We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Plainsman Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Plainsman Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Husband and I and 6 year old stayed overnight in family style room , very neat and clean.Hottest day ever thank goodness for the pool and a/con.Good value for money and very friendly staff.Have stayed here before and will definitely stay again.Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tlbarker21
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the cool pool. A new cabana sun shade has been added this weekend to add comfort for pool and BBQ users. Safe travel, Steve & Marilyn

Narromine, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2016

the room was ideally situated however the toilet had skid marks from the previous occupant, the shower had a leak that saturated everything on the vanity and the ac was extremely noisy and this place was top dollar, people came in off the street when booking in and got given deluxe rooms for $2 more. We go to Forbes a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnkaren2016
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

Firstly we apologise for your uncomfortable stay. The benefit of having an onsite manager is that most inconveniences can be attended to immediately 'if' reported. From your Trip Advisor nickname I was able to trace your stay date and room number. The shower head was a 5 minute fix with a new 'O' ring. The toilet was a more serious...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Very friendly staff, managers were very accommodating, rooms nicely renovated and comfortable. Could do with more lighting around the basin mirror, quite difficult to see to shave and my lady had a little difficulty with applying her makeup. Recommended though, a pleasant experience overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisgilm0ur
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased you had a comfortable stay. A light fitting has been installed above the vanity basin to provide better lighting. We hope you can stay again when you next travel through Forbes. Regards, Steve & Marilyn

Albury, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Very comfortable accommodation, Comfortable beds, clean, quiet. The only issues were hard to get a park if staying in the corner back rooms - big 4wd's take up corner spaces. Some heavier curtains which block out car headlights at night would be great too. Otherwise Good value for money. Customer service was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0m08
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying. We are pleased you had excellent service and a comfortable stay. We look forward to greeting you on your next visit. Steve & Marilyn

Reviewed 13 July 2016

The rooms (we upgraded to a Family room) are spacious. Upside: The room and bathrooms have been renovated and are very modern and stylish. Parking area is massive. Too cold to try the pool but it looked clean. Fantastic staff who are very friendly and helpful. Downside: Lack of pay TV channels and the wifi didn't work in our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OzTripcritic
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed our friendly service and renovated rooms. We are endeavouring to increase our WiFi signal to overcome the weakness in your room because of a large shady tree. Look for improvement. Safe travel, Steve & Marilyn.

wagga
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately the worst motel I have ever stayed in. I didn't even sit down because the sofas and dining chairs were filthy. The floors were also dirty with chewing gum on the floor next to the stove. I didn't take my shoes off either because the floors were sticky. The Windows were open on a cold evening when we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mumofthreeWagga
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your extensive property evaluation. We agree that our apartment is not renovated and mainly used for our rural working guests but refer to Kimothy555's review on 26 May 2016 'Good value for money & excellent customer service' if you would like to take an average mark. Safe travel.

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Check in was friendly and hotel is across road from the RSL. Rooms smelt very strongly of cleaner/air freshener which was over powering and gave us both a head ache. Air conditioning/heater was loud and could not be used, it was not very effective anyway. TV stopped working but we didn't advise reception as we were only there a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not have a good experience. We have investigated your complaint and advise: 1. Our cleaning uses moderate messures of chemicals but in the case of alergies and adverse reactions, we do with fore warning, use only vinegar and natural cleaners. 2. We found the airconditioner was set on High Speed Fan which is indeed ineffectual...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We stayed here in April for 2 nights. The family room was exactly what we needed, 2 separate bedrooms, kitchen with full facilities, bathroom (including washing machine & dryer) and lounge / dining room. Marilyn was extremely friendly & pleasant upon arrival, even offering their own paper from behind the counter for us to read. The room is good value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimothy555
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

A great pleasure of managers in the hospitality industry is to have satisfied guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The apartment, while not fully renovated yet, is a comfortable space for family or work teams. Ring us direct for our "Loyalty Rates". Safe travel, Steve & Marilyn.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Stayed at the Plainsman last weekend for a cycling event (3 nights). I shared a family unit in the motel with friends. It was very clean and tidy. A nice surprise to return to our room after 400kms on the bike to find the room made up. The kitchenette was well equipped, the bathroom (large) also had a washing machine....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marea E
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

We were pleased to host your group. The two bedroom apartment is ideal for longer stays where the convenience of a kitchen, lounge room and washing machine is required. With winter approaching, all beds now have their electric blankets fitted. Kind regards, Steve and Marilyn.

Barton
Reviewed 8 May 2016

If you expect a 5 star hotel keep driving. If you want a clean, tidy, well presented room with standard amenities for a good price this is the place. Staff were friendly, room was recently given a lick of paint and an update, and in general comfortable and good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sir_Theo
Steve Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

That's what we aim for; friendly, clean, tidy and well presented + good value for money. We have nearly ticked all the boxes. Please mention your review on your next stay for a complimentary upgrade to our Deluxe Rooms...not 5 star but close to 4 star. It was our pleasure to have another nice guest.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forbes
0.7 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Forbes Victoria Inn
Forbes Victoria Inn
#7 of 8 in Forbes
38 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Gracelands
Hotel Gracelands
#6 of 15 in Parkes
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Forbes Motel
Lake Forbes Motel
#2 of 8 in Forbes
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Ben Hall Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Adrian Motel
#8 of 8 in Forbes
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Plainsman Motel

Address: 22 Sherriff St, Forbes, New South Wales 2871, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Forbes
Price Range: £70 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plainsman Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Plainsman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Forbes
Forbes Comfort Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Plainsman Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the deluxe”
 of 5 bubbles Johnkaren2016, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“try getting a side room if you have a large car and not a corner room.”
 of 5 bubbles m0m08, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“newly renovated rooms at the back of the motel eliminates any street noise”
 of 5 bubbles X3046BJkarenp, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for renovated room at back of property”
 of 5 bubbles 29kurtb, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
“right side of motel next to a rural supply store....go left”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseIreland63, 24 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay