We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mutanda Lake Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kisoro
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mutanda Lake Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Lummen, Belgium
Reviewed 6 September 2015

I stayed near Rubuguri for four months (15km away) & I walked here practically every 2 to 3 weeks, it is wow, my favorite hike in the area for sure. At the resort they have some lovely bungalows but especially a nice, but not so elaborate menu at very decent prices It's a great spot to chill out at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeroenodk
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jeroen, Thanks for appreciating Mutanda Lake Resort and for your positive review. I’m sure you’ll miss our place now that you are back in Belgium! We hope to see you back one day, Stay well and best regards, Rose Marie

Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We had grand plans of hikes and exploring the area before we showed up to Mutanda Lake Resort. Unfortunately, the amazing food and cozy lake-adjacent lodging quickly put an end to those plans. While it's a great outpost to explore parts of the Virungas and nearby villages, it was also a great for taking in perfect views of the mountain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank penguinwarrior
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Penguinwarrior, Ha, we remember you! Thank you for your super good review. We are delighted with it. Please come again, the Virunga’s are still waiting for you. Best regards, Rose Marie.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We had an excellent trip to Lake Mutanda and stayed one night in one of the tents facing the lake. The view of the lake and volcanoes from our beds was absolutely wonderful. Our tent was comfortable and very clean with a bathroom including a lovely hot shower. We spent a very relaxing afternoon at the restaurant sitting and drinking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Amy, thank you so much for your very positive review. It’s so good to get to know that guests have enjoyed staying at Mutanda Lake Resort. We are working on improvement of the WiFi! Kindest regards, Rose Marie

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Had a wonderful/calm/peaceful stay at mutanda resort being situated right on the lake.Nice/clean cottages and Restaurant facing the lake and the virunga volcanoes in Kisoro western uganda a view that will be memorable in my life forever. Very delicious food and friendly staff and many outdoor activities to enjoy organized by the resort. I loved the boat ride on lake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philis300
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Phylis, thank you so much for sharing your enthousiasm about our place with others. We hope to see you back one day with your friends. Warm regards from Lake Mutanda, Rose Marie

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 26 August 2015

This hotel is in one of the most beautiful settings I have experienced. The lake and its Island and Volcano vistas are spectacular. The rooms are comfortable with great views from the beds. Food was very good and good wine list that was reasonably priced. I highly recommend. only complaint-Wifi was very slow and sporadic as was mentioned by other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much David for your very positive review. It will stimulate all of us to perform even better. We are aware of the frequent Wifi problem and despite our frequent complaints, the provider is not doing anything to solve it. We are now looking at a satelite provider and hope it will lead to improvement on this point....

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

This was a great stay! We stayed for one night in one of the tents, which have absolutely incredible views, even whilst laying in bed! You can see the volcanoes that border Congo over beautiful Lake Mutanda, where locals paddle their hollowed out canoes. The tents are comfortable and clean, with a private bathroom. The electricity for lighting and power...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Hi Rachel, thank you so much for your very positive review and for appreciating our efforts to make our guests feel comfortable. I will pass your compliments also to our staff.

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 14 August 2015

The location of this lodge is incredible!!! What a view!!! View on the lake with volcanoes. The rooms are a little bit rustic. It was very humid and not super comfortable. On the other hand, the staff was very nice and helpful. The food was delicious!!! There is a very pleasant atmosphere, very quiet and warm. It's located in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _melie83-
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Amèlie for your review. It’s good to know that you have appreciated the atmosphere we had wanted to create. We are still improving on the rooms, although a lot has been done already since we took over. We will keep them rustic though, in the sense of using materials from our direct environment. As a tryout we have...

Gent
Reviewed 14 July 2015

My friend and I stayed in the resort for 24 lovely hours. There is a peaceful atmosphere, you can wonder around and enjoy a 360 degrees view on the lake from your private terrace or from the restaurant. Food is amazing! We had really nice soups, sandwiches, steak and yummie deserts. The breakfast has fruit yoghurt, muesli, 2 kinds of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astridGent
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Astrid, Thank so much for your very positive feedback. It gives us the feeling that our efforts took us on the right track with the lodge and our guests share the enthusiasm that we feel for our place. Please come again soon! Rose Marie

Reviewed 6 June 2015

Really nice place. Accommodation has great views of the lake, comfortable and blends in with the surroundings. Bed was comfortable. My wife would have liked bigger pillows but for me it was not an issue. Service was polite and friendly. Food was great with the soups for starter needing a special mention - very tasty and unique (banana soup :))....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vojta S
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Vojta, Thanks for your extensive review and tips. What a pity that your wife did not ask for an extra pillow, we have them in plenty! We regret that we still don’t have the credit cards facilities, our bank has let us down with this, we’ve applied for it 9 months ago! Next week we have an appointment again...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. Purpose Gorilla Tracking in Bwindi but the lake itselve is also worth the visit! ( We did a daytrip on the lake) From your room at the south side directly at the lake you have a view over small islands and the 5 Virunga vulcano's in Rwanda and Congo. Amazing to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bingtravel
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bingtravel, Thank you for your review. It's nice for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Mutanda Lake Resort. Did you really need 1.5 hours to get to the tracking site? In the dry season it takes most drivers only 45 minutes! But many people also like to stop to make panorama pictures of the stunning...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kisoro
10.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
80 reviews
21.5 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
102 reviews
15.9 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
#5 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
120 reviews
14.0 mi away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#4 of 11 in Kisoro
7 reviews
13.0 mi away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#5 of 29 in Kabale
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mutanda Lake Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In front of Virungas”
 of 5 bubbles Epice, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view on the lake”
 of 5 bubbles TeoTravels, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose the room which has the view of virunga mountain.”
 of 5 bubbles 954hungg, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 9 and 10 have great clear views”
 of 5 bubbles WN-Ug, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All views are amazing, but to the south you see the Virunga mountains, stunning!”
 of 5 bubbles mawe733, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5