We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mutanda Lake Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kisoro
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mutanda Lake Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 11 January 2015

Planning a Ugandan trip from the U.S. without a travel company was proving to be a challenge until we inquired at Mutanda Resort. We knew what we wanted to do and Rose helped us implement it. Rose was quick to respond arranging our gorilla permits, offering us a lovely resort experience and arranging a driver and guide for four days....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dianejb
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Eugene, you make my day! thank you so much for your appreciation. It was nice to have you and the family here. Rose

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 6 January 2015

we chose lake mutanda resort as "basecamp" for the mountain gorilla trekking and also for two days of relaxing and enjoying the beautiful naure of lake mutanda. this was an excellent decision. the bungalows are simple, not too big, but good enough for sleeping - and more is not required. you will spend your days on the lake, exploring its...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rudolf F
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rudolf, thank you for your review. Good to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at lake Mutanda.

UK
Reviewed 4 December 2014

This hotel was not on my original itinerary but my tour company changed it at the last minute. It was a long, long drive from queen Elizabeth park and because I wanted to see ishasha and the lions, we came over the mountains. They had had a lot of rain and the roads were terrible, especially nearer the hotel. Sheer...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Navybluebiplane
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Navyblue, I’m sorry to hear that you had such a bad weather during your stay in the south Bwindi region. Uganda government has started to work on the roads last year, but, despite our efforts, never completed the work. You are wrong about the mosquito’s! It’s rare to find a mosquito at this altitude. What you have seen are...

San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewed 29 October 2014

Mutanda Lake Resort I think had the tagline - "Silverbacks and golden views" and while most places come try to come up with an attractive summary, I felt that this tagline actually sold the property short! The location is absolutely incredible - this lodge is on a lake with beautiful views and small islands visible. Its also in a pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vijay K
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Vijay, We are delighted with your review and to know how much you have liked your stay at Mutanda Lake Resort. Thank you! Rose Marie

Malawi
Reviewed 28 October 2014

We were recommended to come here and were glad we listened! The views are stupendous, the welcome generous and friendly and the cabin really comfortable. We enjoyed the food (I'm vegetarian). We easily spent a day relaxing and watching the beautiful birds - including the crested cranes. We also have to say a huge thank you to Matoke Tours, whose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindseyWESM
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lindsey, we are very happy with your review and to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Mutanda Lake Resort. Thank you and please come again! Rose Marie

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 22 October 2014

The location of this lodge is stunning. Our cabin had its own balcony with great views over the lake. The rooms were spacious and clean. The food was not to our taste although the other diners appeared to enjoy it. Self drivers beware the road between resort and Kisoro is in bad repair and we damaged our jeep extensively even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T K
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dubliners, thank you for your review and the appreciation of our Lodge and the services rendered. I know that the road was very bad at that time. Fortunately road works have started and this means a lot of improvement of the road condition. Kind regards from Lake Mutanda, Rose Marie

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 19 October 2014

My husband & I just spent a night at the Mutanda Lake Resort. Even though it was rainy season & a bit overcast, we had such a lovely time there. During the afternoon showers, we enjoyed African tea in the lodge & sat by the fireplace. The views from the resort are incredible!! When the clouds parted, we were able...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelsey P
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, Kelsey for liking our place and food, although your visit was very short. You are right that with tented walls it can sometimes be a bit noisy for light sleepers. We are planning to try double timber walls and see if it makes a big difference. I’m happy to read that you will come back one day.

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Even though the Virunga mountains were barely visible through the mist when we arrived, it would have been difficult to imagine a more peaceful, beautiful setting. And with the bar duly raised, the Resort itself did not disappoint. The tented accommodation was perfectly comfortable (although DO keep your voices down after dark: the tents are quite close together!) and spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ashley, Thank you very much for your positive review. It’s so good for us to read that guests also experience our place the way we do; being surrounded by the sounds of nature and at the same time enjoying the good things of life. There’s one thing that I am puzzled about: missing freshly brewed coffee in the morning...

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Was a great setting and very nice staff. we loved the food here as well - Mmmmm apple pie. Self contained rooms with great views of the lake. lots of bird and frog noises at night. Great setting for the restaurant. Would be keen to come again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aer197
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear AER197. Thank you so much for your appreciation. It is a big support and stimulates us to keep the standard. Please come again!

Carlsbad, California
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here after two gorilla trek, to enjoy the peacefulness of the lodge. Not luxurious but comfortable rooms; a main dining room and terrace overlooking the island dotted lake; friendly owners and staff. Some use this as a staging ground for trekking, but, but we recommend closer (albeit more expensive) accommodations to avoid the uber-early start. Meals are tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bruce, thank you for commending on Mutanda Lake Resort and for your appreciation. You are right that it is about 1 hour drive from the lodge to the tracking site, but the vistas one has on the way are sooo stunning, that you wouldn’t like to miss.

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kisoro
10.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
80 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
10.5 mi away
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
#5 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
386 reviews
14.0 mi away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#4 of 11 in Kisoro
7 reviews
16.4 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mutanda Lake Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In front of Virungas”
 of 5 bubbles Epice, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view on the lake”
 of 5 bubbles TeoTravels, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose the room which has the view of virunga mountain.”
 of 5 bubbles 954hungg, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 9 and 10 have great clear views”
 of 5 bubbles WN-Ug, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All views are amazing, but to the south you see the Virunga mountains, stunning!”
 of 5 bubbles mawe733, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5