We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hell Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryher
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 237: English reviews
Start your review of Hell Bay
 Click to rate
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Beautiful location.well decorated with a seaside pallette.Staff were very friendly and helpful .Comfortable rooms and amazing views .Food was excellent too .lots of great seafood...Bryher crab and lobster and lovely fresh fish all cooked beautifully. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
hellbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Hell Bay, responded to this review

Dear Sally S, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Thank you for your complements and positive feedback. We hope we’ll be able to welcome you back at some point in the not so distant future.

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Perfect location on the beautiful island of Bryher. We had a gorgeous sea view room with a balcony. It is a really relaxed, informal hotel yet luxurious too. Great breakfasts. We were there for a 50th birthday get together and it was the perfect place. We had a great birthday meal. We also had a fish and chip supper at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We were fortunate enough to stay for a long weekend mid August to celebrate one of our 60th birthdays. We had the Shah Suite, which is one of the Garden View Rooms. Apart from bedroom & bathroom, the comfortable sitting room with doors onto a lovely sunny terrace was a great addition. The food in the restaurant was wonderful and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JBLuxury
hellbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Hell Bay, responded to this review

Dear JBLuxury, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in August. We are pleased to hear you would like to return and hope to welcome you in the not to distant future.

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We chose Hell Bay because of excellent reviews and our first visit to Isles of Scilly. The hotel, location, staff, food and service were best we've had . A 4 day break was just right and offered great walks around the island and visit to Tresco.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sgoodwin5
hellbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Hell Bay, responded to this review

Dear sgoodwin5, Thank you for taking the time to review your four night stay with us. These breaks are a great way to visit the islands giving you enough time to do a bit of island hopping. It’s lovely to read that you thought so highly of our hotel and the service we offer.

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Stunning island, hotel and setting, very friendly helpful staff and management making for superb holiday.... Great food 👏 Lowenna looks forward to returning to see her pals the resident woofers who she befriended whilst staying at hells bay hotel 🐾we look forward to another visit in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frederica H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I had planned to stay at Hell Bay Hotel for 4 nights in September (it turned into 5 due to flight cancellations). I booked my flights through the hotel too and had half board. The whole experience was absolutely fantastic. Since the luggage on the flights to the Isles of Scilly is quite restricted the hotel suggested sending the food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 990laura
hellbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Hell Bay, responded to this review

Dear 990laura, Thank you for writing a detailed review. We are pleased to read your dog and yourself had an enjoyable extended stay. We do aim to make these situations the smoothest we can although disruptive. I’m pleased to hear that our reservationist advice to send across the dog food prior to arrival was useful to you. Our team do...

Torpoint, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

A peace lovers paradise. Comfortable well furnished accommodation. Helpful, attentive staff and MICHELIN style cuisine. Bryher is attractive for its remoteness, a blessing and something to be aware of when making your plans. Many people have highlighted the outstanding qualities of Hell Bay and its island. I am happy to be yet another to include my endorsements.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nigelst2015
hellbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Hell Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are please to read you have enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. We hope to be able to welcome you back.

Reviewed 13 October 2016

Unfortunately because of low tides in October and being partially "marooned" on Bryher, we decided to stay at a similarly expensive hotel on St Mary's so that we could visit other islands easier. What a disaster, Hell Bay has a reputation which encourages you to revisit, shame they cannot alter low tide!! With their excellent service, perhaps they are working...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dee B
hellbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Hell Bay, responded to this review

Dear Dee B, Thank you for taking the time to review. Sorry to hear you had an unfortunate stay on St Marys and were off put by the spring tides. We do still have boating to offer when the tides are large and work around this. Hopefully this won’t put you off in the future and we can welcome you...

Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Many people had recommended this hotel to us and our expectations were high - we were not disappointed. The hotel is situated in the tiny island of Bryher (80 inhabitants) about 25 mins boat ride from the main island of St Mary's. It has the most wonderful views over the archipelago and although the island is small there are plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vigilant2013
hellbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Hell Bay, responded to this review

Dear Vigilant2013, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hell Bay Hotel. It’s lovely to hear you were recommended by previous guests. The island is a great destination for walkers with the wonderful views to take in, as well as the art around the hotel when you are having a relaxing drink....

Cheshire
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We have just returned from a 4 night break and I have to agree with all the excellent reviews....although the buildings are not impressive from the outside, this is of little significance once you step inside. The main building houses the reception, bar, lounges and restaurant and the levels of comfort and attention to detail are superb and the views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LottieCheshire

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryher
3.0 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
409 reviews
2.6 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
205 reviews
3.2 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
259 reviews
3.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
328 reviews
3.1 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hell Bay Hotel is an award winning hotel on the beautiful island of Bryher on the Isles of Scilly. Set in a picturesque cove facing the Atlantic Ocean, Hell Bay offers families and couples a friendly and private oasis to relax and spend quality time together and to enjoy the wild, natural delights of Bryher and the other islands of Scilly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hell Bay

Address: Bryher, TR23 0PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > Bryher
Price Range: £270 - £640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hell Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hell Bay Bryher, Isles Of Scilly
Hell Bay Hotel Bryher
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hell Bay staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hell Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden Rooms are really large with a sitting area”
 of 5 bubbles JBLuxury, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“possibly best to have first floor room to avoid patter of feet from upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles sgoodwin5, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a wide choice of seaward facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles nigelst2015, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Would think every room is a good room, although a sea view adds luxury”
 of 5 bubbles 486deeb, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms and apartments have the best sea views”
 of 5 bubbles LottieCheshire, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5