review Mar 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa32 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
What a disappointment from the minute we arrived in Zanzibar until we left. Arranged with hotel before hand to collect us at the port. No collection!! We had to walk from Port to hotel as all taxis were taken / booked in the heat of +-36 degree Celsius with a humidity of 96%. Luckily a gentleman with the name of Eddy saw us standing around and offered to walk us to the hotel. Upon arrival we explained to the reception lady what happened and she just shrugged her shoulders, did not offered us anything cool to drink or an apology.
We booked on an “all inclusive” basis and went to the restaurant to have something to eat and drink. The waiter did not know how it worked and said she will find out we must came back in 30 min. When we return to the restaurant she gave us a menu that stated “All Inclusive Package”. We ordered fish fingers for a starter and Breyani as a main course. We asked her about the drinks that were stated on the menu and she claimed that we could order each two drinks. She disappeared to place the order. The next minute the restaurant manager “Nimesh” arrived and kicked up such a fuss as she apparently gave us the wrong menu and we were not allowed to order fish fingers nor had a cocktail. He screamed at her waving arms and hands and the next second approached us to advise us that we were not allowed to have ordered any drinks nor the fish. He was extremely rude and did not stop shouting at the waiter nor carry on with us. At one point we thought he was going to slap her. The bath in our room was patch so badly that we did not even want to take the risk to take a shower never mind a bath!!
Needless to say we left the following morning and will not recommend the establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tausi Palace H, General Manager at Tausi Palace Hotel
Responded 28 Jan 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to give a detail feedback about your stay . We regret you had a bad experience with us, it’s unfortunate that we could not do much to make your stay comfortable as per your expectation . We have taken note of your feedback and corrective measures will be taken for improvement of our services . We hope you will give us another chance , you may write to me directly at gm@tausihotel.co.tz Your Host, Manoj Petwal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Baraka M asked a question Sept 2021
Kilimanjaro Region, Tanzania1 contribution
Hi there, we are looking for your email address, Since your website is not working.
Answer from Kimberly J
Nice, France104 contributions53 helpful votes
Stonetown is a safe place to walk at night. it's true that the streets are narrow and some of them are less lit than others, but it's very safe.
Answer from VimalGautam
Bengaluru, India12 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi Deborah Drucker, Sorry for delayed response due to out of internet access. you can book the taxi as hotel have service to pick and drop. they have the fridge also available in the room.
Answer from Naeem
Bwejuu, Tanzania
Hi Please send us your flight details here because we are unable to put our email here. or call us +255773539944
Hans R wrote a tip Feb 2020
Berlin, Germany23 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms to the streetlive are not so quiet, but that's normal in the middle of the city who likes that, than it's a good choice."
Read full review
Samuel C wrote a tip Oct 2019
19 contributions48 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request a room on a higher floor to avoid street noise"
Read full review
Sharon Pfenninger wrote a tip Nov 2018
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room was very comfortable, spacious with great beds and excellent room service."
Read full review
Sutoris wrote a tip Sept 2018
Bucharest, Romania23 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"do not choose the 5th floor"
Read full review
clarem534 wrote a tip Aug 2018
Hexham, United Kingdom15 contributions25 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to a different hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stone Town area.
PRICE RANGE
£46 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Chavda Hotel
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandZanzibar CityStone Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TAUSI PALACE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Tausi Palace Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Tausi Palace Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Aromas of Zanzibar (0.1 miles), Old Slave Market/Anglican Cathedral (0.3 miles), and Christ Church Cathedral (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tausi Palace Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Tausi Palace Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Tausi Palace Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Breadfruit Restaurant & Cafe, Puzzle Coffee Shop, and Taarab Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tausi Palace Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Does Tausi Palace Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Tausi Palace Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tausi Palace Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Tausi Palace Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Tausi Palace Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Christ Church Cathedral (0.2 miles), Mkunazini, Urban West, Zanzibar (0.2 miles), and David Livingstone's place of rest (0.3 miles).
All Stone Town HotelsStone Town Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Stone TownHotels near Tausi Palace Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire